← BackMaterial grade directory

SWCHB331

2 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.

Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.

Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for SWCHB331 →

SWCHB331 · JIS G3508

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material form
Wire rod
Original record status
Reference transcription of standard
Standard edition
JIS G 3508-2:2005 → JIS G 3508-1:2010
Table / clause
Table 2

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:0.3967–0.5800Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo, V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):≥ 0.3223Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo, V; B has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3500–0.4700Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.28 ~ 0.34
Si0.1 ~ 0.35
Mn0.7 ~ 1.0
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
B≥ 0.0008 (upper limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Cr≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

The lower bound for B may be relaxed to 0.0005% by agreement; the lower bound for Si may be below 0.10% by agreement. Composition applies to raw material SWRCHB331. Clause 4 of G3508-2:2005 references G3508-1. The website does not state an edition; the source edition is displayed here without establishing contractual applicability.

Verification notes

Source standard: JIS G 3508-2:2005 → JIS G 3508-1:2010 · Table 2View associated products →

SWCHB331 · JIS G 3508-2-2005

Wire naming, citation relationships, and listed historical version compositions have been verified; Confirm separately the contract-applicable editions of undated references

Material category
Boron steels
Material form
Boron-steel wire for cold heading (SWCHB)
Verification status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
JIS G 3508-1:2005 (material reference in JIS G 3508-2:2005, Clause 4)
Table / clause
Part 1, main-text Table 2 and footnotes; Part 2, main-text Table 1 and note 1—2
PDF page references
3、4、5、6
Unit
Mass fraction (wt%)
Analysis type
Heat analysis

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.

Main-text Table 2 of 2005 gives default composition: B≥0.0008%, Si0.10—0.35%
IIW / CEV: composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
CET: composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
Only when Table 2, note 2 is adopted by agreement: B≥0.0005%; Si remains within the default range, and any low-Si agreement must be checked separately.
IIW / CEV: composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
CET: composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated

Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.28 ~ 0.34
Si0.1 ~ 0.35
Mn0.7 ~ 1
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
B≥ 0.0008 (upper limit not stated)
Cr≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

The original Japanese edition JIS G 3508-2:2005, main-text Table 1 lists SWCHB331 wire; The corresponding wire-rod designation is SWRCHB331, omitting R under Table 1, note 1; these two product forms are not merged. ; Main-text Table 1 permits only process DA; D means cold working completed; DA combines cold working and annealing; mechanical values in Table 2/3 must be distinguished by process. ; Clause 4 for this wire references JIS G 3508-1 as the material standard; composition is transcribed from the verified original main-text Table 1/2 in Part 1 of the actual 2005 edition; This is not an independent chemical-composition table in the second part. ; Default B minimum ≥0.0008%; ≥0.0005% applies only by agreement between both parties; Low Si applies only by agreement; agreed limits must not be treated as defaults. ; Mechanical properties in Table 2/3 must be viewed under the separate process and wire-diameter conditions; Decarburization, spheroidization, dimensional and surface requirements are not replaced by this mechanical-table verification; actual supply requires separate confirmation. ; Clause 2 of the second part is an undated reference, pointing to the latest applicable edition; The composition currently shown follows only the obtained and verified historical first-part text from 2005; equivalence with other editions is not established.

Conditional requirement

Original condition-branch records

Main-text Table 2 of 2005 gives default composition: B≥0.0008%, Si0.10—0.35%

ElementComposition requirement
C0.28 ~ 0.34
Si0.1 ~ 0.35
Mn0.7 ~ 1
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
B≥ 0.0008 (upper limit not stated)
Cr≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)

Only when Table 2, note 2 is adopted by agreement: B≥0.0005%; Si remains within the default range, and any low-Si agreement must be checked separately.

ElementComposition requirement
C0.28 ~ 0.34
Si0.1 ~ 0.35
Mn0.7 ~ 1
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
B≥ 0.0005 (upper limit not stated)
Cr≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Subject to agreement
Yes

A condition branch must be selected

Yes

Verification notes

Wire designations in second-part main-text Table 1 and the material reference in Clause 4 have been checked; Composition comes from the original main-text Table 2 in the first part of the same edition

Mechanical properties applicable to wire process and wire diameter

JIS G 3508-2:2005 · Table 2 Process D, Table 3 Process DA and Notes 1/2; Clause 6 and 10.1/10.2 · PDF pages 4, 6

Actual process and wire diameterUpper limit of tensile strength Rm (MPa)Lower limit of reduction of area Z (%)Reference hardness HRB (not a guarantee for acceptance)
Process: DA; 0<d≤3 mm; HRB≤94 is reference only, not a hardness-acceptance guarantee. The original d≤3 does not specify reduction of area.≤ 630 (lower limit not stated)Not specified in the original source; do not substitute 0≤ 94 (for reference only)
Process: DA; 3<d<20 mm; HRB≤94 is reference only, not a hardness-acceptance guarantee≤ 630 (lower limit not stated)≥ 55 (upper limit not stated)≤ 94 (for reference only)
DA process; d≥20 mm. HRB≤94 is for reference only and is not a hardness acceptance guarantee. The reference to Table 2 in footnote DA d≥20 is unresolved; reduction of area is withheld and cannot be assessed automatically against 50% or 40%.≤ 630 (lower limit not stated)Doubts regarding original footnote citations; pending≤ 94 (for reference only)
WhatsApp Technical enquiry →