1215
8 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for 1215 →1215 · SAE J 403-2001
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- SAE J403 NOV2001
- Table / clause
- Table3B and footnotes
- PDF page references
- 1、4、5
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.09 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.05 |
| P | 0.04 ~ 0.09 |
| S | 0.26 ~ 0.35 |
Applicability and limitations
Table 3B SAE1215 corresponds to UNS G12150; Heat analysis wt%. ; Resulfurized
rephosphorized free-cutting steels; Machining performance characteristics do not prove suitability for cold heading forming, and cold heading products are not automatically added. ; The addition of Pb requires L identification and corresponding UNS; This record includes only the explicitly tabulated Pb .15–.35% for 12L14; do not merge this Pb addition into the data for other ordinary grades. ; Elements required to be reported do not equal uniform limits; Unspecified elements are not entered as zero; Product-analysis deviation under J409 requires separate verification. ; The 12xx series typically does not specify Si to avoid adverse effects on machinability; P/S is a bilateral range rather than only an upper limit.
Verification notes
All composition values and footnotes in PDF5, Table 3A/3B were visually checked1215 · ASTM A29/A29M-2012
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Carbon steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ASTM A29/A29M-2012
- Table / clause
- Table 1, footnotes A–G
- PDF page references
- 1、3、4
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.09 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.05 |
| P | 0.04 ~ 0.09 |
| S | 0.26 ~ 0.35 |
Applicability and limitations
2012 original text Table 1 heat analysis mass fraction wt%; The applicability and deviations of product analysis must be separately confirmed according to 4.3 and Table 5. Grades and product forms are retained as listed in this standard; suitability for cold heading is not automatically guaranteed. Note D only specifies Pb 0.15–0.35% for lead-bearing 'L' grades; Standard grades without 'L' shall not automatically include Pb. Note F: Additions of Bi/Ca/Se/Te are subject to agreement between the supplier and purchaser; do not enter zero when no value is specified..
Verification notes
The 2012 Table 1 and footnotes have been checked; order-specific optional compositions and base-table limits remain separate.1215 · Kobe Steel manufacturer specification (section 6-21)
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Free-cutting steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Manufacturer source verified
- Document edition
- Publication edition not stated in the document
- Document title
- Wire rod and bar specification tables
- Table / clause
- 6-21
- PDF page references
- 36
- Unit
- Mass fraction (wt%)
- Manufacturer
- Kobe Steel
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.09 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.05 |
| P | 0.04 ~ 0.09 |
| S | 0.26 ~ 0.35 |
Applicability and limitations
Original composition for free-cutting steel in the Kobe Steel catalogue, section 6-21 (PDF page 36), mass fractions wt%; This is not the original JIS/SAE standard. Actual supply and process applicability require separate confirmation.
Composition conditions
- Original table in section 6-21, mass percent; Dashes and unlisted elements are not entered as zero.
- The 6-21 table lists only C/Mn/P/S; other elements are unspecified and are not entered as zero.
- The manufacturer catalogue does not identify the publication edition; Catalogue information does not establish current supply dimensions.
Verification notes
Chemical values checked cell by cell against the manufacturer original table; columns joined during extraction in Section 6-17 were additionally checked manually against the original image.1215 · POSCO wire rod catalogue (local archive 1203; original edition not stated)
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Free-cutting steel
- Subcategory
- Free-cutting steel
- Material form
- Wire rod
- Original record status
- Manufacturer source verified
- Document edition
- Local file 1203 (wire-rod pdf); the original does not state a publication edition; PDF metadata 2014-12-03 is only the file generation time
- Document title
- Wire rod
- Table / clause
- Printed page 19, composition table 4 (local table index)
- PDF page references
- 10
- Unit
- Percentages as stated in the original table; refer to the source for the specific basis
- Analysis type
- The catalog does not consistently specify heat or product analysis
- Manufacturer
- POSCO
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.09 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.05 |
| P | 0.04 ~ 0.09 |
| S | 0.26 ~ 0.35 |
Applicability and limitations
Locally held POSCO wire rod catalogue, PDF page 10
printed page 19, table index 3, row 16. The original edition number is not stated. The PDF creation date 2014-12-03 is not a standard publication year. Manufacturer range data do not constitute our company’s supply guarantee.
Composition conditions
- Original catalog chemical composition table %, wire rod; Editions of JIS/SAE/DIN were not provided; catalog data shall not be upgraded to the verified official editions of these standards.
- Dashes are not zero; cast/product analysis types are not consistently explicit. Orders, product-analysis deviations and actual supply require separate verification.
Verification notes
The original PDF tables and text coordinates were reconciled in both directions. Missing grade cells were restored; merged cells, footers and remarks were checked separately. Tables with identified disputes and rows without composition data are withheld.1215 · Nippon Steel Wire Rods EXE203 2008.3 / SAE J403 NOV.2001
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Free-cutting steel
- Subcategory
- Free-cutting steel
- Material form
- Wire rod
- Original record status
- Manufacturer source verified
- Document edition
- Cat. No. EXE203 2008.3 PDF; cover copyright 2008
- Document title
- Nippon Steel Wire Rods
- Table / clause
- Printed page 11, table index 3
- PDF page references
- 7
- Unit
- Mass fraction (%)
- Analysis type
- The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table
- Manufacturer
- NIPPON STEEL CORPORATION
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.09 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.05 |
| P | 0.04 ~ 0.09 |
| S | 0.26 ~ 0.35 |
Applicability and limitations
Historical Nippon Steel wire-rod catalogue EXE203 2008.3, PDF page 7
printed page 11, SAE J403 NOV.2001. The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table. Manufacturer range data, not guaranteed standard limits or heat-specific measurements; this does not establish supply by Creation Group. Condition: the original note for the 12xx series generally does not specify Si; missing data remain missing. ; Pb 0.15–0.35 and B 0.0005–0.0030 are options requiring an additional L/B designation and are not automatically included in ordinary grades in the original table; Special-quality low P/S requires separate verification of the agreement.
Composition conditions
- Original catalogue mass percentages, historical manufacturer data from 2008.3; Referenced standard names and editions follow the original document; this does not establish that the official texts of those standards have been obtained and verified.
- A dash or blank must not be treated as 0; only chemical composition has been checked in this batch. Mechanical properties and actual supply require separate verification under the applicable conditions.
- The original note for the 12xx series generally does not specify Si; missing data remain missing.
- Pb 0.15–0.35 and B 0.0005–0.0030 are options requiring an additional L/B designation and are not automatically included in ordinary grades in the original table; Special-quality low P/S requires separate verification of the agreement.
Verification notes
Grouped tables were expanded in full and checked against original images and notes. Ordinary, residual and conditional elements are kept separate; suffix tables lacking complete base-steel composition are excluded.1215 · CHINA STEEL CORPORATION · Bars and Wire Rods Product Catalogue 2014-C1 / 7.1.17 SAE · High-manganese steels / Free-cutting steels (Edition unspecified)
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Free-cutting steel
- Subcategory
- Free-cutting steel
- Material form
- Bars and wire rod
- Original record status
- Manufacturer source verified
- Document edition
- CAT.NO.3-BD-01-2014-C1 (stated on the back cover)
- Document title
- Bars and Wire Rods Product Catalogue
- Table / clause
- 7.1.17 SAE · High-manganese steels / Free-cutting steels (Edition unspecified)
- PDF page references
- 24
- Unit
- Mass fraction (%)
- Analysis type
- The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table
- Manufacturer
- CHINA STEEL CORPORATION
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.09 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.05 |
| P | 0.04 ~ 0.09 |
| S | 0.26 ~ 0.35 |
Applicability and limitations
China Steel Bar and Wire Rod Catalog CAT.NO.3-BD-01-2014-C1, PDF page 24/printed page 22, 7.1.17 SAE High Manganese/Free-Cutting Steels (edition not specified). The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table. Historical manufacturer range data, not guaranteed standard limits or heat-specific measurements; this does not establish supply by Creation Group. Condition: Si is selected by agreement; bar and wire-rod options are retained separately.; Ordinary grades in the original table shall not automatically include B addition. Cu is typically ≥0.20% when required; it is not the default Cu lower limit for all steel grades.
Composition conditions
- Historical manufacturer 2014-C1 catalogue, bars/wire rod; Where the referenced standard edition is not identified, a year is not borrowed from another catalogue; a catalogue is not upgraded to the official standard text.
- A dash or blank must not be treated as zero. Composition data do not establish completeness or applicability of a formula; mechanical properties and supply require separate verification.
- Si is an optional agreement condition, with separate options for bars and wire rod; B is not automatically added to ordinary grades. Where Cu is required, it is usually ≥0.20%; this is not a default Cu minimum for all grades.
Verification notes
Merged cells in all 28 catalogue tables were reconstructed geometrically, with no missing cells. Original images, continuation pages and notes are recorded; disputed conditions are withheld.1215 · ASTM A29/A29M-2023
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Carbon steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ASTM A29/A29M-2023
- Table / clause
- Table 1, footnotes A–G
- PDF page references
- 5
- Unit
- Mass fraction (wt%)
- Analysis type
- Heat analysis (composition ranges and limits in the original table)
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.09 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.05 |
| P | 0.04 ~ 0.09 |
| S | 0.26 ~ 0.35 |
Applicability and limitations
Original ASTM A29/A29M-2023, Table 1: the basic table gives heat-analysis mass fractions wt%; Product-analysis tolerances require separate confirmation under 4.3 and Table 5 and are not added to heat-analysis limits. When 4.1.1 is ordered by a grade in this table, the corresponding heat-analysis limits must be met; Other ordered compositions require separate agreement under 4.1.2 and Table 3/4 and are not merged into this table. General requirements for hot-worked bars; chemistry alone does not establish cold-heading suitability, supply or mechanical properties. Note D: Pb for leaded steel is 0.15–0.35%; L must remain part of the grade identity and is not included in ordinary grades; If lead is added in the ladle stream, its cast or heat-analysis content cannot be determined. Note F: Bi/Ca/Se/Te is specified by purchaser-supplier agreement; Unspecified numerical values are not entered as zero. The 4.3.2 product-analysis tolerance restrictions for P and S do not apply to resulfurized or rephosphorized/resulfurized steels; Product-analysis tolerances are not added to heat-analysis limits.
Verification notes
Existing OCR of the four-page, 190-row original 2023 table was parsed cell by cell. All values were screened for differences against independent 2012 data and checked against the original 2023 images and footnotes; no values were filled from the older edition.1215 · SAE J403-2014
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Free-cutting carbon steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- SAE J403-2014
- Table / clause
- Table 3B
- PDF page references
- 7
- Unit
- Mass fraction (wt%)
- Analysis type
- Cast or heat analysis
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual B (default unless separately agreed)
Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual A
Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual C
Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual D (no limit, but reporting is required)
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.09 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.05 |
| P | 0.04 ~ 0.09 |
| S | 0.26 ~ 0.35 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
SAE J403 Revised JUN2014 Table 3B: original cast or heat analysis, mass fraction wt%. Product-analysis deviations are addressed separately under SAE J409; J409 is not used to widen this table's limits. UNS G12150 and SAE 1215 are names directly listed in the same row of this table; other standards or editions are not treated as this edition. Unless residual elements are otherwise specified, the default is B. A/B/C is selected for the applicable product form/agreement. No limit is listed for D, but the amount of Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo must still be reported; it is not treated as zero. To demonstrate table compliance, Cu/Cr/Ni/Mo/Si must be reported in addition to C/Mn/P/S. A value below 0.02% may be reported as <0.02% as specified in the source; this is neither a universal upper limit nor zero. Table 3A/3B covers forged semi-finished products, bars, wire rod and seamless tubes of free-cutting carbon steels; it is not presented as universal composition requirements for flat products. Retain the two-sided P/S range in this row. V0.04–0.08% for 11V41 is an explicit row requirement; ordinary 11xx does not include V. Si is normally not specified for 12xx to avoid impairing machinability. Unspecified Si remains unknown and must be reported under 3.1, not treated as zero. Pb is included only in the row for 12L14; ordinary 1212/1213/1215 does not include Pb. The identities L and UNS G12144 are retained. A free-cutting application does not establish cold-heading suitability; delivery, project-specific processing and supply require separate confirmation. 3.1 and Table 6 require reporting C/Mn/P/S/Si/Al/Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo/Nb(Cb)/Ti/V/B/N; As/Sb is also reported when requested by the purchaser. Si/Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo below 0.02% may be reported as <0.02%, and Nb/Ti/V below 0.008% as <0.008%. These are reporting thresholds, not universal composition maxima; they do not justify filling in zero or an unspecified limit.
Original condition-branch records
Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual B (default unless separately agreed)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.09 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.05 |
| P | 0.04 ~ 0.09 |
| S | 0.26 ~ 0.35 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual A
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.09 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.05 |
| P | 0.04 ~ 0.09 |
| S | 0.26 ~ 0.35 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual C
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.09 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.05 |
| P | 0.04 ~ 0.09 |
| S | 0.26 ~ 0.35 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.12 (lower limit not stated) |
Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual D (no limit, but reporting is required)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.09 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.05 |
| P | 0.04 ~ 0.09 |
| S | 0.26 ~ 0.35 |