← BackMaterial grade directory

SAE9254

2 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.

Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.

Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for SAE9254 →

SAE9254 · POSCO wire rod catalogue (local archive 1203; original edition not stated)

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Spring steels
Subcategory
Spring steels
Material form
Wire rod
Original record status
Manufacturer source verified
Document edition
Local file 1203 (wire-rod pdf); the original does not state a publication edition; PDF metadata 2014-12-03 is only the file generation time
Document title
Wire rod
Table / clause
Printed page 18, composition table 5 (local table index)
PDF page references
10
Unit
Percentages as stated in the original table; refer to the source for the specific basis
Analysis type
The catalog does not consistently specify heat or product analysis
Manufacturer
POSCO

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.

IIW / CEV:0.7300–0.9033Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo, V, Ni CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.6100–0.7383Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.6000–0.7250Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Mo, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.51 ~ 0.59
Si1.2 ~ 1.6
Mn0.6 ~ 0.8
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.6 ~ 0.8
Cu≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

POSCO local wire rod catalogue, PDF page 10

printed page 18, table index 4, row 1. The original edition number is not stated; the PDF creation date 2014-12-03 is not the standard publication year. Manufacturer range information does not constitute our supply guarantee. The spring-steel footnote on this page gives maximum Cu 0.30%, retained for the corresponding table.

Composition conditions

Verification notes

The original PDF tables and text coordinates were reconciled in both directions. Missing grade cells were restored; merged cells, footers and remarks were checked separately. Tables with identified disputes and rows without composition data are withheld.

SAE9254 · CHINA STEEL CORPORATION · Bars and Wire Rods Product Catalogue 2014-C1 / 7.1.26 China Steel SAE9254 · Spring steels

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Spring steels
Subcategory
Spring steels
Material form
Bars and wire rod
Original record status
Manufacturer source verified
Document edition
CAT.NO.3-BD-01-2014-C1 (stated on the back cover)
Document title
Bars and Wire Rods Product Catalogue
Table / clause
7.1.26 China Steel SAE9254 · Spring steels
PDF page references
28
Unit
Mass fraction (%)
Analysis type
The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table
Manufacturer
CHINA STEEL CORPORATION

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.

IIW / CEV:0.7500–0.9120Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.6333–0.7307Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.6200–0.7210 Envelope of independent element limits from manufacturer data; neither standard guarantee values nor measured heat results CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.53 ~ 0.58
Si1.3 ~ 1.6
Mn0.6 ~ 0.8
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.6 ~ 0.8
Cu≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Mo≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

China Steel bar and wire-rod catalogue CAT.NO.3-BD-01-2014-C1, PDF page 28

printed page 26, 7.1.26 China Steel SAE9254 spring steels. The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table. Historical manufacturer range data, not guaranteed standard limits or heat-specific measurements; this does not establish supply by Creation Group.

Composition conditions

Verification notes

Merged cells in all 28 catalogue tables were reconstructed geometrically, with no missing cells. Original images, continuation pages and notes are recorded; disputed conditions are withheld.
WhatsApp Technical enquiry →