← BackMaterial grade directory

S46800

2 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.

Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.

Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for S46800 →

S46800 · SAE J405-1998

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Stainless steel
Subcategory
Stainless steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
SAE J405 JUN1998
Table / clause
Table 1, page 2 / page 5, notes 1–7
PDF page references
1、5、5

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV: not directly applicable to this material category
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): not directly applicable to this material category
CET: not directly applicable to this material category

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
Mn≤ 1.0 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 1.0 (lower limit not stated)
Cr18.0 ~ 20.0
Ni≤ 0.5 (lower limit not stated)
Ti0.07 ~ 0.3
Nb0.1 ~ 0.6
N≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
TiNb≤ 0.8 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

Based on original SAE J405 JUN1998, Table 1; Mass fraction wt%, note 1: values without a stated range or minimum are maxima; a dash means unspecified and is not entered as zero. Note 5: Cb and Nb denote the same element; Alloying elements must be checked against the corresponding UNS row and additional conditions. Note 4: ordinary carbon analysis is reported to 0.01%, and low-carbon types to 0.001%; This is reporting precision and does not widen composition limits. Type names in original Table 1 may include a common name or a ASTM designation footnote; Search aliases follow only explicit correspondences on the same row; substitution across standards is not assessed automatically. 1998 is the actual composition basis; The specified newer edition has not been verified; equivalence between editions is not assumed. Ti+Nb≥0.2+4×(C+N); Check jointly using measured composition from the same heat; independent combinations of element maxima do not establish compliance. Ti+Nb is a combined content; Combined lower and upper limits are not assigned independently to Ti and Nb; individual ranges are retained only where expressly specified in the table.

Combined limits

Elements requiring measured values from the same heat
  • Ti
  • Nb
Element-sum limits
  • Elements concerned
    • Ti
    • Nb
    Upper limit
    0.8
Combined-element limits
  • Requirement
    Ti+Nb≥0.2+4×(C+N)
    Element coefficient
    Ti
    1
    Nb
    1
    C
    -4
    N
    -4
    Lower limit
    0.2

Verification notes

Corresponding UNS rows and table notes in the 1998 original have been checked; this does not verify a newer edition.

S46800 · ASTM A240/A240M-2014

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Stainless steel
Subcategory
Ferritic and martensitic stainless steels
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original-standard record
Standard edition
ASTM A240/A240M-2014
Table / clause
Table 1 and footnotes A–O
PDF page references
1、6

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV: not directly applicable to this material category
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): not directly applicable to this material category
CET: not directly applicable to this material category

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
Mn≤ 1.0 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 1.0 (lower limit not stated)
Cr18.0 ~ 20.0
Ni≤ 0.5 (lower limit not stated)
N≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
Ti0.07 ~ 0.3
Nb0.1 ~ 0.6

Applicability and limitations

Table 1 gives heat-analysis mass percentages; A single value without a stated range or minimum is a maximum; unspecified elements are not entered as zero. ; Cb and Nb are the same element; Where both a formula and a fixed limit apply, the stricter limit is used. ; This is a plate, sheet and strip standard; cold-heading wire applications and actual supply require separate verification. ; Clause 4.1 also requires compliance with the applicable provisions of ASTM A480/A480M; This record displays the heat composition in Table 1; it does not establish verification of A480 or all product acceptance requirements. ; Other elements in the original table: Ti 0.07–0.30 Cb 0.10–0.60 (Ti+Cb) [0.20+4 (C+N)] min, 0.80 max; See the limits below for the specific coupled requirements.

Combined limits

Combined-element limits
  • Element coefficient
    Ti
    1
    Nb
    1
    C
    -4
    N
    -4
    Lower limit
    0.2
    Upper limit
    Not stated
    Requirement
    Ti+Nb≥0.2+4(C+N)
  • Element coefficient
    Ti
    1
    Nb
    1
    Lower limit
    Not stated
    Upper limit
    0.8
    Requirement
    Ti+Nb≤0.8
Elements requiring measured values from the same heat
    WhatsApp Technical enquiry →