SM400A
7 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for SM400A →SM400A · JIS G 3106-2024
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Carbon steel
- Material form
- Hot-rolled structural steel (plate, sheet, strip, sections and flat bars; forms and thicknesses subject to conditions)
- Original record status
- Historical-edition reference
- Standard edition
- JIS G 3106:2020
- Table / clause
- Clause 4/Table 1; Clause 5/Table 2 notes a-c; Annex JA/Table JA.1 notes a-c
- PDF page references
- 9、10、19
- Unit
- Mass fraction (wt%)
- Analysis type
- Heat analysis
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Table 2: ordinary applicable products, thickness ≤50 mm
Table 2: ordinary applicable products, 50 mm < thickness ≤200 mm
Table JA.1: only plate agreed between purchaser and supplier, 200 mm < thickness ≤ 450 mm; the upper limit for Mn must be agreed in the contract.
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.23 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | Not listed; must not be treated as 0 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Actually based on JIS G3106:2020 Clause 5 Table 2 and Normative Annex JA Table JA.1; composition is heat analysis mass fraction wt%; The original text of the 2024 edition has not yet been verified; compliance of the new edition shall not be confirmed based on this. Applicable to hot-rolled steel for welded structures; Check the thickness of plates, strips, sections and flat bars separately against Table 1; hot-extruded sections are also subject to Annex JC. This does not constitute a supply guarantee for cold-heading wire.. Please select the thickness and whether it belongs to thick steel plates agreed upon by both the supplier and the purchaser; Ordinary thickness Table 2 and agreed thick plate Table JA.1 shall not be used interchangeably. Dashes and unlisted elements in the table do not mean zero content; additions may be made where necessary.; Do not calculate the complete carbon equivalent based on missing items. For SM400A, evaluate Mn against Mn≥2.5×C using measured C from the same heat; do not use the C upper limit to invent a fixed Mn lower limit.. The upper limit of Mn for agreed thick plates in Annex JA must be stipulated by both the supplier and the purchaser; For SM400B, only Mn≥0.60% is additionally provided; the 1.50% upper limit for ordinary thickness shall not be used. Ceq in this standard uses the JIS-specific formula; The IIW/CEV, Pcm, and CET tools on the website are for engineering estimation within the noted applicable range only, and do not replace the heat treatment, thickness, and agreement requirements of this standard. The JSA corrigendum dated 2021-5 changed explanatory text; it did not change the chemical limits in Table 2 or Table JA.1 reviewed in this batch..
Combined limits
- Elements requiring measured values from the same heat
- Mn
- Combined-element limits
- Element coefficient
- Mn
- 1
- C
- -2.5
- Lower limit
- 0
- Requirement
- Heat analysis from the same heat, Mn≥2.5×C
Original condition-branch records
Table 2: ordinary applicable products, thickness ≤50 mm
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.23 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | Not listed; must not be treated as 0 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
- Combined limits
- Elements requiring measured values from the same heat
- Mn
- Combined-element limits
- Element coefficient
- Mn
- 1
- C
- -2.5
- Lower limit
- 0
- Requirement
- Heat analysis from the same heat, Mn≥2.5×C
Table 2: ordinary applicable products, 50 mm < thickness ≤200 mm
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | Not listed; must not be treated as 0 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
- Combined limits
- Elements requiring measured values from the same heat
- Mn
- Combined-element limits
- Element coefficient
- Mn
- 1
- C
- -2.5
- Lower limit
- 0
- Requirement
- Heat analysis from the same heat, Mn≥2.5×C
Table JA.1: only plate agreed between purchaser and supplier, 200 mm < thickness ≤ 450 mm; the upper limit for Mn must be agreed in the contract.
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | Not listed; must not be treated as 0 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
- Combined limits
- Elements requiring measured values from the same heat
- Mn
- Combined-element limits
- Element coefficient
- Mn
- 1
- C
- -2.5
- Lower limit
- 0
- Requirement
- Heat analysis from the same heat, Mn≥2.5×C
- Conditional requirements in the source
- Footnote
- JA.1-b
- Source conditions
- Plate supplied only by purchaser-supplier agreement; The Mn maximum requires separate purchaser-supplier agreement; that contractual maximum is currently unavailable, so reverse matching or calculation cannot establish complete conformity with the agreed composition.
- Automatic evaluation implemented
- No
A condition branch must be selected
YesVerification notes
Currently using the original text of the 2020 official old edition; 2024 edition not verified. Please first select thickness and agreed thick plate conditions.SM400A · Q/BQB 130-2003
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Carbon steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- Q/BQB 130—2003
- Table / clause
- 4.1.1, Table 3 and notes 1–3
- PDF page references
- 3、4
- Unit
- Mass fraction (wt%)
- Analysis type
- Heat analysis
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
G deoxidation method; applicable finished plate thickness ≤6 mm
G deoxidation method; applicable finished plate thickness >6–16 mm
A deoxidation method; applicable finished plate thickness >6–12.7 mm; Al is total aluminium Al_t
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.05 ~ 0.14 |
| Si | 0.1 ~ 0.35 |
| Mn | 0.5 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Q/BQB 130—2003 is a standard for slabs produced by initial rolling for subsequent rerolling. The finished plate thickness in Table 3 means the plate thickness after rerolling the slab, not slab thickness or wire diameter. Table 3 gives ladle analysis in mass fraction wt%; C = capped steel, A = aluminium-killed steel, G = aluminium-silicon-killed steel, K = silicon-killed steel. Read the applicable condition row; unlisted elements are not assumed to be zero. Note 3 to Table 3 requires slabs for thick plate (finished thickness ≥15 mm) to use G aluminium-silicon-killed steel; buyer and supplier must verify applicability of rows involving other deoxidation methods. Product-analysis tolerances for killed steel are separately governed by GB/T 222 and must not be mixed with Table 3 ladle-analysis values.
Original condition-branch records
G deoxidation method; applicable finished plate thickness ≤6 mm
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.05 ~ 0.14 |
| Si | 0.1 ~ 0.35 |
| Mn | 0.5 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
- Combined limits
- PDF page references in the source
- 3
- Source table row number
- 2
G deoxidation method; applicable finished plate thickness >6–16 mm
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.12 ~ 0.21 |
| Si | 0.04 ~ 0.3 |
| Mn | 0.45 ~ 0.95 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
- Combined limits
- PDF page references in the source
- 3
- Source table row number
- 3
A deoxidation method; applicable finished plate thickness >6–12.7 mm; Al is total aluminium Al_t
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.1 ~ 0.19 |
| Si | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 1.1 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| Al | ≥ 0.01 (upper limit not stated) |
- Combined limits
- PDF page references in the source
- 3
- Source table row number
- 4
A condition branch must be selected
YesVerification notes
Baosteel original Table 3, merged cells and notes checked row by row; select conditions by deoxidation method and finished-product thickness.SM400A · JIS G 3106-2020
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Carbon steel
- Material form
- Hot-rolled structural steel (plate, sheet, strip, sections and flat bars; forms and thicknesses subject to conditions)
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- JIS G 3106:2020
- Table / clause
- Clause 4/Table 1; Clause 5/Table 2 notes a-c; Annex JA/Table JA.1 notes a-c
- PDF page references
- 9、10、19
- Unit
- Mass fraction (wt%)
- Analysis type
- Heat analysis
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Table 2: ordinary applicable products, thickness ≤50 mm
Table 2: ordinary applicable products, 50 mm < thickness ≤200 mm
Table JA.1: only plate agreed between purchaser and supplier, 200 mm < thickness ≤ 450 mm; the upper limit for Mn must be agreed in the contract.
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.23 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | Not listed; must not be treated as 0 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Actually based on JIS G3106:2020 Clause 5 Table 2 and Normative Annex JA Table JA.1; composition is heat analysis mass fraction wt%; The original text of the 2024 edition has not yet been verified; compliance of the new edition shall not be confirmed based on this. Applicable to hot-rolled steel for welded structures; Check the thickness of plates, strips, sections and flat bars separately against Table 1; hot-extruded sections are also subject to Annex JC. This does not constitute a supply guarantee for cold-heading wire.. Please select the thickness and whether it belongs to thick steel plates agreed upon by both the supplier and the purchaser; Ordinary thickness Table 2 and agreed thick plate Table JA.1 shall not be used interchangeably. Dashes and unlisted elements in the table do not mean zero content; additions may be made where necessary.; Do not calculate the complete carbon equivalent based on missing items. For SM400A, evaluate Mn against Mn≥2.5×C using measured C from the same heat; do not use the C upper limit to invent a fixed Mn lower limit.. The upper limit of Mn for agreed thick plates in Annex JA must be stipulated by both the supplier and the purchaser; For SM400B, only Mn≥0.60% is additionally provided; the 1.50% upper limit for ordinary thickness shall not be used. Ceq in this standard uses the JIS-specific formula; The IIW/CEV, Pcm, and CET tools on the website are for engineering estimation within the noted applicable range only, and do not replace the heat treatment, thickness, and agreement requirements of this standard. The JSA corrigendum dated 2021-5 changed explanatory text; it did not change the chemical limits in Table 2 or Table JA.1 reviewed in this batch..
Combined limits
- Elements requiring measured values from the same heat
- Mn
- Combined-element limits
- Element coefficient
- Mn
- 1
- C
- -2.5
- Lower limit
- 0
- Requirement
- Heat analysis from the same heat, Mn≥2.5×C
Original condition-branch records
Table 2: ordinary applicable products, thickness ≤50 mm
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.23 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | Not listed; must not be treated as 0 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
- Combined limits
- Elements requiring measured values from the same heat
- Mn
- Combined-element limits
- Element coefficient
- Mn
- 1
- C
- -2.5
- Lower limit
- 0
- Requirement
- Heat analysis from the same heat, Mn≥2.5×C
Table 2: ordinary applicable products, 50 mm < thickness ≤200 mm
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | Not listed; must not be treated as 0 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
- Combined limits
- Elements requiring measured values from the same heat
- Mn
- Combined-element limits
- Element coefficient
- Mn
- 1
- C
- -2.5
- Lower limit
- 0
- Requirement
- Heat analysis from the same heat, Mn≥2.5×C
Table JA.1: only plate agreed between purchaser and supplier, 200 mm < thickness ≤ 450 mm; the upper limit for Mn must be agreed in the contract.
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | Not listed; must not be treated as 0 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
- Combined limits
- Elements requiring measured values from the same heat
- Mn
- Combined-element limits
- Element coefficient
- Mn
- 1
- C
- -2.5
- Lower limit
- 0
- Requirement
- Heat analysis from the same heat, Mn≥2.5×C
- Conditional requirements in the source
- Footnote
- JA.1-b
- Source conditions
- Plate supplied only by purchaser-supplier agreement; The Mn maximum requires separate purchaser-supplier agreement; that contractual maximum is currently unavailable, so reverse matching or calculation cannot establish complete conformity with the agreed composition.
- Automatic evaluation implemented
- No
A condition branch must be selected
YesVerification notes
Edition 2020, Table 2 and all 11 grades in JA.1, thickness branches and footnotes have been checked; View after selecting the applicable condition.SM400A · JIS G 3106-2008
Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Carbon steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Verification status
- Reference data; original source not verified
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.23 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
A match in the materials database does not establish suitability for cold heading or guarantee finished-product strength. Confirmation must consider wire condition, deformation, heat treatment and tests on actual parts.
SM400A · Q/ASB 271-2017
Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Carbon steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Verification status
- Reference data; original source not verified
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.23 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| N | ≤ 0.008 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
A match in the materials database does not establish suitability for cold heading or guarantee finished-product strength. Confirmation must consider wire condition, deformation, heat treatment and tests on actual parts.
SM400A · Q/ASB 320-2017
Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Carbon steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Verification status
- Reference data; original source not verified
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.23 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
A match in the materials database does not establish suitability for cold heading or guarantee finished-product strength. Confirmation must consider wire condition, deformation, heat treatment and tests on actual parts.
SM400A · Q/BQB 303-2018
Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Carbon steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Verification status
- Reference data; original source not verified
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.23 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
A match in the materials database does not establish suitability for cold heading or guarantee finished-product strength. Confirmation must consider wire condition, deformation, heat treatment and tests on actual parts.