← BackMaterial grade directory

T9

1 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.

Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.

Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for T9 →

Material demand assessment

Looking for T9 material?

Not listed in our catalog? You are welcome to submit your requirements. We assess whether our equipment, production lines and process capabilities suit your grade, product form, dimensions, processing and delivery requirements, then discuss possible processing, trials or supply arrangements.

Feasibility and supply terms are confirmed after technical review. The standard information on this page is not a supply or performance commitment.

Explore products and processing capabilities

T9 · GB/T 1298-2008

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Tool steels
Material form
Carbon tool steel (source classification)
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
GB/T 1298-2008
Table / clause
Main text: Table 1, row 4 / Table 2
PDF page references
5
Unit
Mass fraction (%)
Analysis type
Ladle analysis

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:0.8500–1.1307 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.8500–1.0153Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.8500–1.0300 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.85 ~ 0.94
Mn≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Cr≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
W≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
Mo≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
V≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

GB/T 1298—2008, main-text Table 1, row 4 and Table 2; heat-analysis composition, mass fraction %. This record covers quality steel without the A suffix. Higher-quality steel requires suffix A and its own P≤0.030% and S≤0.020% limits, which must not be applied to this default record. Residual Cu, Ni, Cr and their total for steel intended for lead-patented wire have separate limits, to be verified against the original notes to Table 2. Table 3: Brinell hardness in the annealed condition ≤192 HBW. Cold-drawn after annealing ≤241 HBW and Rockwell hardness of the table-specified quenched specimen ≥62 HRC depend on delivery, specimen and process conditions. These are original-clause references, not unconditional property guarantees for every product of this grade.

Verification notes

Main-text Table 1, row 4 and Table 2 of the original 2008 checked row by row
WhatsApp Technical enquiry →