← BackMaterial grade directory

SM520B

2 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.

Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.

Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for SM520B →

SM520B · JIS G 3106-2020

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Carbon steel
Subcategory
Carbon steel
Material form
Hot-rolled structural steel (plate, sheet, strip, sections and flat bars; forms and thicknesses subject to conditions)
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
JIS G 3106:2020
Table / clause
Clause 4/Table 1; Clause 5/Table 2 notes a-c; Annex JA/Table JA.1 notes a-c
PDF page references
9、10、19
Unit
Mass fraction (wt%)
Analysis type
Heat analysis

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.

Table 2: ordinary applicable products, thickness ≤100 mm; See the scope note for Table 1 for flat-bar limits
IIW / CEV:0.0000–0.4750 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.0000–0.3008 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.0000–0.3650 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Table JA.1: only plate agreed between purchaser and supplier, 100 mm < thickness ≤ 150 mm; the upper limit for Mn must be agreed in the contract.
IIW / CEV:0.0000–0.2000Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mn, Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.0000–0.2183Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mn, Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.0000–0.2000Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mn, Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)

ElementComposition requirement
C≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Mn≤ 1.65 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 0.55 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

Actually based on JIS G3106:2020 Clause 5 Table 2 and Normative Annex JA Table JA.1; composition is heat analysis mass fraction wt%; The original text of the 2024 edition has not yet been verified; compliance of the new edition shall not be confirmed based on this. Applicable to hot-rolled steel for welded structures; Check the thickness of plates, strips, sections and flat bars separately against Table 1; hot-extruded sections are also subject to Annex JC. This does not constitute a supply guarantee for cold-heading wire.. Please select the thickness and whether it belongs to thick steel plates agreed upon by both the supplier and the purchaser; Ordinary thickness Table 2 and agreed thick plate Table JA.1 shall not be used interchangeably. Dashes and unlisted elements in the table do not mean zero content; additions may be made where necessary.; Do not calculate the complete carbon equivalent based on missing items. For SM400A, evaluate Mn against Mn≥2.5×C using measured C from the same heat; do not use the C upper limit to invent a fixed Mn lower limit.. The upper limit of Mn for agreed thick plates in Annex JA must be stipulated by both the supplier and the purchaser; For SM400B, only Mn≥0.60% is additionally provided; the 1.50% upper limit for ordinary thickness shall not be used. Ceq in this standard uses the JIS-specific formula; The IIW/CEV, Pcm, and CET tools on the website are for engineering estimation within the noted applicable range only, and do not replace the heat treatment, thickness, and agreement requirements of this standard. The JSA corrigendum dated 2021-5 changed explanatory text; it did not change the chemical limits in Table 2 or Table JA.1 reviewed in this batch..

Original condition-branch records

Table 2: ordinary applicable products, thickness ≤100 mm; See the scope note for Table 1 for flat-bar limits

ElementComposition requirement
C≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Mn≤ 1.65 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 0.55 (lower limit not stated)
Combined limits

Table JA.1: only plate agreed between purchaser and supplier, 100 mm < thickness ≤ 150 mm; the upper limit for Mn must be agreed in the contract.

ElementComposition requirement
C≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
MnNot listed; must not be treated as 0
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 0.55 (lower limit not stated)
Combined limits
Conditional requirements in the source
  • Footnote
    JA.1-b
    Source conditions
    Plate supplied only by purchaser-supplier agreement; The Mn maximum requires separate purchaser-supplier agreement; that contractual maximum is currently unavailable, so reverse matching or calculation cannot establish complete conformity with the agreed composition.
    Automatic evaluation implemented
    No

A condition branch must be selected

Yes

Verification notes

Edition 2020, Table 2 and all 11 grades in JA.1, thickness branches and footnotes have been checked; View after selecting the applicable condition.

SM520B · Q/BQB 130-2003

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Carbon steel
Subcategory
Slab steels
Material form
Rough-rolled slabs for rerolling
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
Q/BQB 130—2003
Table / clause
4.1.1, Table 3 and notes 1–3
PDF page references
3、4
Unit
Mass fraction (wt%)
Analysis type
Heat analysis

Source document

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.

G deoxidation method; applicable finished plate thickness 1.4–9 mm
IIW / CEV:0.2700–0.4433 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1650–0.2883 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2100–0.3500 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
G deoxidation method; applicable finished plate thickness >9–12 mm
IIW / CEV:0.2433–0.4167 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1217–0.2500 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.1700–0.3100 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.12 ~ 0.21
Si≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Mn0.9 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
Nb≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

Q/BQB 130—2003 is a standard for slabs produced by initial rolling for subsequent rerolling. The finished plate thickness in Table 3 means the plate thickness after rerolling the slab, not slab thickness or wire diameter. Table 3 gives ladle analysis in mass fraction wt%; C = capped steel, A = aluminium-killed steel, G = aluminium-silicon-killed steel, K = silicon-killed steel. Read the applicable condition row; unlisted elements are not assumed to be zero. Note 3 to Table 3 requires slabs for thick plate (finished thickness ≥15 mm) to use G aluminium-silicon-killed steel; buyer and supplier must verify applicability of rows involving other deoxidation methods. Product-analysis tolerances for killed steel are separately governed by GB/T 222 and must not be mixed with Table 3 ladle-analysis values.

Original condition-branch records

G deoxidation method; applicable finished plate thickness 1.4–9 mm

ElementComposition requirement
C0.12 ~ 0.21
Si≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Mn0.9 ~ 1.4
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
Nb≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Combined limits
PDF page references in the source
3
Source table row number
18

G deoxidation method; applicable finished plate thickness >9–12 mm

ElementComposition requirement
C0.06 ~ 0.15
Si0.2 ~ 0.6
Mn1.1 ~ 1.6
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
Nb≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Combined limits
PDF page references in the source
3
Source table row number
19

A condition branch must be selected

Yes

Verification notes

Baosteel original Table 3, merged cells and notes checked row by row; select conditions by deoxidation method and finished-product thickness.
WhatsApp Technical enquiry →