← BackMaterial grade directory

1526

5 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.

Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.

Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for 1526 →

1526 · SAE J 403-2001

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
SAE J403 NOV2001
Table / clause
Table2 and the referenced Table1 footnotes
PDF page references
1、4

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:0.4033–0.5233 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2750–0.3600Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3300–0.4300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

Table 2, high-manganese carbon steel SAE1526, UNS G15260, heat analysis wt%. Table 2 covers semi-finished forgings, hot-rolled or cold-finished bars, plate, strip, sheet and seamless tube. Wire rod is not listed in the heading, so suitability for cold-heading wire rod is not established. Si is not a universal mandatory constituent. When required, common bar or semi-finished-product options are ≤.10, .10–.20, .15–.35, .20–.40 and .30–.60%; wire rod additionally has .07–.15%. This record does not select a range without authorization. When Cu is required, ≥.20% is usually specified; this is not a universal Cu maximum or a default requirement. Addition of Pb .15–.35% requires the L designation and a change to UNS. Addition of B .0005–.003% requires the B designation and is not included in ordinary grades. Lower P/S for particular qualities or products requires separate verification under J411; agreed values from later years are not applied. Reporting additional elements does not establish universal limits in this table. Unspecified Si/Cr/Ni/Mo and other elements are not entered as zero. Product-analysis tolerances under J409 require separate verification.

Verification notes

All composition values and referenced footnotes in PDF4, Table 2 were visually checked

1526 · ASTM A29/A29M-2012

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Carbon steel
Subcategory
Carbon steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
ASTM A29/A29M-2012
Table / clause
Table 1, footnotes A–G
PDF page references
1、3、4

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.

Si not otherwise specified in the order; Table 1 does not specify Si, which is not treated as zero
IIW / CEV:0.4033–0.5233 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2750–0.3600Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3300–0.4300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si ≤0.1% under note B
IIW / CEV:0.4033–0.5233 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2750–0.3633 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3300–0.4300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.1–0.2% under note B
IIW / CEV:0.4033–0.5233 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2783–0.3667 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3300–0.4300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.15–0.35% under note B
IIW / CEV:0.4033–0.5233 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2800–0.3717 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3300–0.4300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.2–0.4% under note B
IIW / CEV:0.4033–0.5233 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2817–0.3733 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3300–0.4300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.3–0.6% under note B
IIW / CEV:0.4033–0.5233 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2850–0.3800 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3300–0.4300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Si not otherwise specified in the order; Table 1 does not specify Si, which is not treated as zero;order explicitly specifies Cu≥0.20% under note C
IIW / CEV:≥ 0.4167Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):≥ 0.2850Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:≥ 0.3400Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo, Cr, Ni; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si ≤0.1% under note B;order explicitly specifies Cu≥0.20% under note C
IIW / CEV:≥ 0.4167Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):≥ 0.2850Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:≥ 0.3400Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo, Cr, Ni; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.1–0.2% under note B;order explicitly specifies Cu≥0.20% under note C
IIW / CEV:≥ 0.4167Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):≥ 0.2883Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:≥ 0.3400Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo, Cr, Ni; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.15–0.35% under note B;order explicitly specifies Cu≥0.20% under note C
IIW / CEV:≥ 0.4167Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):≥ 0.2900Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:≥ 0.3400Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo, Cr, Ni; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.2–0.4% under note B;order explicitly specifies Cu≥0.20% under note C
IIW / CEV:≥ 0.4167Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):≥ 0.2917Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:≥ 0.3400Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo, Cr, Ni; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.3–0.6% under note B;order explicitly specifies Cu≥0.20% under note C
IIW / CEV:≥ 0.4167Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):≥ 0.2950Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:≥ 0.3400Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo, Cr, Ni; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

Original 2012 Table 1: ladle composition, mass fraction (wt%); applicability and deviations for product analysis must be checked separately under 4.3 and Table 5. Grade designations and product forms are retained as listed in the standard; cold-heading suitability is not implied. Note B: Si is an order-specific option; if not specified, it is unknown, not zero. Note C: Cu ≥0.20% applies only when ordered; no upper limit is invented, and ordinary orders do not automatically include Cu. Note D: Pb 0.15–0.35% applies only to an expressly designated leaded L grade; Pb is not added automatically to grades without L. Note F: additions of Bi/Ca/Se/Te are determined by agreement between purchaser and supplier; absent a specified value, they are not zero. Note E: boron treatment gives an expected content under specified conditions and is not a uniform B limit for all ordinary grades.

Original condition-branch records

Si not otherwise specified in the order; Table 1 does not specify Si, which is not treated as zero

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)

Order explicitly adopts Si ≤0.1% under note B

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated)

Order explicitly adopts Si 0.1–0.2% under note B

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.1 ~ 0.2

Order explicitly adopts Si 0.15–0.35% under note B

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.15 ~ 0.35

Order explicitly adopts Si 0.2–0.4% under note B

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.2 ~ 0.4

Order explicitly adopts Si 0.3–0.6% under note B

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.3 ~ 0.6

Si not otherwise specified in the order; Table 1 does not specify Si, which is not treated as zero;order explicitly specifies Cu≥0.20% under note C

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≥ 0.2 (upper limit not stated)

Order explicitly adopts Si ≤0.1% under note B;order explicitly specifies Cu≥0.20% under note C

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≥ 0.2 (upper limit not stated)

Order explicitly adopts Si 0.1–0.2% under note B;order explicitly specifies Cu≥0.20% under note C

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.1 ~ 0.2
Cu≥ 0.2 (upper limit not stated)

Order explicitly adopts Si 0.15–0.35% under note B;order explicitly specifies Cu≥0.20% under note C

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
Cu≥ 0.2 (upper limit not stated)

Order explicitly adopts Si 0.2–0.4% under note B;order explicitly specifies Cu≥0.20% under note C

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.2 ~ 0.4
Cu≥ 0.2 (upper limit not stated)

Order explicitly adopts Si 0.3–0.6% under note B;order explicitly specifies Cu≥0.20% under note C

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.3 ~ 0.6
Cu≥ 0.2 (upper limit not stated)

A condition branch must be selected

Yes

Verification notes

The 2012 Table 1 and footnotes have been checked; order-specific optional compositions and base-table limits remain separate.

1526 · Nippon Steel Wire Rods EXE203 2008.3 / SAE J403 NOV.2001

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Carbon steel
Subcategory
Carbon steel
Material form
Wire rod
Original record status
Manufacturer source verified
Document edition
Cat. No. EXE203 2008.3 PDF; cover copyright 2008
Document title
Nippon Steel Wire Rods
Table / clause
Printed page 11, table index 1
PDF page references
7
Unit
Mass fraction (%)
Analysis type
The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table
Manufacturer
NIPPON STEEL CORPORATION

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.

IIW / CEV:0.4033–0.5233Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2750–0.3600Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3300–0.4300Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

Historical Nippon Steel wire-rod catalogue EXE203 2008.3, PDF page 7

printed page 11, SAE J403 NOV.2001. The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table. Manufacturer range data, not guaranteed standard limits or heat-specific measurements; this does not establish supply by Creation Group. Condition: Si follows the agreed options in the original text; no option is selected by default, and the options are not merged into one wider range; If not selected, it is excluded from complete calculations or assessments. ; Pb 0.15–0.35 and B 0.0005–0.0030 are options requiring an additional L/B designation and are not automatically included in ordinary grades in the original table; Special-quality low P/S requires separate verification of the agreement.

Composition conditions

Verification notes

Grouped tables were expanded in full and checked against original images and notes. Ordinary, residual and conditional elements are kept separate; suffix tables lacking complete base-steel composition are excluded.

1526 · ASTM A29/A29M-2023

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Carbon steel
Subcategory
Carbon steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
ASTM A29/A29M-2023
Table / clause
Table 1, footnotes A–G
PDF page references
5
Unit
Mass fraction (wt%)
Analysis type
Heat analysis (composition ranges and limits in the original table)

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.

Si not otherwise specified in the order; Table 1 does not specify Si, which is not treated as zero
IIW / CEV:0.4033–0.5233 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2750–0.3600Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3300–0.4300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si ≤0.1% under Table 1 note B
IIW / CEV:0.4033–0.5233 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2750–0.3633 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3300–0.4300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.1–0.2% under Table 1 note B
IIW / CEV:0.4033–0.5233 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2783–0.3667 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3300–0.4300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.15–0.35% under Table 1 note B
IIW / CEV:0.4033–0.5233 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2800–0.3717 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3300–0.4300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.2–0.4% under Table 1 note B
IIW / CEV:0.4033–0.5233 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2817–0.3733 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3300–0.4300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.3–0.6% under Table 1 note B
IIW / CEV:0.4033–0.5233 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2850–0.3800 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3300–0.4300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Si not otherwise specified in the order; Table 1 does not specify Si, which is not treated as zero;order explicitly specifies Cu≥0.20% under note C
IIW / CEV:≥ 0.4167Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):≥ 0.2850Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:≥ 0.3400Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo, Cr, Ni; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si ≤0.1% under Table 1 note B;order explicitly specifies Cu≥0.20% under note C
IIW / CEV:≥ 0.4167Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):≥ 0.2850Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:≥ 0.3400Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo, Cr, Ni; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.1–0.2% under Table 1 note B;order explicitly specifies Cu≥0.20% under note C
IIW / CEV:≥ 0.4167Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):≥ 0.2883Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:≥ 0.3400Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo, Cr, Ni; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.15–0.35% under Table 1 note B;order explicitly specifies Cu≥0.20% under note C
IIW / CEV:≥ 0.4167Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):≥ 0.2900Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:≥ 0.3400Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo, Cr, Ni; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.2–0.4% under Table 1 note B;order explicitly specifies Cu≥0.20% under note C
IIW / CEV:≥ 0.4167Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):≥ 0.2917Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:≥ 0.3400Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo, Cr, Ni; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.3–0.6% under Table 1 note B;order explicitly specifies Cu≥0.20% under note C
IIW / CEV:≥ 0.4167Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):≥ 0.2950Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:≥ 0.3400Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo, Cr, Ni; Cu has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

ASTM A29/A29M-2023 original Table 1: base entries are ladle-analysis mass fraction wt%; product-analysis tolerances are checked separately under 4.3 and Table 5, not added to ladle limits. Orders by Table 1 grade must meet its ladle limits under 4.1.1; other ordered chemistries are separately agreed under 4.1.2 and Tables 3/4 and must not be mixed into this table. General hot-wrought bar requirements do not, by chemistry alone, establish cold-heading suitability, supply or mechanical properties. Note B: the Si range is a common option only when required by the order; Si is unspecified by default, not a universal range or zero. Note C: Cu≥0.20% applies only when expressly required by the order and has no added upper limit. Note D: leaded steel Pb is 0.15–0.35%; retain L as part of the grade identity, not ordinary grades. If lead is added to the ladle stream, its cast or ladle-analysis value cannot be determined. Note F: Bi/Ca/Se/Te are specified by buyer-supplier agreement; do not enter zero when no value is given. Note E: only for expressly specified boron treatment of killed steel, expected B is 0.0005–0.003%; where usual Ti addition is not permitted, up to 0.005% may be expected. These are not mandatory B limits for all ordinary grades.

Original condition-branch records

Si not otherwise specified in the order; Table 1 does not specify Si, which is not treated as zero

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)

Order explicitly adopts Si ≤0.1% under Table 1 note B

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated)

Order explicitly adopts Si 0.1–0.2% under Table 1 note B

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.1 ~ 0.2

Order explicitly adopts Si 0.15–0.35% under Table 1 note B

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.15 ~ 0.35

Order explicitly adopts Si 0.2–0.4% under Table 1 note B

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.2 ~ 0.4

Order explicitly adopts Si 0.3–0.6% under Table 1 note B

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.3 ~ 0.6

Si not otherwise specified in the order; Table 1 does not specify Si, which is not treated as zero;order explicitly specifies Cu≥0.20% under note C

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≥ 0.2 (upper limit not stated)

Order explicitly adopts Si ≤0.1% under Table 1 note B;order explicitly specifies Cu≥0.20% under note C

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≥ 0.2 (upper limit not stated)

Order explicitly adopts Si 0.1–0.2% under Table 1 note B;order explicitly specifies Cu≥0.20% under note C

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.1 ~ 0.2
Cu≥ 0.2 (upper limit not stated)

Order explicitly adopts Si 0.15–0.35% under Table 1 note B;order explicitly specifies Cu≥0.20% under note C

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
Cu≥ 0.2 (upper limit not stated)

Order explicitly adopts Si 0.2–0.4% under Table 1 note B;order explicitly specifies Cu≥0.20% under note C

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.2 ~ 0.4
Cu≥ 0.2 (upper limit not stated)

Order explicitly adopts Si 0.3–0.6% under Table 1 note B;order explicitly specifies Cu≥0.20% under note C

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.3 ~ 0.6
Cu≥ 0.2 (upper limit not stated)

A condition branch must be selected

Yes

Verification notes

Existing OCR of the four-page, 190-row original 2023 table was parsed cell by cell. All values were screened for differences against independent 2012 data and checked against the original 2023 images and footnotes; no values were filled from the older edition.

1526 · SAE J403-2014

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Carbon steel
Subcategory
Carbon steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
SAE J403-2014
Table / clause
Table 2
PDF page references
6
Unit
Mass fraction (wt%)
Analysis type
Cast or heat analysis

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.

Long products: semi-finished forgings, hot-rolled or cold-finished bars and seamless tube (the heading of Table 2 does not list wire rod); Residual B (default unless separately agreed)
IIW / CEV:0.4033–0.6153Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2750–0.3957Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, V, B; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3300–0.4697 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges, not measured heat results; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Long products: semi-finished forgings, hot-rolled or cold-finished bars and seamless tube (the heading of Table 2 does not list wire rod); Residual A
IIW / CEV:0.4033–0.5920Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2750–0.3848Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, V, B; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3300–0.4585 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges, not measured heat results; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Long products: semi-finished forgings, hot-rolled or cold-finished bars and seamless tube (the heading of Table 2 does not list wire rod); Residual C
IIW / CEV:0.4033–0.6607Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2750–0.4097Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, V, B; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3300–0.4870 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges, not measured heat results; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Long products: semi-finished forgings, hot-rolled or cold-finished bars and seamless tube (the heading of Table 2 does not list wire rod); Residual D (no limit, but reporting is required)
IIW / CEV:0.4033–0.5233Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2750–0.3600Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3300–0.4300Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Flat products: plate, strip and sheet (the intersection of the heading of Table 2 and the scope in note 1); Residual B (default unless separately agreed)
IIW / CEV:0.4033–0.6153Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2750–0.3957Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, V, B; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3300–0.4697 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges, not measured heat results; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Flat products: plate, strip and sheet (the intersection of the heading of Table 2 and the scope in note 1); Residual C
IIW / CEV:0.4033–0.6607Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2750–0.4097Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, V, B; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3300–0.4870 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges, not measured heat results; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Flat products: plate, strip and sheet (the intersection of the heading of Table 2 and the scope in note 1); Residual D (no limit, but reporting is required)
IIW / CEV:0.4033–0.5233Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2750–0.3600Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3300–0.4300Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Cr≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Mo≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

Original SAE J403 Revised JUN2014 Table 2 cast or heat-analysis mass fractions wt%; Product-analysis tolerances are applied separately under SAE J409; J409 is not used to widen this table. UNS G15260 and SAE 1526 are names directly listed on the same row of this table; other standards or editions are not conflated with this edition. Where residual elements are not specified separately, the default is B; A/B/C is selected for the corresponding form or agreement; D has no tabulated limit, but the quantity of Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo must still be reported and is not treated as zero. To demonstrate compliance with the table, Cu/Cr/Ni/Mo/Si must be reported in addition to C/Mn/P/S; Below 0.02%, the original document permits reporting as <0.02%; this is neither a universal maximum nor zero. P/S conditions for flat and long products must be selected separately; the wider maxima must not be combined; 1006/1008 Mn is selected by form under Table 1, note 6/7. Si is specified only by agreement in the order; Common wire-rod options are ≤0.10, 0.07–0.15, 0.10–0.20, 0.15–0.35, 0.20–0.40 and 0.30–0.60%; The common 0.07–0.15 option is not listed for other products. Contract values must be checked against product form; no fixed Si is entered without agreement. Ordinary grades in this table do not automatically include Pb or B. Separately leaded or boron-treated grades require the L/B designation and the corresponding UNS; the original Pb0.15–0.35% and B0.0005–0.003% apply to that treatment condition and are not included in ordinary steel. The heading of Table 2 does not include wire rod, welded tube or sections; General table-note definitions or the RODS silicon option do not extend the product scope of Table 2. Residual A conditions for flat products require separate agreement; No value is provided for that condition in this batch, so it is excluded from selectable calculations and automatic reverse-matching branches. Long-product A and the remaining source-supported branches are retained separately. 3.1 and Table 6 require reporting of C/Mn/P/S/Si/Al/Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo/Nb(Cb)/Ti/V/B/N; As/Sb is additionally reported when requested by the purchaser. Si/Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo below 0.02% may be reported as <0.02%; Nb/Ti/V below 0.008% may be reported as <0.008%. These are reporting thresholds, not general composition maxima; they are not used to insert zeros or invent limits.

Original condition-branch records

Long products: semi-finished forgings, hot-rolled or cold-finished bars and seamless tube (the heading of Table 2 does not list wire rod); Residual B (default unless separately agreed)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Cr≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Mo≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated)

Long products: semi-finished forgings, hot-rolled or cold-finished bars and seamless tube (the heading of Table 2 does not list wire rod); Residual A

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Cr≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated)
Mo≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated)

Long products: semi-finished forgings, hot-rolled or cold-finished bars and seamless tube (the heading of Table 2 does not list wire rod); Residual C

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated)
Cr≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
Mo≤ 0.12 (lower limit not stated)

Long products: semi-finished forgings, hot-rolled or cold-finished bars and seamless tube (the heading of Table 2 does not list wire rod); Residual D (no limit, but reporting is required)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)

Flat products: plate, strip and sheet (the intersection of the heading of Table 2 and the scope in note 1); Residual B (default unless separately agreed)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Cr≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Mo≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated)

Flat products: plate, strip and sheet (the intersection of the heading of Table 2 and the scope in note 1); Residual C

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated)
Cr≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
Mo≤ 0.12 (lower limit not stated)

Flat products: plate, strip and sheet (the intersection of the heading of Table 2 and the scope in note 1); Residual D (no limit, but reporting is required)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.22 ~ 0.29
Mn1.1 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)

A condition branch must be selected

Yes

Verification notes

The original 2014 text was checked across four tables and 79 rows, including composition cells, product-form columns, UNS designations and notes; sources and distinct order conditions are retained separately.
WhatsApp Technical enquiry →