SM-27
1 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for SM-27 →SM-27 · SAE J405-1998
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Ferritic stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- SAE J405 JUN1998
- Table / clause
- Table 1, page 2 / page 5, notes 1–7
- PDF page references
- 1、2、5
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.01 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 25.0 ~ 27.5 |
| Ni | ≤ 0.5 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | 0.75 ~ 1.5 |
| N | ≤ 0.015 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Nb | 0.05 ~ 0.2 |
Applicability and limitations
Based on original SAE J405 JUN1998, Table 1; Mass fraction wt%, note 1: values without a stated range or minimum are maxima; a dash means unspecified and is not entered as zero. Note 5: Cb and Nb denote the same element; Alloying elements must be checked against the corresponding UNS row and additional conditions. Note 4: ordinary carbon analysis is reported to 0.01%, and low-carbon types to 0.001%; This is reporting precision and does not widen composition limits. Type names in original Table 1 may include a common name or a ASTM designation footnote; Search aliases follow only explicit correspondences on the same row; substitution across standards is not assessed automatically. 1998 is the actual composition basis; The specified newer edition has not been verified; equivalence between editions is not assumed. Combined Ni+Cu content ≤0.50%, with Ni≤0.50% and Cu≤0.20% also satisfied; checking only individual maxima is insufficient.
Combined limits
- Element-sum limits
- Elements concerned
- Ni
- Cu
- Upper limit
- 0.5