← BackMaterial grade directory

SAE/AISI 10B21(IFI-10B21)

1 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.

Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.

Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for SAE/AISI 10B21(IFI-10B21) →

SAE/AISI 10B21(IFI-10B21) · ASTM F2282-18

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material form
Cold-heading wire
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
ASTM F2282-18
Table / clause
Table 4; Tables6/9; notes; S1/S2
PDF page references
3、4、5、10
Unit
Mass fraction (wt%)
Analysis type
Heat analysis, not product analysis

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:0.3233–0.4613Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2373–0.3293Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2700–0.3615 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.19 ~ 0.23
Mn0.8 ~ 1.1
P≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated)
B0.0008 ~ 0.003
Ti≥ 0.01 (upper limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated)
Cr≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated)
Mo≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Sn≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated)
N≤ 0.009 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.1 ~ 0.3

Applicability and limitations

ASTM F2282—18 original Table 4/7 and Table 6/9.; Heat analysis mass fraction wt%, not actual measured values per heat. IFI numbers and /A, /B groupings shall be retained separately according to this table and shall not be presumed equivalent to SAE grades of the same number.; /B is not a boron marker within a number.. The residual upper limits in Table 9 are used only for elements without specified alloy ranges and cannot override the alloy Ni/Cr/Mo ranges in Table 7.. Si in Table 6 shall be according to the actual deoxidation method.; Fine grain requirements, grain reports, and 7.2 Al content/S2 agreements shall be verified separately; grain size compliance shall not be proven directly from deoxidation labels.. When B and Ti are not intentionally added, B≤0.0007%, Ti≤0.01%.; For 10B steel, the Table 4 note specifies B 0.0008–0.003% and Ti≥0.01%; do not invent a Ti upper limit where none is listed.. Product analysis deviations in Table 5/8 and the application conditions in 6.4 do not directly relax the default heat limits.. S1: Residual Cr may be relaxed to 0.20 or Mo to 0.06 only if specified in the order.; Reduction of residual limits requires an agreement and shall not be automatically applied to this batch.. S2 explicitly references the Nb/V grain refinement rules of A29/A29M—15 in the original text, which requires order specification and actual measurement of C/elements from the same heat; it shall not be replaced by newer A29 versions.. The SAE/AISI wording in the original website title is only an existing product label.; The grade in the original table for this composition is IFI-10B21; this shall not be used to declare equivalence with SAE/AISI standards.. Deferred condition: AlK deoxidation; Table 4 lists AlK, but the AlK column for boron steel in Table 6 is N/A; Do not borrow Si upper limits from other rows; pending specific agreement.

Verification notes

The original table in edition 2018, deoxidation/Si and residual-element footnotes were checked; IFI grouping, boron designations and agreement boundaries are retained.View associated products →
WhatsApp Technical enquiry →