33B2
10 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for 33B2 →33B2 · ISO 4954
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Cold-heading wire
- Original record status
- Source edition identified; composition verification pending
- Standard edition
- ISO 4954:2018
- Table / clause
- Table C.3
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.3 ~ 0.35 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Composition based on ISO 4954:2018; the product edition is unspecified, so confirm the edition applicable to the contract.
Composition conditions
- ISO 4954:2018, Table C.3 gives heat analysis; A single value is a maximum; a dash is not zero.
- Product-analysis tolerances are listed separately under Table 2/3 of the standard and do not directly widen the heat-analysis composition ranges.
- Optional Al0.020–0.050% to improve cold-heading performance; this is not a universal mandatory minimum.
- Low Si may be agreed in the order, taking hardenability into account; Where hardenability is required, the standard permits limited deviations, except for P/S; C must not exceed 0.01%; see Table 2 for the other requirements.
- When a Cr maximum of 0.30% is specified, a minimum Cr may be agreed at ordering; 30MoB1 requires guaranteed hardenability, with Cr minimum 0.15% and an upper limit adjustable by agreement.
Verification notes
Composition based on ISO 4954:2018; the product edition is unspecified, so confirm the edition applicable to the contract.View associated products →33B2 · ISO 4954-2018
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Alloy steel
- Subcategory
- Steel for quenching and tempering
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ISO 4954:2018
- Table / clause
- Table C.3
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.3 ~ 0.35 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
ISO 4954:2018, Table C.3 gives heat analysis; A single value is a maximum; a dash is not zero. ; Product-analysis tolerances are listed separately under Table 2/3 of the standard and do not directly widen the heat-analysis composition ranges. ; Optional Al0.020–0.050% to improve cold-heading performance; this is not a universal mandatory minimum. ; Low Si may be agreed in the order, taking hardenability into account; Where hardenability is required, the standard permits limited deviations, except for P/S; C must not exceed 0.01%; see Table 2 for the other requirements. ; When a Cr maximum of 0.30% is specified, a minimum Cr may be agreed at ordering; 30MoB1 requires guaranteed hardenability, with Cr minimum 0.15% and an upper limit adjustable by agreement.
Verification notes
The original standard, Table C.3 and footnotes have been checked33B2 · ISO 4954-1-2024
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ISO 4954-1-2024
- Table / clause
- Table C.3 and notes a–f
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Default heat composition in Table C.2/C.3
Uses an addition of Al intended to improve cold-heading performance, Al≤0.050%
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.3 ~ 0.35 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
Applicability and limitations
Mass fraction wt%; Table C.2/C.3 heat analysis; see Table 2 separately for product-analysis tolerances. ; Note a: Al≤0.050% may be added to improve cold heading, but is not mandatory by default. ; Note c: A lower Si or a specified Si range may be requested by agreement; specific agreements have not yet been provided and shall not be filled in arbitrarily. ; When hardenability requirements exist, the small deviations permitted in Table B.6/B.7 must be verified separately according to Table 2 and conditions; the default composition range shall not be expanded. ; Elements not listed must not be intentionally added without purchaser consent, except additions needed to finish steelmaking; Unspecified values are not treated as zero. ; Mechanical properties/hardenability have not been supplemented in this batch; Cold heading applicability must be determined in conjunction with dimensions, state, and technical conditions. ; Note e: Boron should be in solid solution; non-effective boron impairs toughness and should be avoided; Effective boron cannot be proven solely by the total boron range. ; Note f: When the Cr upper limit is specified as 0.30, a higher lower limit may be separately agreed; it shall not be entered if not provided in the actual agreement; Certain applications of 30MnB4 have a separate 0.15 lower limit requirement, which shall not be applied to other grades in this batch.
Original condition-branch records
Default heat composition in Table C.2/C.3
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.3 ~ 0.35 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
Uses an addition of Al intended to improve cold-heading performance, Al≤0.050%
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.3 ~ 0.35 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
| Al | ≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated) |
A condition branch must be selected
YesVerification notes
The original English text of 2024, Table C.2/C.3 and footnotes have been checked33B2 · EN 10263-4-2017
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- EN 10263-4-2017
- Table / clause
- Table 4 and notes
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Default heat composition listed in the table; optional Al addition not selected.
Note 3: optional Al addition of 0.020–0.050% to improve cold-heading performance.
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.3 ~ 0.35 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
Applicability and limitations
EN10263-4:2017, Table 4, heat analysis, mass percent. ; Elements not listed shall not be filled as 0; they shall not be intentionally added without the consent of the purchaser, except additions needed to finish steelmaking. ; Note 2 allows the specification of small deviations when hardenability requirements exist, but this does not involve P/S; The default composition range is not expanded here; it must be combined with specific hardenability ordering conditions. ; Note 3 allows Al 0.020–0.050% to be listed separately; it shall not be defaulted as mandatory aluminum content. ; Mechanical properties and delivery conditions are to be verified separately; the standard range is not a guarantee for the forming of arbitrary parts. ; The text of Table 4 Note a indicates that a Cr lower limit may be agreed upon for grades with Cr≤.30%; the table header Footnote a is located at Si; the ambiguity of the original position is retained, and clear Si table values shall not be changed nor low Si conditions arbitrarily set based on this. ; The Cr lower limit of .15 in Table 4 Note b applies only to the core hardenability requirements of 1.5408 (30MoB1) and shall not be applied to other grades such as 30MnB4; Agreement to reduce the Cr upper limit must include a specific limit value.
Original condition-branch records
Default heat composition listed in the table; optional Al addition not selected.
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.3 ~ 0.35 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
Note 3: optional Al addition of 0.020–0.050% to improve cold-heading performance.
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.3 ~ 0.35 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
| Al | 0.02 ~ 0.05 |
A condition branch must be selected
YesVerification notes
Visual check of Tables 3 and 4 and footnotes in the English original33B2 · DIN EN 10263-4-2002
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- DIN EN 10263-4-2002
- Table / clause
- Table 3
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.3 ~ 0.35 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
Applicability and limitations
The original webpage states DIN EN 10263-4-2018; The composition in this record was actually verified against DIN EN 10263-4-2002; the edition is now identified as 2002 according to the original evidence; The original official German edition of 2018 remains unavailable; edition EN2017 is not automatically treated as the original DIN. ; DIN EN10263-4:2002-02 adopts EN10263-4:2001; the edition relationship is expressly identified on the cover; Heat-analysis mass percentages. ; Historical Table 2/3 contains no optional Al addition note for 2017; newer-edition conditions are not applied. ; Table 2, note c permits an agreed carbon range of width .04%; tabulated defaults are unchanged without a specific agreement. ; Table 2, note d and Table 3, note c permit agreed lower Si, considering effects on properties/hardenability; no range is invented where none is specified. ; Unlisted elements are not entered as zero; Table 2, note a: intentional additions without purchaser consent are prohibited except to finish the heat; residuals may be present but must not impair properties. ; Table 2, note b permits specified deviations where hardenability is required, except for P/S; The default composition range is not widened here. ; Mechanical properties, delivery and hardenability require separate verification; suitability for forming a specific component requires separate confirmation. ; Historical Table 3, note d: minima for grades with Cr≤.30 may be agreed, but no general value is given; the 30MoB1 core-hardening .15 option from 2017 is not copied.
Verification notes
The original webpage states DIN EN 10263-4-2018; The composition in this record was actually verified against DIN EN 10263-4-2002; the edition is now identified as 2002 according to the original evidence; The original official German edition of 2018 remains unavailable; edition EN2017 is not automatically treated as the original DIN.33B2 · DIN EN 10263-4-2002
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- DIN EN 10263-4-2002
- Table / clause
- Table 3
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.3 ~ 0.35 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
Applicability and limitations
DIN EN10263-4:2002-02 adopts EN10263-4:2001; the edition relationship is expressly identified on the cover; Heat-analysis mass percentages. ; Historical Table 2/3 contains no optional Al addition note for 2017; newer-edition conditions are not applied. ; Table 2, note c permits an agreed carbon range of width .04%; tabulated defaults are unchanged without a specific agreement. ; Table 2, note d and Table 3, note c permit agreed lower Si, considering effects on properties/hardenability; no range is invented where none is specified. ; Unlisted elements are not entered as zero; Table 2, note a: intentional additions without purchaser consent are prohibited except to finish the heat; residuals may be present but must not impair properties. ; Table 2, note b permits specified deviations where hardenability is required, except for P/S; The default composition range is not widened here. ; Mechanical properties, delivery and hardenability require separate verification; suitability for forming a specific component requires separate confirmation. ; Historical Table 3, note d: minima for grades with Cr≤.30 may be agreed, but no general value is given; the 30MoB1 core-hardening .15 option from 2017 is not copied.Composition conditions
- DIN EN10263-4:2002-02 adopts EN10263-4:2001; the edition relationship is expressly identified on the cover; Heat-analysis mass percentages.
- Historical Table 2/3 contains no optional Al addition note for 2017; newer-edition conditions are not applied.
- Table 2, note c permits an agreed carbon range of width .04%; tabulated defaults are unchanged without a specific agreement.
- Table 2, note d and Table 3, note c permit agreed lower Si, considering effects on properties/hardenability; no range is invented where none is specified.
- Unlisted elements are not entered as zero; Table 2, note a: intentional additions without purchaser consent are prohibited except to finish the heat; residuals may be present but must not impair properties.
- Table 2, note b permits specified deviations where hardenability is required, except for P/S; The default composition range is not widened here.
- Mechanical properties, delivery and hardenability require separate verification; suitability for forming a specific component requires separate confirmation.
- Historical Table 3, note d: minima for grades with Cr≤.30 may be agreed, but no general value is given; the 30MoB1 core-hardening .15 option from 2017 is not copied.
Verification notes
Older-edition Tables 2 and 3 and footnotes visually checked; equivalence to the newer edition is not assumed.33B2 · EN 10263-4-2001
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- EN 10263-4-2001
- Table / clause
- Table 3
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.3 ~ 0.35 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
Applicability and limitations
DIN EN10263-4:2002-02 adopts EN10263-4:2001; the edition relationship is expressly identified on the cover; Heat-analysis mass percentages. ; Historical Table 2/3 contains no optional Al addition note for 2017; newer-edition conditions are not applied. ; Table 2, note c permits an agreed carbon range of width .04%; tabulated defaults are unchanged without a specific agreement. ; Table 2, note d and Table 3, note c permit agreed lower Si, considering effects on properties/hardenability; no range is invented where none is specified. ; Unlisted elements are not entered as zero; Table 2, note a: intentional additions without purchaser consent are prohibited except to finish the heat; residuals may be present but must not impair properties. ; Table 2, note b permits specified deviations where hardenability is required, except for P/S; The default composition range is not widened here. ; Mechanical properties, delivery and hardenability require separate verification; suitability for forming a specific component requires separate confirmation. ; Historical Table 3, note d: minima for grades with Cr≤.30 may be agreed, but no general value is given; the 30MoB1 core-hardening .15 option from 2017 is not copied.
Verification notes
Older-edition Tables 2 and 3 and footnotes visually checked; equivalence to the newer edition is not assumed.33B2 · BEXG 021-2020
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Cold-heading steel
- Subcategory
- Cold-heading steel
- Material form
- Wire rod
- Original record status
- Manufacturer source verified
- Document edition
- BEXG 021-2020, sixteenth revision stated on the cover; issued and effective on 2020-12-29; The latest original document available on this computer only
- Document title
- Technical delivery conditions for cold-heading steel wire rod for automotive parts
- Table / clause
- Table 1
- PDF page references
- 9
- Unit
- Mass fraction (wt%)
- Manufacturer
- Baoshan Iron & Steel Co., Ltd. (Baosteel)
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.3 ~ 0.35 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
| Ni | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Baosteel BEXG 021-2020, Table 1, row 79, PDF page 9; heat-analysis composition in wt%, hot-rolled wire rod. 2020 is the original edition available locally, with no claim that it is the company’s current latest edition. Special conditions and actual supply require separate confirmation.
Composition conditions
- Table 1 and its continuation give heat composition, in mass fractions wt%; The product is hot-rolled wire rod for automotive parts.
- Unless expressly stated otherwise, residual Cr≤0.20%, Ni≤0.20%, Cu≤0.20% and Mo≤0.06% apply; Specific requirements in the table and additional notes take precedence.
- A dash does not mean zero; Composition outside the table is not inferred from grade names or referenced standards.
Verification notes
Table 1 original images checked page by page, physical pages 3–10; continuation values and other columns kept separate; two disputed rows excluded.Source footnotes
Cu≤0.25 B:0.0008-0.0050. Source note: this composition meets EN10263-433B2 · BEXG 021-2020
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Cold-heading steel
- Subcategory
- Cold-heading steel
- Material form
- Wire rod
- Original record status
- Manufacturer source verified
- Document edition
- BEXG 021-2020, sixteenth revision stated on the cover; issued and effective on 2020-12-29; The latest original document available on this computer only
- Document title
- Technical delivery conditions for cold-heading steel wire rod for automotive parts
- Table / clause
- Table 1
- PDF page references
- 10
- Unit
- Mass fraction (wt%)
- Manufacturer
- Baoshan Iron & Steel Co., Ltd. (Baosteel)
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.3 ~ 0.35 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.25 ~ 0.35 |
| Ni | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Baosteel BEXG 021-2020, Table 1, row 89, PDF page 10; heat-analysis composition in wt%, hot-rolled wire rod. 2020 is the original edition available locally, with no claim that it is the company’s current latest edition. Special conditions and actual supply require separate confirmation.
Composition conditions
- Table 1 and its continuation give heat composition, in mass fractions wt%; The product is hot-rolled wire rod for automotive parts.
- Unless expressly stated otherwise, residual Cr≤0.20%, Ni≤0.20%, Cu≤0.20% and Mo≤0.06% apply; Specific requirements in the table and additional notes take precedence.
- A dash does not mean zero; Composition outside the table is not inferred from grade names or referenced standards.
- Separated from 33B2 in line 79; This row specifies only Cr 0.25–0.35 and the listed composition; do not infer a B range from references to EN.
Verification notes
Table 1 original images checked page by page, physical pages 3–10; continuation values and other columns kept separate; two disputed rows excluded.Source footnotes
Except for Cr(0.25-0.35), the composition meets EN10263-433B2 · EN 10263
Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference
- Material form
- Drawn wire
- Verification status
- Published on the website; original-source verification pending
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| B | 0.0008 ~ 0.005 |
| C | 0.3 ~ 0.35 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Give priority to the published technical page on the Creation Group website. Use local reference ranges only as supplementary composition cross-checks; the applicable standard for that product page, the technical agreement and actual verification take precedence.