← BackMaterial grade directory

1117

8 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.

Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.

Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for 1117 →

1117 · SAE J 403-2001

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
SAE J403 NOV2001
Table / clause
Table3A and footnotes
PDF page references
1、4、5

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:0.3067–0.4167 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1900–0.2650Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2400–0.3300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.14 ~ 0.2
Mn1 ~ 1.3
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13

Applicability and limitations

Table 3A: SAE1117 corresponds to UNS G11170; heat analysis, wt%. Resulfurized/rephosphorized free-cutting steels: machinability characteristics do not establish cold-heading suitability, and no cold-heading product is added automatically. Addition of Pb requires the L designation and corresponding UNS. In this record, only 12L14 uses the explicitly listed Pb .15–.35%; other ordinary grades do not include Pb. Mandatory element reporting does not establish universal limits. Unspecified elements are not assigned zero; product-analysis deviations under J409 require separate verification. When Si is specified, common wire-rod options are ≤.10, .10–.20 or .15–.35%. Bars/semi-finished products follow the notes to Table 1; wire-rod ranges do not apply automatically.

Verification notes

All composition values and footnotes in PDF5, Table 3A/3B were visually checked

1117 · ASTM A29/A29M-2012

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Carbon steel
Subcategory
Carbon steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
ASTM A29/A29M-2012
Table / clause
Table 1, footnotes A–G
PDF page references
1、3、4

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.

Si not otherwise specified in the order; Table 1 does not specify Si, which is not treated as zero
IIW / CEV:0.3067–0.4167 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1900–0.2650Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2400–0.3300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si ≤0.1% under note B
IIW / CEV:0.3067–0.4167 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1900–0.2683 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2400–0.3300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.1–0.2% under note B
IIW / CEV:0.3067–0.4167 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1933–0.2717 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2400–0.3300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.15–0.35% under note B
IIW / CEV:0.3067–0.4167 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1950–0.2767 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2400–0.3300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.2–0.4% under note B
IIW / CEV:0.3067–0.4167 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1967–0.2783 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2400–0.3300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.3–0.6% under note B
IIW / CEV:0.3067–0.4167 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2000–0.2850 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2400–0.3300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.14 ~ 0.2
Mn1.0 ~ 1.3
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13

Applicability and limitations

2012 original text Table 1 heat analysis mass fraction wt%; The applicability and deviations of product analysis must be separately confirmed according to 4.3 and Table 5. Grades and product forms are retained as listed in this standard; suitability for cold heading is not automatically guaranteed. The Si listed in Note B is an option to be specified in the order; Unknown when unspecified, do not fill as zero. Note D only specifies Pb 0.15–0.35% for lead-bearing 'L' grades; Standard grades without 'L' shall not automatically include Pb. Note F: Additions of Bi/Ca/Se/Te are subject to agreement between the supplier and purchaser; do not enter zero when no value is specified..

Original condition-branch records

Si not otherwise specified in the order; Table 1 does not specify Si, which is not treated as zero

ElementComposition requirement
C0.14 ~ 0.2
Mn1.0 ~ 1.3
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13

Order explicitly adopts Si ≤0.1% under note B

ElementComposition requirement
C0.14 ~ 0.2
Mn1.0 ~ 1.3
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13
Si≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated)

Order explicitly adopts Si 0.1–0.2% under note B

ElementComposition requirement
C0.14 ~ 0.2
Mn1.0 ~ 1.3
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13
Si0.1 ~ 0.2

Order explicitly adopts Si 0.15–0.35% under note B

ElementComposition requirement
C0.14 ~ 0.2
Mn1.0 ~ 1.3
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13
Si0.15 ~ 0.35

Order explicitly adopts Si 0.2–0.4% under note B

ElementComposition requirement
C0.14 ~ 0.2
Mn1.0 ~ 1.3
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13
Si0.2 ~ 0.4

Order explicitly adopts Si 0.3–0.6% under note B

ElementComposition requirement
C0.14 ~ 0.2
Mn1.0 ~ 1.3
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13
Si0.3 ~ 0.6

A condition branch must be selected

Yes

Verification notes

The 2012 Table 1 and footnotes have been checked; order-specific optional compositions and base-table limits remain separate.

1117 · Kobe Steel manufacturer specification (section 6-21)

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Carbon steel
Subcategory
Free-cutting steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Manufacturer source verified
Document edition
Publication edition not stated in the document
Document title
Wire rod and bar specification tables
Table / clause
6-21
PDF page references
36
Unit
Mass fraction (wt%)
Manufacturer
Kobe Steel

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.

IIW / CEV:0.3067–0.4167 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1900–0.2650Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2400–0.3300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.14 ~ 0.2
Mn1.0 ~ 1.3
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13

Applicability and limitations

Original composition for free-cutting steel in the Kobe Steel catalogue, section 6-21 (PDF page 36), mass fractions wt%; This is not the original JIS/SAE standard. Actual supply and process applicability require separate confirmation.

Composition conditions

Verification notes

Chemical values checked cell by cell against the manufacturer original table; columns joined during extraction in Section 6-17 were additionally checked manually against the original image.

1117 · POSCO wire rod catalogue (local archive 1203; original edition not stated)

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Free-cutting steel
Subcategory
Free-cutting steel
Material form
Wire rod
Original record status
Manufacturer source verified
Document edition
Local file 1203 (wire-rod pdf); the original does not state a publication edition; PDF metadata 2014-12-03 is only the file generation time
Document title
Wire rod
Table / clause
Printed page 19, composition table 4 (local table index)
PDF page references
10
Unit
Percentages as stated in the original table; refer to the source for the specific basis
Analysis type
The catalog does not consistently specify heat or product analysis
Manufacturer
POSCO

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.

IIW / CEV:0.3067–0.4167 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1900–0.2650Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2400–0.3300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.14 ~ 0.2
Mn1.0 ~ 1.3
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13

Applicability and limitations

Locally held POSCO wire rod catalogue, PDF page 10

printed page 19, table index 3, row 3. The original edition number is not stated. The PDF creation date 2014-12-03 is not a standard publication year. Manufacturer range data do not constitute our company’s supply guarantee.

Composition conditions

Verification notes

The original PDF tables and text coordinates were reconciled in both directions. Missing grade cells were restored; merged cells, footers and remarks were checked separately. Tables with identified disputes and rows without composition data are withheld.

1117 · Nippon Steel Wire Rods EXE203 2008.3 / SAE J403 NOV.2001

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Free-cutting steel
Subcategory
Free-cutting steel
Material form
Wire rod
Original record status
Manufacturer source verified
Document edition
Cat. No. EXE203 2008.3 PDF; cover copyright 2008
Document title
Nippon Steel Wire Rods
Table / clause
Printed page 11, table index 2
PDF page references
7
Unit
Mass fraction (%)
Analysis type
The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table
Manufacturer
NIPPON STEEL CORPORATION

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.

IIW / CEV:0.3067–0.4167Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1900–0.2650Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2400–0.3300Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.14 ~ 0.2
Mn1.0 ~ 1.3
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13

Applicability and limitations

Historical Nippon Steel wire-rod catalogue EXE203 2008.3, PDF page 7

printed page 11, SAE J403 NOV.2001. The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table. Manufacturer range data, not guaranteed standard limits or heat-specific measurements; this does not establish supply by Creation Group. Condition: Si follows the agreed options in the original text; no option is selected by default, and the options are not merged into one wider range; If not selected, it is excluded from complete calculations or assessments. ; Pb 0.15–0.35 and B 0.0005–0.0030 are options requiring an additional L/B designation and are not automatically included in ordinary grades in the original table; Special-quality low P/S requires separate verification of the agreement.

Composition conditions

Verification notes

Grouped tables were expanded in full and checked against original images and notes. Ordinary, residual and conditional elements are kept separate; suffix tables lacking complete base-steel composition are excluded.

1117 · CHINA STEEL CORPORATION · Bars and Wire Rods Product Catalogue 2014-C1 / 7.1.17 SAE · High-manganese steels / Free-cutting steels (Edition unspecified)

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Free-cutting steel
Subcategory
Free-cutting steel
Material form
Bars and wire rod
Original record status
Manufacturer source verified
Document edition
CAT.NO.3-BD-01-2014-C1 (stated on the back cover)
Document title
Bars and Wire Rods Product Catalogue
Table / clause
7.1.17 SAE · High-manganese steels / Free-cutting steels (Edition unspecified)
PDF page references
24
Unit
Mass fraction (%)
Analysis type
The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table
Manufacturer
CHINA STEEL CORPORATION

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.

IIW / CEV:0.3067–0.4167Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1900–0.2650Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2400–0.3300Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni; ordering or conditional requirements remain unresolved CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.14 ~ 0.2
Mn1.0 ~ 1.3
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13

Applicability and limitations

China Steel Bar and Wire Rod Catalog CAT.NO.3-BD-01-2014-C1, PDF page 24/printed page 22, 7.1.17 SAE High Manganese/Free-Cutting Steels (edition not specified). The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table. Historical manufacturer range data, not guaranteed standard limits or heat-specific measurements; this does not establish supply by Creation Group. Condition: Si is selected by agreement; bar and wire-rod options are retained separately.; Ordinary grades in the original table shall not automatically include B addition. Cu is typically ≥0.20% when required; it is not the default Cu lower limit for all steel grades.

Composition conditions

Verification notes

Merged cells in all 28 catalogue tables were reconstructed geometrically, with no missing cells. Original images, continuation pages and notes are recorded; disputed conditions are withheld.

1117 · ASTM A29/A29M-2023

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Carbon steel
Subcategory
Carbon steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
ASTM A29/A29M-2023
Table / clause
Table 1, footnotes A–G
PDF page references
4
Unit
Mass fraction (wt%)
Analysis type
Heat analysis (composition ranges and limits in the original table)

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.

Si not otherwise specified in the order; Table 1 does not specify Si, which is not treated as zero
IIW / CEV:0.3067–0.4167 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1900–0.2650Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2400–0.3300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si ≤0.1% under Table 1 note B
IIW / CEV:0.3067–0.4167 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1900–0.2683 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2400–0.3300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.1–0.2% under Table 1 note B
IIW / CEV:0.3067–0.4167 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1933–0.2717 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2400–0.3300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.15–0.35% under Table 1 note B
IIW / CEV:0.3067–0.4167 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1950–0.2767 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2400–0.3300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.2–0.4% under Table 1 note B
IIW / CEV:0.3067–0.4167 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1967–0.2783 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2400–0.3300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Order explicitly adopts Si 0.3–0.6% under Table 1 note B
IIW / CEV:0.3067–0.4167 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2000–0.2850 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2400–0.3300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.14 ~ 0.2
Mn1.0 ~ 1.3
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13

Applicability and limitations

Original ASTM A29/A29M-2023, Table 1: the basic table gives heat-analysis mass fractions wt%; Product-analysis tolerances require separate confirmation under 4.3 and Table 5 and are not added to heat-analysis limits. When 4.1.1 is ordered by a grade in this table, the corresponding heat-analysis limits must be met; Other ordered compositions require separate agreement under 4.1.2 and Table 3/4 and are not merged into this table. General requirements for hot-worked bars; chemistry alone does not establish cold-heading suitability, supply or mechanical properties. The Si ranges in note B are common options when required by the order; Default Si is unspecified; neither a universal Si range nor zero may be assumed. Note D: Pb for leaded steel is 0.15–0.35%; L must remain part of the grade identity and is not included in ordinary grades; If lead is added in the ladle stream, its cast or heat-analysis content cannot be determined. Note F: Bi/Ca/Se/Te is specified by purchaser-supplier agreement; Unspecified numerical values are not entered as zero. The 4.3.2 product-analysis tolerance restrictions for P and S do not apply to resulfurized or rephosphorized/resulfurized steels; Product-analysis tolerances are not added to heat-analysis limits.

Original condition-branch records

Si not otherwise specified in the order; Table 1 does not specify Si, which is not treated as zero

ElementComposition requirement
C0.14 ~ 0.2
Mn1.0 ~ 1.3
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13

Order explicitly adopts Si ≤0.1% under Table 1 note B

ElementComposition requirement
C0.14 ~ 0.2
Mn1.0 ~ 1.3
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13
Si≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated)

Order explicitly adopts Si 0.1–0.2% under Table 1 note B

ElementComposition requirement
C0.14 ~ 0.2
Mn1.0 ~ 1.3
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13
Si0.1 ~ 0.2

Order explicitly adopts Si 0.15–0.35% under Table 1 note B

ElementComposition requirement
C0.14 ~ 0.2
Mn1.0 ~ 1.3
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13
Si0.15 ~ 0.35

Order explicitly adopts Si 0.2–0.4% under Table 1 note B

ElementComposition requirement
C0.14 ~ 0.2
Mn1.0 ~ 1.3
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13
Si0.2 ~ 0.4

Order explicitly adopts Si 0.3–0.6% under Table 1 note B

ElementComposition requirement
C0.14 ~ 0.2
Mn1.0 ~ 1.3
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13
Si0.3 ~ 0.6

A condition branch must be selected

Yes

Verification notes

Existing OCR of the four-page, 190-row original 2023 table was parsed cell by cell. All values were screened for differences against independent 2012 data and checked against the original 2023 images and footnotes; no values were filled from the older edition.

1117 · SAE J403-2014

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Carbon steel
Subcategory
Free-cutting carbon steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
SAE J403-2014
Table / clause
Table 3A
PDF page references
7
Unit
Mass fraction (wt%)
Analysis type
Cast or heat analysis

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.

Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual B (default unless separately agreed)
IIW / CEV:0.3067–0.5087Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1900–0.3007Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2400–0.3698 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual A
IIW / CEV:0.3067–0.4853Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1900–0.2898Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2400–0.3585 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual C
IIW / CEV:0.3067–0.5540Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1900–0.3147Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2400–0.3870 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual D (no limit, but reporting is required)
IIW / CEV:0.3067–0.4167 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1900–0.2650Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2400–0.3300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.14 ~ 0.2
Mn1.0 ~ 1.3
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Cr≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Mo≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

SAE J403 Revised JUN2014 Table 3A: original cast or heat analysis, mass fraction wt%. Product-analysis deviations are addressed separately under SAE J409; J409 is not used to widen this table's limits. UNS G11170 and SAE 1117 are names directly listed in the same row of this table; other standards or editions are not treated as this edition. Unless residual elements are otherwise specified, the default is B. A/B/C is selected for the applicable product form/agreement. No limit is listed for D, but the amount of Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo must still be reported; it is not treated as zero. To demonstrate table compliance, Cu/Cr/Ni/Mo/Si must be reported in addition to C/Mn/P/S. A value below 0.02% may be reported as <0.02% as specified in the source; this is neither a universal upper limit nor zero. Table 3A/3B covers forged semi-finished products, bars, wire rod and seamless tubes of free-cutting carbon steels; it is not presented as universal composition requirements for flat products. Retain the two-sided P/S range in this row. V0.04–0.08% for 11V41 is an explicit row requirement; ordinary 11xx does not include V. Si is normally not specified for 12xx to avoid impairing machinability. Unspecified Si remains unknown and must be reported under 3.1, not treated as zero. Pb is included only in the row for 12L14; ordinary 1212/1213/1215 does not include Pb. The identities L and UNS G12144 are retained. A free-cutting application does not establish cold-heading suitability; delivery, project-specific processing and supply require separate confirmation. 3.1 and Table 6 require reporting C/Mn/P/S/Si/Al/Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo/Nb(Cb)/Ti/V/B/N; As/Sb is also reported when requested by the purchaser. Si/Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo below 0.02% may be reported as <0.02%, and Nb/Ti/V below 0.008% as <0.008%. These are reporting thresholds, not universal composition maxima; they do not justify filling in zero or an unspecified limit.

Original condition-branch records

Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual B (default unless separately agreed)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.14 ~ 0.2
Mn1.0 ~ 1.3
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Cr≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Mo≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated)

Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual A

ElementComposition requirement
C0.14 ~ 0.2
Mn1.0 ~ 1.3
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13
Cu≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Cr≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated)
Mo≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated)

Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual C

ElementComposition requirement
C0.14 ~ 0.2
Mn1.0 ~ 1.3
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13
Cu≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated)
Cr≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
Mo≤ 0.12 (lower limit not stated)

Semi-finished forgings / bars / wire rod / seamless tube; Residual D (no limit, but reporting is required)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.14 ~ 0.2
Mn1.0 ~ 1.3
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S0.08 ~ 0.13

A condition branch must be selected

Yes

Verification notes

The original 2014 text was checked across four tables and 79 rows, including composition cells, product-form columns, UNS designations and notes; sources and distinct order conditions are retained separately.
WhatsApp Technical enquiry →