SUM25
4 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for SUM25 →SUM25 · JIS G4804
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Wire rod
- Original record status
- Reference transcription of standard
- Standard edition
- JIS G 4804:2008
- Table / clause
- Table 1
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.9 ~ 1.4 |
| P | 0.07 ~ 0.12 |
| S | 0.3 ~ 0.4 |
Applicability and limitations
JIS G 4804:2008; Heat analysis, mass percent; See the original page for table notes and applicability conditions. No edition is stated on the website; Displayed under this source edition; contract applicability is not established
Verification notes
Standard source: JIS G 4804:2008 · Table 1View associated products →SUM25 · JIS G 4804:2008
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Free-cutting steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- JIS G 4804:2008
- Table / clause
- Table 1 · Notes a–d
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Heat analysis; Si is unspecified
Heat analysis; Agreed Si≤0.10%
Heat analysis; Agreed Si0.10–0.20%
Heat analysis; Agreed Si0.15–0.35%
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.9 ~ 1.4 |
| P | 0.07 ~ 0.12 |
| S | 0.3 ~ 0.4 |
Applicability and limitations
Table 1 mass fraction %, default is heat analysis. ; Note a: Si is not specified; it may be agreed to use ≤0.10%, 0.10–0.20%, 0.15–0.35%, etc.; The listed items are not the only possible agreed ranges. ; Note b: Without agreement between both parties, elements not specified shall not be intentionally added for purposes other than to finish steelmaking; Blank entries must not be treated as zero. ; Note c: Only SUM22/SUM22L may have an agreed Mn upper limit of 1.10%. ; Note d: For lead-bearing steels, when the purchaser requests Pb product analysis, Pb 0.07–0.35%; Do not use this lower limit to replace heat analysis 0.10%. ; The composition of high-sulfur free-cutting steel does not equate to suitability for cold heading; plasticity and part processes must be verified independently.
Original condition-branch records
Heat analysis; Si is unspecified
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.9 ~ 1.4 |
| P | 0.07 ~ 0.12 |
| S | 0.3 ~ 0.4 |
Heat analysis; Agreed Si≤0.10%
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.9 ~ 1.4 |
| P | 0.07 ~ 0.12 |
| S | 0.3 ~ 0.4 |
| Si | ≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated) |
Heat analysis; Agreed Si0.10–0.20%
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.9 ~ 1.4 |
| P | 0.07 ~ 0.12 |
| S | 0.3 ~ 0.4 |
| Si | 0.1 ~ 0.2 |
Heat analysis; Agreed Si0.15–0.35%
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.9 ~ 1.4 |
| P | 0.07 ~ 0.12 |
| S | 0.3 ~ 0.4 |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
A condition branch must be selected
YesVerification notes
Original Japanese PDF4, Table 1 and all footnotes have been checkedSUM25 · POSCO wire rod catalogue (local archive 1203; original edition not stated)
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Free-cutting steel
- Subcategory
- Free-cutting steel
- Material form
- Wire rod
- Original record status
- Manufacturer source verified
- Document edition
- Local file 1203 (wire-rod pdf); the original does not state a publication edition; PDF metadata 2014-12-03 is only the file generation time
- Document title
- Wire rod
- Table / clause
- Printed page 19, composition table 2 (local table index)
- PDF page references
- 10
- Unit
- Percentages as stated in the original table; refer to the source for the specific basis
- Analysis type
- The catalog does not consistently specify heat or product analysis
- Manufacturer
- POSCO
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.9 ~ 1.4 |
| P | 0.07 ~ 0.12 |
| S | 0.26 ~ 0.35 |
Applicability and limitations
POSCO local wire rod catalogue, PDF page 10
printed page 19, table index 1, row 6. The original edition number is not stated; the PDF creation date 2014-12-03 is not the standard publication year. Manufacturer range information does not constitute our supply guarantee. Table notes generally do not specify Si; an upper limit or listed range may be agreed. Without agreed conditions, Si remains unspecified.
Composition conditions
- Original catalog chemical composition table %, wire rod; Editions of JIS/SAE/DIN were not provided; catalog data shall not be upgraded to the verified official editions of these standards.
- Dashes are not zero; cast/product analysis types are not consistently explicit. Orders, product-analysis deviations and actual supply require separate verification.
- In principle, Si is not specified in the table notes; an upper limit or the listed range may be selected by agreement; Si remains unspecified when no agreement conditions are provided.
Verification notes
The original PDF tables and text coordinates were reconciled in both directions. Missing grade cells were restored; merged cells, footers and remarks were checked separately. Tables with identified disputes and rows without composition data are withheld.SUM25 · Nippon Steel Wire Rods EXE203 2008.3 / JIS G4804-1999
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Free-cutting steel
- Subcategory
- Free-cutting steel
- Material form
- Wire rod
- Original record status
- Manufacturer source verified
- Document edition
- Cat. No. EXE203 2008.3 PDF; cover copyright 2008
- Document title
- Nippon Steel Wire Rods
- Table / clause
- Printed page 19, table index 2
- PDF page references
- 11
- Unit
- Mass fraction (%)
- Analysis type
- The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table
- Manufacturer
- NIPPON STEEL CORPORATION
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.15 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.9 ~ 1.4 |
| P | 0.07 ~ 0.12 |
| S | 0.3 ~ 0.4 |
Applicability and limitations
Historical Nippon Steel wire-rod catalogue EXE203 2008.3, PDF page 11
printed page 19, JIS G4804-1999. The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table. Manufacturer range data, not guaranteed standard limits or heat-specific measurements; this does not establish supply by Creation Group. Condition: Si follows the agreed options in the original text; no option is selected by default, and the options are not merged into one wider range; If not selected, it is excluded from complete calculations or assessments.
Composition conditions
- Original catalogue mass percentages, historical manufacturer data from 2008.3; Referenced standard names and editions follow the original document; this does not establish that the official texts of those standards have been obtained and verified.
- A dash or blank must not be treated as 0; only chemical composition has been checked in this batch. Mechanical properties and actual supply require separate verification under the applicable conditions.
- Si follows the agreed options in the original text; no option is selected by default, and the options are not merged into one wider range; If not selected, it is excluded from complete calculations or assessments.