← BackMaterial grade directory

SWRM12

6 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.

Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.

Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for SWRM12 →

Material demand assessment

Looking for SWRM12 material?

Related catalog information is available. New material and processing requirements are also welcome. We assess whether our equipment, production lines and process capabilities suit your grade, product form, dimensions, processing and delivery requirements, then discuss possible processing, trials or supply arrangements.

Feasibility and supply terms are confirmed after technical review. The standard information on this page is not a supply or performance commitment.

Explore products and processing capabilities

SWRM12 · JIS G3505

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material form
Wire rod
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
JIS G 3505:2017
Table / clause
Clause5/Table1 and AnnexJA.1-JA.3
PDF page references
5、6、8
Unit
Mass fraction (wt%)
Analysis type
Heat analysis

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:0.1500–0.2500 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1150–0.1800Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.1300–0.2100 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.1 ~ 0.15
Mn0.3 ~ 0.6
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

Verify against the actual Japanese original Table 1 and normative Annex JA of JIS G3505:2017; heat analysis mass fraction wt%. The standard applies to mild steel wire rod for further processing into products such as iron wire and galvanized iron wire; electrode core wire rod is excluded.; Not automatically equivalent to special cold-heading steel. The applicable year is not specified for products on the website; The composition reference version for this item is 2017; this does not prove that the applicable year of the product contract has been confirmed. C and Mn for SWRM6/8 have only upper limits; unspecified lower limits shall not be added; Si and elements not listed in the table shall not be entered as 0; they shall not be intentionally added except for the purpose of finishing steelmaking; B addition by agreement shall follow JA.3. Add K to the end of the grade when killed steel is specified; K denotes deoxidation conditions; do not independently prescribe Al or Si content.. SWRM2/4 shall be adopted only per JA.1 agreement; SWRM17M/20M shall only have Mn changed to 0.60—0.90% per JA.2 agreement; the Mn range for ordinary 17/20 shall not be automatically expanded. When B is added per JA.3 agreement, B ≤ 70ppm, i.e., 0.007wt%; B content and B/N must be reported simultaneously. B/N for 2/4/6/8/10/12 is 0.4—1.8, and for 15/17/20/22 is 0.4—0.9. Compliance with the agreed conditions shall not be determined solely by satisfying the B upper limit; this upper limit shall not be applied if B is not agreed. The current composition table shows the default range without B addition; Agreed B/N must be verified separately in conjunction with the actual measured values of B and N for the heat; unspecified values for N shall not be entered as 0, nor shall B-suffix grades without original text basis be generated. Standard nominal diameters include 6.4mm; do not erroneously enter 6.5mm; Tolerances and diameter deviations for diameters > 25mm shall be per agreement; stricter precision per JA.4 must be separately agreed.

Verification notes

JIS G3505:2017, Table 1 and the JA low-carbon, high-manganese and deoxidation designations have been checked; Agreed addition of B requires separate verification of B/N.View associated products →

SWRM12 · JIS G 3505-2004

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Carbon steel
Material form
Low-carbon mild-steel wire rod
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
JIS G 3505:2004
Table / clause
Clauses 3 and 4, main-text Table 1, and notes
PDF page references
3、4
Unit
Mass fraction (wt%)
Analysis type
Heat analysis

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:0.1500–0.2500 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1150–0.1800Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.1300–0.2100 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.1 ~ 0.15
Mn0.3 ~ 0.6
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

JIS G 3505:2004: clause 3/4 and main-text Table 1 of the Japanese original list SWRM12 mild steel wire rod; heat analysis, mass fraction wt%. Main-text Table 1 lists only C, Mn, P and S. Si is unlisted; values are not borrowed from another edition or treated as 0. Note to Table 1: when killed steel is specified, add suffix K, for example SWRM10K. K is an order-condition suffix; the eight grades are not all assumed to be killed steel by default. Annex 1/2 addresses special qualities and corresponding ISO conditions requiring agreement; informative or agreed provisions are not treated as default delivery guarantees. Historical edition 2004 is displayed separately and does not establish edition 2017 or current actual supply.

Verification notes

All eight rows in the original Japanese JIS G 3505:2004, main-text Table 1 were checked cell by cell; K is specified only as killed steel

SWRM12 · POSCO wire rod catalogue (local archive 1203; original edition not stated)

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Carbon steel
Subcategory
Carbon steel
Material form
Wire rod
Original record status
Manufacturer source verified
Document edition
Local file 1203 (wire-rod pdf); the original does not state a publication edition; PDF metadata 2014-12-03 is only the file generation time
Document title
Wire rod
Table / clause
Printed page 14, composition table 1 (local table index)
PDF page references
8
Unit
Percentages as stated in the original table; refer to the source for the specific basis
Analysis type
The catalog does not consistently specify heat or product analysis
Manufacturer
POSCO

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.

IIW / CEV:0.1500–0.2500 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1150–0.1800Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.1300–0.2100 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.1 ~ 0.15
Mn0.3 ~ 0.6
P≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

POSCO local wire rod catalogue, PDF page 8

printed page 14, table index 0, row 4. The original edition number is not stated; the PDF creation date 2014-12-03 is not the standard publication year. Manufacturer range information does not constitute our supply guarantee. Table note: killed steel may have K appended to the symbol, for example SWRM10K. Original main grades are retained; all K aliases are not automatically expanded.

Composition conditions

Verification notes

The original PDF tables and text coordinates were reconciled in both directions. Missing grade cells were restored; merged cells, footers and remarks were checked separately. Tables with identified disputes and rows without composition data are withheld.

SWRM12 · Nippon Steel Wire Rods EXE203 2008.3 / JIS G3505-2004

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Carbon steel
Subcategory
Carbon steel
Material form
Wire rod
Original record status
Manufacturer source verified
Document edition
Cat. No. EXE203 2008.3 PDF; cover copyright 2008
Document title
Nippon Steel Wire Rods
Table / clause
Printed page 13, table index 1
PDF page references
8
Unit
Mass fraction (%)
Analysis type
The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table
Manufacturer
NIPPON STEEL CORPORATION

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.

IIW / CEV:0.1500–0.2500 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1150–0.1800Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.1300–0.2100 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.1 ~ 0.15
Mn0.3 ~ 0.6
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

Historical Nippon Steel wire-rod catalogue EXE203 2008.3, PDF page 8

printed page 13, JIS G3505-2004. The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table. Manufacturer range data, not guaranteed standard limits or heat-specific measurements; this does not establish supply by Creation Group. Condition: suffix K may be added for killed steel; individual K grades have not been created automatically.

Composition conditions

Verification notes

Grouped tables were expanded in full and checked against original images and notes. Ordinary, residual and conditional elements are kept separate; suffix tables lacking complete base-steel composition are excluded.

SWRM12 · CHINA STEEL CORPORATION · Bars and Wire Rods Product Catalogue 2014-C1 / 7.1.5 JIS G3505 (Edition unspecified)

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Carbon steel
Subcategory
Carbon steel
Material form
Bars and wire rod
Original record status
Manufacturer source verified
Document edition
CAT.NO.3-BD-01-2014-C1 (stated on the back cover)
Document title
Bars and Wire Rods Product Catalogue
Table / clause
7.1.5 JIS G3505 (Edition unspecified)
PDF page references
14
Unit
Mass fraction (%)
Analysis type
The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table
Manufacturer
CHINA STEEL CORPORATION

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.

IIW / CEV:0.1500–0.2500 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1150–0.1800Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.1300–0.2100 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.1 ~ 0.15
Mn0.3 ~ 0.6
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

CSC bars and wire rods catalogue CAT.NO.3-BD-01-2014-C1, PDF page 14

printed page 12; clause 7.1.5 cites JIS G3505 (edition not stated). The original catalogue does not specify the analysis type for this table. Historical manufacturer scope data; neither standard guaranteed values nor measured heat analysis, and not evidence of supply by our company.

Composition conditions

Verification notes

Merged cells in all 28 catalogue tables were reconstructed geometrically, with no missing cells. Original images, continuation pages and notes are recorded; disputed conditions are withheld.

SWRM12 · JIS G3505 (FHS catalogue; referenced year not stated)

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Carbon steel
Subcategory
Carbon steel
Material form
Wire rod
Original record status
Manufacturer source verified
Document edition
Catalog edition not stated; archived original
Document title
FHS Wire Rod Product Manual (English edition)
PDF page references
6
Unit
wt.%
Analysis type
Analysis type not specified
Manufacturer
Formosa Ha Tinh Steel Corporation (FHS)

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.

IIW / CEV:0.1500–0.2500 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1150–0.1800Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.1300–0.2100 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.1 ~ 0.15
Mn0.3 ~ 0.6
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

Archived manufacturer FHS catalogue; edition and referenced-standard year are not stated; PDF page 6

printed page 5, 3.1.2. Chemical composition wt.%, analysis type not stated; not guaranteed standard limits or heat-specific measurements; Missing entries are not filled with 0.

Composition conditions

Verification notes

Original table cells and applicable footnotes checked; residual-element limits were not borrowed across clauses.
WhatsApp Technical enquiry →