SNCM220HRCH
3 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for SNCM220HRCH →SNCM220HRCH · JIS G 3509-1-2021
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Alloy steel
- Subcategory
- Alloy steel
- Material form
- Low-alloy steel wire rod for cold heading; HRCH category with hardenability requirements
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- JIS G 3509-1:2021
- Table / clause
- Clause 4/Table 1; Clause 6/Table 2, including the residual Cu note
- PDF page references
- 6、7、8
- Unit
- Mass fraction (wt%)
- Analysis type
- Heat analysis
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.17 ~ 0.23 |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.95 |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | 0.35 ~ 0.75 |
| Cr | 0.35 ~ 0.65 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.3 |
Applicability and limitations
Based on Table 1/2 of the official Japanese original version of JIS G3509-1:2021, heat analysis mass fraction wt%; This record covers feedstock wire rod; it does not automatically establish the delivery properties or supply of processed WCH wire.. Ordinary RCH, hardenability-guaranteed HRCH, and agreed H1/H2 shall be recorded separately; Chemical ranges for H-class shall follow independent rows in this edition and shall not be automatically widened based on ordinary compositions. Cu≤0.30% for all grades in the table; Do not enter 0 for Mo marked with a dash or for unlisted elements; they must not be intentionally added except as needed to finish steelmaking.; Al addition for grain refinement shall be by agreement. Si is 0.15—0.35% by default; lower limits below 0.15% are adopted by agreement only; This record retains the default range; agreed Si values require separate verification against the actual specified values.. Product analysis deviations shall be verified separately according to the referenced JIS G0321 Table 4; heat limits shall not be treated as product analysis limits. Clause 7.1 applies only when specified by the purchaser. Average ferritic/total decarburized-layer depths: d≤15mm, ≤0.02/0.12mm; 15<d≤25mm, ≤0.02/0.15mm; 25<d≤32mm, ≤0.02/0.20mm; 32<d≤40mm, ≤0.03/0.25mm; 40<d≤50mm, ≤0.03/0.30mm; d>50mm, subject to agreement.. Clause 7.2: Non-metallic inclusion requirements apply only when specified by the purchaser. Use Table 4 of this edition and the corresponding JIS G0555 cleanliness methods; do not automatically equate these with ASTM E45.. Default surface defect depth ≤ 0.10mm; Stricter surface and dimensional accuracy shall be per agreement. This grade of HRCH includes hardenability guarantee requirements, to be verified at specified distances according to 7.3 and Table 8-29; The original hardness values at each distance have been verified and incorporated. Select the actual hardenability conditions below; the chemical table alone does not establish overall compliance..
Verification notes
The 2021 official Japanese Table 2, separate composition rows and Cu table note checked; distinct HRCH and ordinary RCH composition ranges retained.Jominy end-quench hardenability (conditional requirements)
JIS G3509-1:2021 · JIS G3509-1:2021 original Japanese text · Table 28, 7.3, 9.2.3 · PDF pages 9, 11, 12, 34
- 7.3: Corresponding HRCH grades shall be verified against the HRC boundaries of the distances specified in the original table of the main text.
- Horizontal lines in the original table are retained where upper and lower limits are not specified; Missing items shall not be treated as 0, and no automatic interpolation or extrapolation shall be performed for unlisted distances.
- 7.3/JA.1: Distances not listed in the original table may refer to the original diagram, but upper and lower limits must be separately agreed upon by the supplier and the buyer; diagram lines are not automatic acceptance values.
- 9.2.3b allows interpolation between adjacent actual test results under agreement; This does not authorize interpolation for boundaries not listed in the standard.
- 9.2.3a: Prepare specimens and conduct tests according to JIS G0561; the test unit consists of the same heat, with at least 1 specimen; When there are no other requirements from the buyer, the number of specimens shall be determined by the manufacturer.
- The terms denote specimen normalizing and specimen quenching, respectively; the temperatures are specimen test conditions, not production process recommendations.; Temperature tolerances are not listed in this document; do not arbitrarily add ± values.
- HRC is the hardness at a specified distance for end-quenched specimens; it does not represent the overall hardness of the finished product, supply capability, or part performance.
- H1/H2 values shall be read directly from the original table in the appendix; do not recalculate using the 75% formula or correct the source table values.
HRCH main-text hardenability band (7.3)
End-quench test temperature 925 °C (tolerance not stated in the source); Specimen normalizing temperature 925.0 °C (tolerance not listed in source document); This is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.
| Distance from quenched end (mm) | Lower limit (HRC) | Upper limit (HRC) |
|---|---|---|
| 1.5 | 41 | 48 |
| 3.0 | 37 | 47 |
| 5 | 30 | 44 |
| 7 | 25 | 40 |
| 9 | 22.0 | 35.0 |
| 11 | 20 | 32 |
| 13.0 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 30 |
| 15 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 29.0 |
| 20 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 26.0 |
| 25 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 24.0 |
| 30.0 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 23.0 |
| 35 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 23 |
| 40 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 23 |
| 45 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 22.0 |
| 50 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 22 |
SNCM220HRCH · JIS G 3509-1-2003
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Alloy steel
- Material form
- Low-alloy steel wire rod for cold heading (RCH/HRCH)
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- JIS G 3509-1:2003
- Table / clause
- Main text: Table 1, steel designations and notes 1–2; Table 2, ladle analysis and note (1)/notes 1–3
- PDF page references
- 7、8
- Unit
- Mass fraction (wt%)
- Analysis type
- Heat analysis
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.17 ~ 0.23 |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.95 |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | 0.35 ~ 0.75 |
| Cr | 0.35 ~ 0.65 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.3 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
The original English edition JIS G 3509-1:2003, main-text Table 1, lists SNCM220HRCH as nickel-chromium-molybdenum steel; the product form in this record is low-alloy steel wire rod for cold heading. ; Main-text Table 2 gives heat-analysis mass percentages; The default Si is 0.15–0.35%; a lower bound below 0.15% requires purchaser-supplier agreement and is not the default minimum. ; Main-text Table 2, remark 1: impurity requirement Cu≤0.30% applies to all grades; Remark 2: grain-refining Al is added only by agreement; Product-analysis tolerances follow JIS G 0321, Table 4, only when agreed between the parties. ; Actual grades in this edition are displayed separately from later editions such as 2005/2010/2021; the historical edition does not establish current-standard requirements or actual supply. ; Table 1, remark 1: HRCH is a hardenability-guarantee category; The specific hardenability band and order conditions require separate verification; chemical composition is not treated as delivery hardness.
Verification notes
2003: Tables 1 and 2 in the body of the original English edition checked row by row; grade SNCM220HRCHSNCM220HRCH · CHINA STEEL CORPORATION · Bars and Wire Rods Product Catalogue 2014-C1 / 7.1.8 JIS G3509-1 (continued table)
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Cold-heading steel
- Subcategory
- Cold-heading steel
- Material form
- Bars and wire rod
- Original record status
- Manufacturer source verified
- Document edition
- CAT.NO.3-BD-01-2014-C1 (stated on the back cover)
- Document title
- Bars and Wire Rods Product Catalogue
- Table / clause
- 7.1.8 JIS G3509-1 (continued table)
- PDF page references
- 17
- Unit
- Mass fraction (%)
- Analysis type
- The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table
- Manufacturer
- CHINA STEEL CORPORATION
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.17 ~ 0.23 |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.95 |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | 0.35 ~ 0.75 |
| Cr | 0.35 ~ 0.65 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.3 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
China Steel bar and wire-rod catalogue CAT.NO.3-BD-01-2014-C1, PDF page 17
printed page 15, 7.1.8 JIS G3509-1 (continued table). The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table. Historical manufacturer range data, not guaranteed standard limits or heat-specific measurements; this does not establish supply by Creation Group. Condition, note spanning pages: the Si minimum may be reduced below 0.15 by agreement, and Al may be added for grain refinement; Currently follows the Si range in the main table; no Al limit is inserted without a source.
Composition conditions
- Historical manufacturer 2014-C1 catalogue, bars/wire rod; Where the referenced standard edition is not identified, a year is not borrowed from another catalogue; a catalogue is not upgraded to the official standard text.
- A dash or blank must not be treated as zero. Composition data do not establish completeness or applicability of a formula; mechanical properties and supply require separate verification.
- Continuation-page note: by agreement, Si lower limit may be below 0.15 and Al may be added for grain refinement; this record retains the main-table Si range and does not infer an Al limit.