← BackMaterial grade directory

S44700

3 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.

Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.

Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for S44700 →

S44700 · ASTM A493-2009(2013)

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
ASTM A493-2009(2013)
Table / clause
Table 1 · Notes A–B
PDF page references
1、2

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.

Default chemical requirements in Table 1; Coupled limits must be checked using measured composition
IIW / CEV: not directly applicable to this material category
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): not directly applicable to this material category
CET: not directly applicable to this material category
Note B permits product C/N deviations of +0.002% for each; The combined C+N limit is not automatically widened
IIW / CEV: not directly applicable to this material category
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): not directly applicable to this material category
CET: not directly applicable to this material category

Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)

ElementComposition requirement
C≤ 0.01 (lower limit not stated)
Mn≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Cr28.0 ~ 30.0
Ni≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated)
Mo3.5 ~ 4.2
N≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

Official original A493−09(Reapproved2013) PDF1/2 Table 1 and Notes A–B; Mass fraction wt%. ; The original symbol Cb corresponds to Nb; retain mapping description and do not create separate elements. ; All sum and coupled requirements must be verified using measured composition from the same heat; individual elements being within their ranges does not guarantee compliance with the sum requirements.. ; Si is blank in the table for S44401; if not specified, do not fill in zero; Ti/Nb each ≤ .80 is an envelope derived from non-negative values and a total ≤ .80, and does not represent independent standard limits. ; This standard covers wire/wire rod for cold heading and cold forging; actual supply, dimensions, delivery condition and properties require separate verification..

Combined limits

Element-sum limits
  • Elements concerned
    • C
    • N
    Upper limit
    0.025

Original condition-branch records

Default chemical requirements in Table 1; Coupled limits must be checked using measured composition

ElementComposition requirement
C≤ 0.01 (lower limit not stated)
Mn≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Cr28.0 ~ 30.0
Ni≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated)
Mo3.5 ~ 4.2
N≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated)

Note B permits product C/N deviations of +0.002% for each; The combined C+N limit is not automatically widened

ElementComposition requirement
C≤ 0.012 (lower limit not stated)
Mn≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Cr28.0 ~ 30.0
Ni≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated)
Mo3.5 ~ 4.2
N≤ 0.022 (lower limit not stated)

A condition branch must be selected

Yes

Verification notes

The corresponding original row, combined coupled requirements and footnotes were visually checked

S44700 · SAE J405-1998

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Stainless steel
Subcategory
Stainless steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
SAE J405 JUN1998
Table / clause
Table 1, page 2 / page 5, notes 1–7
PDF page references
1、5、5

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV: not directly applicable to this material category
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): not directly applicable to this material category
CET: not directly applicable to this material category

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C≤ 0.01 (lower limit not stated)
Mn≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Cr28.0 ~ 30.0
Ni≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated)
Mo3.5 ~ 4.2
N≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

Based on original SAE J405 JUN1998, Table 1; Mass fraction wt%, note 1: values without a stated range or minimum are maxima; a dash means unspecified and is not entered as zero. Note 5: Cb and Nb denote the same element; Alloying elements must be checked against the corresponding UNS row and additional conditions. Note 4: ordinary carbon analysis is reported to 0.01%, and low-carbon types to 0.001%; This is reporting precision and does not widen composition limits. Type names in original Table 1 may include a common name or a ASTM designation footnote; Search aliases follow only explicit correspondences on the same row; substitution across standards is not assessed automatically. 1998 is the actual composition basis; The specified newer edition has not been verified; equivalence between editions is not assumed. Combined C+N content ≤0.025%, with the individual maxima also satisfied.

Combined limits

Element-sum limits
  • Elements concerned
    • C
    • N
    Upper limit
    0.025

Verification notes

Corresponding UNS rows and table notes in the 1998 original have been checked; this does not verify a newer edition.

S44700 · ASTM A240/A240M-2014

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Stainless steel
Subcategory
Ferritic and martensitic stainless steels
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original-standard record
Standard edition
ASTM A240/A240M-2014
Table / clause
Table 1 and footnotes A–O
PDF page references
1、6

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV: not directly applicable to this material category
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): not directly applicable to this material category
CET: not directly applicable to this material category

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C≤ 0.01 (lower limit not stated)
Mn≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Cr28.0 ~ 30.0
Ni≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated)
Mo3.5 ~ 4.2
N≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

Table 1 gives heat-analysis mass percentages; A single value without a stated range or minimum is a maximum; unspecified elements are not entered as zero. ; Cb and Nb are the same element; Where both a formula and a fixed limit apply, the stricter limit is used. ; This is a plate, sheet and strip standard; cold-heading wire applications and actual supply require separate verification. ; Clause 4.1 also requires compliance with the applicable provisions of ASTM A480/A480M; This record displays the heat composition in Table 1; it does not establish verification of A480 or all product acceptance requirements. ; Other elements in the original table: (C+N) 0.025; See the limits below for the specific coupled requirements.

Combined limits

Combined-element limits
  • Element coefficient
    C
    1
    N
    1
    Lower limit
    Not stated
    Upper limit
    0.025
    Requirement
    C+N≤0.025
Elements requiring measured values from the same heat
    WhatsApp Technical enquiry →