← BackMaterial grade directory

SCM425H

3 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.

Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.

Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for SCM425H →

SCM425H · JIS G 4052-2008

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
JIS G 4052-2008
Table / clause
Table 2 and note a/b, Clause 1/5
PDF page references
3、5

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:0.5217–0.7850Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.3150–0.4408Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3425–0.4888 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.23 ~ 0.28
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
Mn0.55 ~ 0.95
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.85 ~ 1.25
Mo0.15 ~ 0.3
Cu≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

JIS G4052:2008 official Japanese original, Table 2 and Notes a/b; heat analysis, mass fraction wt%.; H in each grade represents a guaranteed hardenability band and shall not be merged with non-H grades. ; Table 2 Note a: residual Cu≤.30% for all grades; Unspecified elements such as Mo shall not have a uniform upper limit added independently, and shall not be calculated as zero. ; Note b: If product analysis is agreed by both parties, test under 8.1 and apply the permissible variations in JIS G0321 Table 4.; Do not add these variations to the default heat-analysis range.. ; Hot-worked structural steels such as hot-rolled/hot-forged, usually subject to further forging, machining, and heat treatment; Composition does not independently prove suitability for cold-heading or supply. ; Hardenability Tables 10–33, austenitic grain size and other technical conditions require separate verification; this update supplements composition information..

Verification notes

All 24 grades and footnotes in original Japanese Table 2 were visually checked

SCM425H · Nippon Steel Wire Rods EXE203 2008.3 / JIS G4052-2003

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Wire rod
Original record status
Manufacturer source verified
Document edition
Cat. No. EXE203 2008.3 PDF; cover copyright 2008
Document title
Nippon Steel Wire Rods
Table / clause
Printed page 18, table index 0
PDF page references
11
Unit
Mass fraction (%)
Analysis type
The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table
Manufacturer
NIPPON STEEL CORPORATION

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.

IIW / CEV:0.5217–0.7850Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.3150–0.4408Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3425–0.4888 Envelope of independent element limits from manufacturer data; neither standard guarantee values nor measured heat results CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.23 ~ 0.28
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
Mn0.55 ~ 0.95
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.85 ~ 1.25
Mo0.15 ~ 0.3
Cu≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

Nippon Steel wire-rod catalogue EXE203 2008.3, historical material; PDF p. 11

printed p. 18; JIS G4052-2003. The original catalogue does not specify the analysis type for this table. Manufacturer range data; not a standard guarantee or a heat-lot test, and does not represent our supply.

Composition conditions

Verification notes

Grouped tables were expanded in full and checked against original images and notes. Ordinary, residual and conditional elements are kept separate; suffix tables lacking complete base-steel composition are excluded.

SCM425H · CHINA STEEL CORPORATION · Bars and Wire Rods Product Catalogue 2014-C1 / 7.1.10 JIS G4052 (Edition unspecified)

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Bars and wire rod
Original record status
Manufacturer source verified
Document edition
CAT.NO.3-BD-01-2014-C1 (stated on the back cover)
Document title
Bars and Wire Rods Product Catalogue
Table / clause
7.1.10 JIS G4052 (Edition unspecified)
PDF page references
19
Unit
Mass fraction (%)
Analysis type
The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table
Manufacturer
CHINA STEEL CORPORATION

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.

IIW / CEV:0.5217–0.7850Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.3150–0.4408Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3425–0.4888 Envelope of independent element limits from manufacturer data; neither standard guarantee values nor measured heat results CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.23 ~ 0.28
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
Mn0.55 ~ 0.95
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.85 ~ 1.25
Mo0.15 ~ 0.3
Cu≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

CSC bars and wire rods catalogue CAT.NO.3-BD-01-2014-C1, PDF page 19

printed page 17; clause 7.1.10 cites JIS G4052 (edition not stated). The original catalogue does not specify the analysis type for this table. Historical manufacturer scope data; neither standard guaranteed values nor measured heat analysis, and not evidence of supply by our company.

Composition conditions

Verification notes

Merged cells in all 28 catalogue tables were reconstructed geometrically, with no missing cells. Original images, continuation pages and notes are recorded; disputed conditions are withheld.
WhatsApp Technical enquiry →