← BackMaterial grade directory

20MOCR4

15 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.

Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.

Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for 20MOCR4 →

20MoCr4 · ISO 4954

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material form
Cold-heading wire
Original record status
Source edition identified; composition verification pending
Standard edition
ISO 4954:2018
Table / clause
Table B.2

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:0.4267–0.6333Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, Ni CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2467–0.3658Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Ni, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2950–0.4225Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.17 ~ 0.23
Si≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
Mn0.7 ~ 1.0
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.3 ~ 0.6
Mo0.4 ~ 0.5
Cu≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

Composition based on ISO 4954:2018; the product edition is unspecified, so confirm the edition applicable to the contract.

Composition conditions

Verification notes

Composition based on ISO 4954:2018; the product edition is unspecified, so confirm the edition applicable to the contract.View associated products →

20MoCr4 · ISO 4954-2018

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Case-hardening steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
ISO 4954:2018
Table / clause
Table B.2

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:0.4267–0.6333Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, Ni CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2467–0.3658Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Ni, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2950–0.4225Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.17 ~ 0.23
Si≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
Mn0.7 ~ 1.0
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.3 ~ 0.6
Mo0.4 ~ 0.5
Cu≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

ISO 4954:2018, Table B.2 gives heat analysis; A single value is a maximum; a dash is not zero. ; Product-analysis tolerances are listed separately under Table 2/3 of the standard and do not directly widen the heat-analysis composition ranges. ; Optional Al0.020–0.050% to improve cold-heading performance; this is not a universal mandatory minimum. ; Low Si may be agreed in the order, taking hardenability into account; Where hardenability is required, the standard permits limited deviations, except for P/S; C must not exceed 0.01%; see Table 2 for the other requirements.

Verification notes

Original standard Table B.2 and footnotes verified

20MoCr4 · EN 10263-3-2017

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
EN 10263-3-2017
Table / clause
Table 3 and notes 1–3

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.

Table 3 default; no separate agreement to add Al.
IIW / CEV:0.4267–0.6333Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, Ni CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2467–0.3658Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Ni, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2950–0.4225Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Optional Al 0.020–0.050% selected (Table 3, note 3).
IIW / CEV:0.4267–0.6333Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, Ni CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2467–0.3658Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Ni, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2950–0.4225Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.17 ~ 0.23
Mn0.7 ~ 1.0
S≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.3 ~ 0.6
Mo0.4 ~ 0.5
Si≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

Heat analysis mass fraction wt%; Allowable deviations for product analysis shall follow Table 4; this table shall not be expanded unconditionally.. ; Si may be agreed at a lower content or a specific range at the time of ordering; the default in this table is ≤0.30%.. ; To improve cold-heading performance, Al 0.020–0.050% may be optionally added (Note 3); Al is not mandatory for all grades. ; Small deviations for hardenability orders must satisfy Note 2 and Table 4.; P/S shall not be relaxed by this means; the default composition table shall not be automatically expanded.. ; Elements not listed shall not be intentionally added without the purchaser's consent (except additions needed to finish steelmaking); unspecified does not represent zero.. ; This standard is for cold-heading and cold-extrusion, but specific product supply still requires confirmation of dimensions, delivery condition, surface, and performance requirements..

Original condition-branch records

Table 3 default; no separate agreement to add Al.

ElementComposition requirement
C0.17 ~ 0.23
Mn0.7 ~ 1.0
S≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.3 ~ 0.6
Mo0.4 ~ 0.5
Si≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)

Optional Al 0.020–0.050% selected (Table 3, note 3).

ElementComposition requirement
C0.17 ~ 0.23
Mn0.7 ~ 1.0
S≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.3 ~ 0.6
Mo0.4 ~ 0.5
Si≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Al0.02 ~ 0.05

A condition branch must be selected

Yes

Verification notes

The original English Table 3 and notes have been checked

20MoCr4 · ISO 4954-1-2024

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
ISO 4954-1-2024
Table / clause
Table B.2 and notes a–d

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.

Default heat composition in Table B.2
IIW / CEV:0.4067–0.6333Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, Ni CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2267–0.3658Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Ni, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2750–0.4225Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Uses an addition of Al intended to improve cold-heading performance, Al≤0.050%
IIW / CEV:0.4067–0.6333Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, Ni CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2267–0.3658Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Ni, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2750–0.4225Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.15 ~ 0.23
Si≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
Mn0.7 ~ 1.0
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.3 ~ 0.6
Mo0.4 ~ 0.5

Applicability and limitations

Mass fraction wt%; Table B.2 heat analysis; see Table 2 separately for product-analysis tolerances. ; Note a: Al≤0.050% may be added to improve cold heading, but is not mandatory by default. ; Note c: A lower Si or a specified Si range may be requested by agreement; specific agreements have not yet been provided and shall not be filled in arbitrarily. ; When hardenability requirements exist, the small deviations permitted in Table B.6/B.7 must be verified separately according to Table 2 and conditions; the default composition range shall not be expanded. ; Elements not listed must not be intentionally added without purchaser consent, except additions needed to finish steelmaking; Unspecified values are not treated as zero. ; Mechanical properties/hardenability have not been supplemented in this batch; Cold heading applicability must be determined in conjunction with dimensions, state, and technical conditions.

Original condition-branch records

Default heat composition in Table B.2

ElementComposition requirement
C0.15 ~ 0.23
Si≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
Mn0.7 ~ 1.0
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.3 ~ 0.6
Mo0.4 ~ 0.5

Uses an addition of Al intended to improve cold-heading performance, Al≤0.050%

ElementComposition requirement
C0.15 ~ 0.23
Si≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
Mn0.7 ~ 1.0
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.3 ~ 0.6
Mo0.4 ~ 0.5
Al≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)

A condition branch must be selected

Yes

Verification notes

The original English text of 2024, Table B.2 and footnotes have been checked

20MoCr4 · DIN EN 10084-2008

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
DIN EN 10084-2008
Table / clause
Table 3, notes a–d

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:0.4267–0.6167Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2467–0.3567Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cu, Ni, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2950–0.4100Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.17 ~ 0.23
Si≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated)
Mn0.7 ~ 1.0
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.3 ~ 0.6
Mo0.4 ~ 0.5

Applicability and limitations

Ladle analysis, mass fraction wt%; the DIN EN 10084:2008-06 cover expressly identifies the German edition of EN 10084:2008; Table 3 follows that source text. Note b: minor composition deviations associated with hardenability requirements must be checked separately against Table 4 and the applicable conditions; they do not widen default ranges, and no such relaxation applies to P/S. Note c: higher S (approximately up to 0.10%) or Pb may be requested for improved machinability; in the higher-S case, the Mn upper limit may increase by 0.15 percentage points. Actual agreed values are not given; do not invent them or apply them automatically. Note d: B in this table improves toughness in the hardened case, not hardenability. Unlisted elements must not be intentionally added without purchaser approval (except as necessary during steelmaking); unspecified does not mean zero. A delivery standard for case-hardening steel does not mean all conditions are suitable for cold heading; verify mechanical properties, hardness and hardenability separately.

Verification notes

Original German Table 3 and its footnotes checked

Jominy end-quench hardenability (conditional requirements)

EN 10084:2008 · DIN EN 10084:2008-06, cover explicitly states German version of EN 10084:2008 · Table 5/Table 6/Table 8/Table 9; 7.1.2 and 8.2.2 · PDF pages 7, 10, 12, 18, 19, 22, 23

+H Normal hardenability band (7.1.2; applies to alloy steels in this standard unless otherwise agreed)

End-quench test temperature 910 °C (tolerance not stated in the source); this is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.

Distance from quenched end (mm)Lower limit (HRC)Upper limit (HRC)
1.54149
33747
53144
72741
92438
112235
13Unspecified; do not treat as 033
15Unspecified; do not treat as 031
20Unspecified; do not treat as 028
25Unspecified; do not treat as 026
30Unspecified; do not treat as 025
35Unspecified; do not treat as 024
40Unspecified; do not treat as 024

+HH Restricted hardenability band (Table 6; agreement at enquiry and order required)

End-quench test temperature 910 °C (tolerance not stated in the source); this is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.

Distance from quenched end (mm)Lower limit (HRC)Upper limit (HRC)
1.54449
34047
53544
73241
92938
112635
132433
152231
20Unspecified; do not treat as 028
25Unspecified; do not treat as 026
30Unspecified; do not treat as 025
35Unspecified; do not treat as 024
40Unspecified; do not treat as 024

+HL Restricted hardenability band (Table 6; agreement at enquiry and order required)

End-quench test temperature 910 °C (tolerance not stated in the source); this is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.

Distance from quenched end (mm)Lower limit (HRC)Upper limit (HRC)
1.54146
33744
53140
72736
92433
112231
13Unspecified; do not treat as 029
15Unspecified; do not treat as 027
20Unspecified; do not treat as 024
25Unspecified; do not treat as 022
30Unspecified; do not treat as 021
35Unspecified; do not treat as 020
40Unspecified; do not treat as 020

20MoCr4 · EN 10084-2008

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
EN 10084-2008
Table / clause
Table 3, notes a–d

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:0.4267–0.6167Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2467–0.3567Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cu, Ni, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2950–0.4100Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.17 ~ 0.23
Si≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated)
Mn0.7 ~ 1.0
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.3 ~ 0.6
Mo0.4 ~ 0.5

Applicability and limitations

Ladle analysis, mass fraction wt%; the DIN EN 10084:2008-06 cover expressly identifies the German edition of EN 10084:2008; Table 3 follows that source text. Note b: minor composition deviations associated with hardenability requirements must be checked separately against Table 4 and the applicable conditions; they do not widen default ranges, and no such relaxation applies to P/S. Note c: higher S (approximately up to 0.10%) or Pb may be requested for improved machinability; in the higher-S case, the Mn upper limit may increase by 0.15 percentage points. Actual agreed values are not given; do not invent them or apply them automatically. Note d: B in this table improves toughness in the hardened case, not hardenability. Unlisted elements must not be intentionally added without purchaser approval (except as necessary during steelmaking); unspecified does not mean zero. A delivery standard for case-hardening steel does not mean all conditions are suitable for cold heading; verify mechanical properties, hardness and hardenability separately.

Verification notes

Original German Table 3 and its footnotes checked

Jominy end-quench hardenability (conditional requirements)

EN 10084:2008 · DIN EN 10084:2008-06, cover explicitly states German version of EN 10084:2008 · Table 5/Table 6/Table 8/Table 9; 7.1.2 and 8.2.2 · PDF pages 7, 10, 12, 18, 19, 22, 23

+H Normal hardenability band (7.1.2; applies to alloy steels in this standard unless otherwise agreed)

End-quench test temperature 910 °C (tolerance not stated in the source); this is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.

Distance from quenched end (mm)Lower limit (HRC)Upper limit (HRC)
1.54149
33747
53144
72741
92438
112235
13Unspecified; do not treat as 033
15Unspecified; do not treat as 031
20Unspecified; do not treat as 028
25Unspecified; do not treat as 026
30Unspecified; do not treat as 025
35Unspecified; do not treat as 024
40Unspecified; do not treat as 024

+HH Restricted hardenability band (Table 6; agreement at enquiry and order required)

End-quench test temperature 910 °C (tolerance not stated in the source); this is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.

Distance from quenched end (mm)Lower limit (HRC)Upper limit (HRC)
1.54449
34047
53544
73241
92938
112635
132433
152231
20Unspecified; do not treat as 028
25Unspecified; do not treat as 026
30Unspecified; do not treat as 025
35Unspecified; do not treat as 024
40Unspecified; do not treat as 024

+HL Restricted hardenability band (Table 6; agreement at enquiry and order required)

End-quench test temperature 910 °C (tolerance not stated in the source); this is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.

Distance from quenched end (mm)Lower limit (HRC)Upper limit (HRC)
1.54146
33744
53140
72736
92433
112231
13Unspecified; do not treat as 029
15Unspecified; do not treat as 027
20Unspecified; do not treat as 024
25Unspecified; do not treat as 022
30Unspecified; do not treat as 021
35Unspecified; do not treat as 020
40Unspecified; do not treat as 020

20MoCr4 · DIN EN 10263-3-2002

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
DIN EN 10263-3-2002
Table / clause
Table 2 and notes a–c
PDF page references
1、8

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:0.4267–0.6333Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, Ni CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2467–0.3658Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Ni, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2950–0.4225Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.17 ~ 0.23
Mn0.7 ~ 1.0
S≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.3 ~ 0.6
Mo0.4 ~ 0.5
Si≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

The original webpage states DIN EN 10263-3-2018; The composition in this record was actually verified against DIN EN 10263-3-2002, Table 2; the edition is now identified as 2002 according to the original evidence; See the separate complete-table record for edition 2018. ; Original DIN EN10263-3 Februar2002 expressly adopts EN10263-3:2001; Composition follows PDF8, Table 2; 2017 is not applied across editions. ; Heat analysis wt%; Si≤.30; a lower content or specified range may be agreed at ordering, but no option is selected without an agreement. ; Note b: hardenability-based orders permit only small deviations, C .01 and the other elements in Table 3; P/S is not applicable; Default limits are not widened; product-analysis tolerances require separate verification. ; Note a: unlisted elements must not be intentionally added except to finish the heat; Residual elements must not impair mechanical properties or end use; unspecified values are not entered as zero. ; The historical table has no general optional Al range under 2017, note 3; the Al option from a later edition is not copied. ; This part covers carburizing steels for cold heading/cold extrusion; dimensions, delivery condition, surface and actual supply still require confirmation.

Verification notes

The original webpage states DIN EN 10263-3-2018; The composition in this record was actually verified against DIN EN 10263-3-2002, Table 2; the edition is now identified as 2002 according to the original evidence; See the separate complete-table record for edition 2018.

20MoCr4 · DIN EN 10263-3-2002

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
DIN EN 10263-3-2002
Table / clause
Table 2 and notes a–c
PDF page references
1、8

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:0.4267–0.6333Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, Ni CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2467–0.3658Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Ni, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2950–0.4225Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.17 ~ 0.23
Mn0.7 ~ 1.0
S≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.3 ~ 0.6
Mo0.4 ~ 0.5
Si≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

Original DIN EN10263-3 Februar2002 expressly adopts EN10263-3:2001; Composition follows PDF8, Table 2; 2017 is not applied across editions. ; Heat analysis wt%; Si≤.30; a lower content or specified range may be agreed at ordering, but no option is selected without an agreement. ; Note b: hardenability-based orders permit only small deviations, C .01 and the other elements in Table 3; P/S is not applicable; Default limits are not widened; product-analysis tolerances require separate verification. ; Note a: unlisted elements must not be intentionally added except to finish the heat; Residual elements must not impair mechanical properties or end use; unspecified values are not entered as zero. ; The historical table has no general optional Al range under 2017, note 3; the Al option from a later edition is not copied. ; This part covers carburizing steels for cold heading/cold extrusion; dimensions, delivery condition, surface and actual supply still require confirmation.

Composition conditions

Verification notes

German source cover, all 25 grades in Table 2 and notes a–c visually checked.

20MoCr4 · EN 10263-3-2001

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
EN 10263-3-2001
Table / clause
Table 2 and notes a–c
PDF page references
1、8

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:0.4267–0.6333Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, Ni CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2467–0.3658Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Ni, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2950–0.4225Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.17 ~ 0.23
Mn0.7 ~ 1.0
S≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.3 ~ 0.6
Mo0.4 ~ 0.5
Si≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

Original DIN EN10263-3 Februar2002 expressly adopts EN10263-3:2001; Composition follows PDF8, Table 2; 2017 is not applied across editions. ; Heat analysis wt%; Si≤.30; a lower content or specified range may be agreed at ordering, but no option is selected without an agreement. ; Note b: hardenability-based orders permit only small deviations, C .01 and the other elements in Table 3; P/S is not applicable; Default limits are not widened; product-analysis tolerances require separate verification. ; Note a: unlisted elements must not be intentionally added except to finish the heat; Residual elements must not impair mechanical properties or end use; unspecified values are not entered as zero. ; The historical table has no general optional Al range under 2017, note 3; the Al option from a later edition is not copied. ; This part covers carburizing steels for cold heading/cold extrusion; dimensions, delivery condition, surface and actual supply still require confirmation.

Verification notes

German source cover, all 25 grades in Table 2 and notes a–c visually checked.

20MoCr4 · NF EN 10084-2008

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Composition basis in the adopted standard verified
Standard edition
EN 10084-2008
Table / clause
Table 3, notes a–d

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:0.4267–0.6167Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2467–0.3567Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cu, Ni, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2950–0.4100Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.17 ~ 0.23
Si≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated)
Mn0.7 ~ 1.0
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.3 ~ 0.6
Mo0.4 ~ 0.5

Applicability and limitations

NF EN 10084:2008-06 corresponds to EN 10084:2008; Composition is read from the verified official original text of this EN version; see Data Basis for the actual source document. Heat-analysis mass fractions wt%; The cover of DIN EN10084:2008-06 explicitly identifies it as the German version of EN10084:2008; Table 3 adopts this original text.. ; Note b: Minor composition deviations under hardenability requirements must be verified separately according to Table 4 and conditions; the default range shall not be expanded, and no such relaxation applies to P/S. ; Note c: Steel with higher S (up to approximately 0.10%) or Pb for improved machinability may be requested for supply.; In the former case, the Mn upper limit may be increased by 0.15 percentage points.. Actual agreed values are not provided; do not fill in arbitrarily or apply automatically. ; Note d: Boron in this table is used to improve toughness of the hardened zone; the original text specifies it is not used to increase hardenability. ; Unlisted elements must not be intentionally added without purchaser consent, except additions needed to finish steelmaking; Unspecified values are not treated as zero. ; Delivery standards for carburizing steel do not equal suitability for cold-heading in all conditions; Mechanical properties, hardness, and hardenability shall be verified separately..

Verification notes

The adoption relationship and original corresponding EN composition table have been checked; The complete main text of NF has not been checked page by page

Jominy end-quench hardenability (conditional requirements)

EN 10084:2008 · DIN EN 10084:2008-06, cover explicitly states German version of EN 10084:2008 · Table 5/Table 6/Table 8/Table 9; 7.1.2 and 8.2.2 · PDF pages 7, 10, 12, 18, 19, 22, 23

+H Normal hardenability band (7.1.2; applies to alloy steels in this standard unless otherwise agreed)

End-quench test temperature 910 °C (tolerance not stated in the source); this is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.

Distance from quenched end (mm)Lower limit (HRC)Upper limit (HRC)
1.54149
33747
53144
72741
92438
112235
13Unspecified; do not treat as 033
15Unspecified; do not treat as 031
20Unspecified; do not treat as 028
25Unspecified; do not treat as 026
30Unspecified; do not treat as 025
35Unspecified; do not treat as 024
40Unspecified; do not treat as 024

+HH Restricted hardenability band (Table 6; agreement at enquiry and order required)

End-quench test temperature 910 °C (tolerance not stated in the source); this is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.

Distance from quenched end (mm)Lower limit (HRC)Upper limit (HRC)
1.54449
34047
53544
73241
92938
112635
132433
152231
20Unspecified; do not treat as 028
25Unspecified; do not treat as 026
30Unspecified; do not treat as 025
35Unspecified; do not treat as 024
40Unspecified; do not treat as 024

+HL Restricted hardenability band (Table 6; agreement at enquiry and order required)

End-quench test temperature 910 °C (tolerance not stated in the source); this is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.

Distance from quenched end (mm)Lower limit (HRC)Upper limit (HRC)
1.54146
33744
53140
72736
92433
112231
13Unspecified; do not treat as 029
15Unspecified; do not treat as 027
20Unspecified; do not treat as 024
25Unspecified; do not treat as 022
30Unspecified; do not treat as 021
35Unspecified; do not treat as 020
40Unspecified; do not treat as 020

20MoCr4 · DIN EN 10263-3-2018

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
DIN EN 10263-3:2018-02
Table / clause
Tabelle 3, footnote a and note 1–3; Tabelle 4 product-analysis tolerances require separate verification
PDF page references
1、9
Unit
Mass fraction (wt%)
Analysis type
Heat analysis

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.

Table 3 default; no separate agreement to add Al.
IIW / CEV:0.4267–0.6333Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, Ni CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2467–0.3658Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Ni, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2950–0.4225Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Optional Al 0.020–0.050% selected (Table 3, note 3).
IIW / CEV:0.4267–0.6333Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, Ni CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2467–0.3658Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Ni, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2950–0.4225Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.17 ~ 0.23
Mn0.7 ~ 1.0
S≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.3 ~ 0.6
Mo0.4 ~ 0.5
Si≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

DIN EN 10263-3:2018-02 is the German-language edition of EN 10263-3:2017; Verified according to the heat analysis and notes of Table 3 in the German official version.. ; Table 3 of DIN EN 10263-3:2018-02 specifies the heat analysis mass fraction in wt%.; Allowable deviations for product analysis shall follow Table 4; this table shall not be expanded unconditionally.. ; Si may be agreed at a lower content or a specific range at the time of ordering; the default in this table is ≤0.30%.. ; To improve cold-heading performance, Note 3 of Table 3 allows the optional addition of Al 0.020–0.050%.; This composition variant shall be applied only when explicitly selected.. ; Small deviations for hardenability orders must satisfy Note 2 and Table 4.; P/S shall not be relaxed by this means; the default composition table shall not be automatically expanded.. ; Elements not listed shall not be intentionally added without the purchaser's consent (except additions needed to finish steelmaking); unspecified does not represent zero.. ; This standard is for cold-heading and cold-extrusion, but specific product supply still requires confirmation of dimensions, delivery condition, surface, and performance requirements..

Original condition-branch records

Table 3 default; no separate agreement to add Al.

ElementComposition requirement
C0.17 ~ 0.23
Mn0.7 ~ 1.0
S≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.3 ~ 0.6
Mo0.4 ~ 0.5
Si≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)

Optional Al 0.020–0.050% selected (Table 3, note 3).

ElementComposition requirement
C0.17 ~ 0.23
Mn0.7 ~ 1.0
S≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.3 ~ 0.6
Mo0.4 ~ 0.5
Si≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Al0.02 ~ 0.05

A condition branch must be selected

Yes

Verification notes

DIN EN 10263-3:2018-02, Table 3, row 18 visually checked; German edition adopts EN 10263-3:2017. The placement of B for 16MnCr5/16MnCrB5 follows the German original, not borrowed from the scanned English edition.

20MoCr4 · Ovako Product Catalogue CO-117 ENG 24:07 (2024)

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Bars, tubes, rings and precomponents
Composition basis
Manufacturer typical/nominal values, not guaranteed ranges
Original record status
Manufacturer source verified
Document edition
CO-117 ENG 24:07 ©Ovako 2024
Document title
Ovako Product Catalogue
PDF page references
43
Unit
Interpreted as mass fraction (%) using other documents from the same manufacturer; the unit is not explicitly stated in this table
Analysis type
Typical composition analysis
Manufacturer
Ovako

Source document

Carbon-equivalent reference

Manufacturer typical single values are composition references only; no range estimate is made. They are neither standard guarantees nor measured heat results; Formula applicability requires review against the intended use and process.

IIW / CEV: manufacturer typical/nominal single values are shown for reference only; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): manufacturer typical/nominal single values are shown for reference only; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
CET: manufacturer typical/nominal single values are shown for reference only; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
CTypical/nominal value 0.2 (not a guaranteed range)
SiTypical/nominal value 0.2 (not a guaranteed range)
MnTypical/nominal value 0.8 (not a guaranteed range)
CrTypical/nominal value 0.5 (not a guaranteed range)
MoTypical/nominal value 0.4 (not a guaranteed range)

Applicability and limitations

Ovako 2024 product catalogue, PDF page 43; manufacturer’s typical analysis, for composition reference only. The original header does not explicitly state units; interpreted using the manufacturer’s mass-fraction % information. Neither standard guaranteed values nor measured heat analysis. Excluded from limit-based reverse search and carbon-equivalent calculation; blanks and element names alone in the other-elements field are not filled with 0. Manufacturer code: 124.

Conditional requirement

Verification notes

All 170 rows of the 2021 original table were visually checked. Values in corresponding 2024 cells are unchanged; recognition differences were reviewed separately. Rows with conflicting values under the same code are excluded; values are not mixed across sections.

Source notes

For small-sized bearing and transmission components

20MoCr4 · Ovako Product Catalogue CO-117 ENG 24:07 (2024)

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Bars, tubes, rings and precomponents
Composition basis
Manufacturer typical/nominal values, not guaranteed ranges
Original record status
Manufacturer source verified
Document edition
CO-117 ENG 24:07 ©Ovako 2024
Document title
Ovako Product Catalogue
PDF page references
66
Unit
Interpreted as mass fraction (%) using other documents from the same manufacturer; the unit is not explicitly stated in this table
Analysis type
Typical composition analysis
Manufacturer
Ovako

Source document

Carbon-equivalent reference

Manufacturer typical single values are composition references only; no range estimate is made. They are neither standard guarantees nor measured heat results; Formula applicability requires review against the intended use and process.

IIW / CEV: manufacturer typical/nominal single values are shown for reference only; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): manufacturer typical/nominal single values are shown for reference only; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
CET: manufacturer typical/nominal single values are shown for reference only; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
CTypical/nominal value 0.2 (not a guaranteed range)
SiTypical/nominal value 0.2 (not a guaranteed range)
MnTypical/nominal value 0.8 (not a guaranteed range)
CrTypical/nominal value 0.5 (not a guaranteed range)
MoTypical/nominal value 0.4 (not a guaranteed range)

Applicability and limitations

Ovako 2024 product catalogue, PDF page 66; manufacturer’s typical analysis, for composition reference only. The original header does not explicitly state units; interpreted using the manufacturer’s mass-fraction % information. Neither standard guaranteed values nor measured heat analysis. Excluded from limit-based reverse search and carbon-equivalent calculation; blanks and element names alone in the other-elements field are not filled with 0. Manufacturer code: 124.

Conditional requirement

Verification notes

All 170 rows of the 2021 original table were visually checked. Values in corresponding 2024 cells are unchanged; recognition differences were reviewed separately. Rows with conflicting values under the same code are excluded; values are not mixed across sections.

Source notes

Carburizing steel for heavier sections, available as IQ

20MoCr4 · DIN 17210-1986

Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Reference record
Verification status
Reference data; original source not verified

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV: composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
CET: composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.17 ~ 0.22
Cr0.3 ~ 0.6
Mn0.7 ~ 1
Mo0.4 ~ 0.5
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

A match in the materials database does not establish suitability for cold heading or guarantee finished-product strength. Confirmation must consider wire condition, deformation, heat treatment and tests on actual parts.

20MoCr4 · EN 10263

Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference

Material form
Drawn wire
Verification status
Published on the website; original-source verification pending

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV: composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
CET: composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.17 ~ 0.23
Cr0.3 ~ 0.6
Cu≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Mn0.7 ~ 1
Mo0.4 ~ 0.5
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

Give priority to the published technical page on the Creation Group website. Use local reference ranges only as supplementary composition cross-checks; the applicable standard for that product page, the technical agreement and actual verification take precedence.

View associated products →
WhatsApp Technical enquiry →