S44800
3 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for S44800 →S44800 · ASTM A493-2009(2013)
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ASTM A493-2009(2013)
- Table / clause
- Table 1 · Notes A–B
- PDF page references
- 1、2
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Default chemical requirements in Table 1; Coupled limits must be checked using measured composition
Note B permits product C/N deviations of +0.002% for each; The combined C+N limit is not automatically widened
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.01 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 28.0 ~ 30.0 |
| Ni | 2.0 ~ 2.5 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | 3.5 ~ 4.2 |
| N | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Official original A493−09(Reapproved2013) PDF1/2 Table 1 and Notes A–B; Mass fraction wt%. ; The original symbol Cb corresponds to Nb; retain mapping description and do not create separate elements. ; All sum and coupled requirements must be verified using measured composition from the same heat; individual elements being within their ranges does not guarantee compliance with the sum requirements.. ; Si is blank in the table for S44401; if not specified, do not fill in zero; Ti/Nb each ≤ .80 is an envelope derived from non-negative values and a total ≤ .80, and does not represent independent standard limits. ; This standard covers wire/wire rod for cold heading and cold forging; actual supply, dimensions, delivery condition and properties require separate verification..
Combined limits
- Element-sum limits
- Elements concerned
- C
- N
- Upper limit
- 0.025
Original condition-branch records
Default chemical requirements in Table 1; Coupled limits must be checked using measured composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.01 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 28.0 ~ 30.0 |
| Ni | 2.0 ~ 2.5 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | 3.5 ~ 4.2 |
| N | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
Note B permits product C/N deviations of +0.002% for each; The combined C+N limit is not automatically widened
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.012 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 28.0 ~ 30.0 |
| Ni | 2.0 ~ 2.5 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | 3.5 ~ 4.2 |
| N | ≤ 0.022 (lower limit not stated) |
A condition branch must be selected
YesVerification notes
The corresponding original row, combined coupled requirements and footnotes were visually checkedS44800 · SAE J405-1998
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- SAE J405 JUN1998
- Table / clause
- Table 1, page 2 / page 5, notes 1–7
- PDF page references
- 1、5、5
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.01 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 28.0 ~ 30.0 |
| Ni | 2.0 ~ 2.5 |
| Mo | 3.5 ~ 4.2 |
| N | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Based on original SAE J405 JUN1998, Table 1; Mass fraction wt%, note 1: values without a stated range or minimum are maxima; a dash means unspecified and is not entered as zero. Note 5: Cb and Nb denote the same element; Alloying elements must be checked against the corresponding UNS row and additional conditions. Note 4: ordinary carbon analysis is reported to 0.01%, and low-carbon types to 0.001%; This is reporting precision and does not widen composition limits. Type names in original Table 1 may include a common name or a ASTM designation footnote; Search aliases follow only explicit correspondences on the same row; substitution across standards is not assessed automatically. 1998 is the actual composition basis; The specified newer edition has not been verified; equivalence between editions is not assumed. Combined C+N content ≤0.025%, with the individual maxima also satisfied.
Combined limits
- Element-sum limits
- Elements concerned
- C
- N
- Upper limit
- 0.025
Verification notes
Corresponding UNS rows and table notes in the 1998 original have been checked; this does not verify a newer edition.S44800 · ASTM A240/A240M-2014
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Ferritic and martensitic stainless steels
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original-standard record
- Standard edition
- ASTM A240/A240M-2014
- Table / clause
- Table 1 and footnotes A–O
- PDF page references
- 1、6
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.01 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 28.0 ~ 30.0 |
| Ni | 2.0 ~ 2.5 |
| Mo | 3.5 ~ 4.2 |
| N | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Table 1 gives heat-analysis mass percentages; A single value without a stated range or minimum is a maximum; unspecified elements are not entered as zero. ; Cb and Nb are the same element; Where both a formula and a fixed limit apply, the stricter limit is used. ; This is a plate, sheet and strip standard; cold-heading wire applications and actual supply require separate verification. ; Clause 4.1 also requires compliance with the applicable provisions of ASTM A480/A480M; This record displays the heat composition in Table 1; it does not establish verification of A480 or all product acceptance requirements. ; Other elements in the original table: (C+N) 0.025; See the limits below for the specific coupled requirements.
Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
- Element coefficient
- C
- 1
- N
- 1
- Lower limit
- Not stated
- Upper limit
- 0.025
- Requirement
- C+N≤0.025
- Elements requiring measured values from the same heat