SAE/AISI 1006(IFI-1006)
1 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for SAE/AISI 1006(IFI-1006) →SAE/AISI 1006(IFI-1006) · ASTM F2282-18
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Cold-heading wire
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ASTM F2282-18
- Table / clause
- Table 4; Tables6/9; notes; S1/S2
- PDF page references
- 3、4、5、10
- Unit
- Mass fraction (wt%)
- Analysis type
- Heat analysis, not product analysis
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Rimmed steel R; Confirm against the actual order under Table 4/6/7
Aluminum-killed AlK; Confirm against the actual order under Table 4/6/7
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.25 ~ 0.4 |
| P | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| Sn | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| N | ≤ 0.009 (lower limit not stated) |
| B | ≤ 0.0007 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ti | ≤ 0.01 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
ASTM F2282—18, original Table4/7 and Table6/9; heat/heat analysis, mass fraction wt%, not measured heat-analysis results. The IFI designation and /A and /B groups are retained separately as printed; equivalence to a same-number SAE grade is not assumed. /B is not a boron marker within a numerical designation. Residual maxima for Table9 apply only to elements without specified alloy ranges and do not override the alloy Ni/Cr/Mo range for Table7. Table6 Si follows the actual deoxidation method. Fine-grain requirements, grain-size reporting and agreements on 7.2 Al content/S2 require separate verification; a deoxidation label does not prove compliant grain size. If B and Ti are not deliberately added, B≤0.0007% and Ti≤0.01% apply. For 10B steels, follow notes B0.0008–0.003% and Ti≥0.01% of Table4; no unlisted Ti maximum is invented. Product-analysis deviations under Table5/8 and applicability conditions for 6.4 do not directly widen default heat limits. S1 permits relaxing residual Cr to 0.20 or Mo to 0.06 only when specified in the order. Lower residual limits require agreement; neither option is applied automatically in this batch. The original S2 explicitly cites the Nb/V grain-refinement rule of A29/A29M—15, requiring order specification and measured C/element results for the same heat; a newer A29 edition is not substituted. SAE/AISI in the original website title is only an existing product label. The grade in the composition source is IFI-1006; equivalence to standard SAE/AISI is not claimed on that basis.
Original condition-branch records
Rimmed steel R; Confirm against the actual order under Table 4/6/7
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.25 ~ 0.4 |
| P | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| Sn | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| N | ≤ 0.009 (lower limit not stated) |
| B | ≤ 0.0007 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ti | ≤ 0.01 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
Aluminum-killed AlK; Confirm against the actual order under Table 4/6/7
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.25 ~ 0.4 |
| P | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| Sn | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| N | ≤ 0.009 (lower limit not stated) |
| B | ≤ 0.0007 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ti | ≤ 0.01 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated) |