S44625
4 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for S44625 →S44625 · ASTM A 493-2025
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Ferritic stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Historical-edition reference
- Standard edition
- ASTM A493-2009(2013)
- Table / clause
- Table 1 · Notes A–B
- PDF page references
- 1、2
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Default chemical requirements in Table 1
Note B: only the C/N maximum permits +0.002% for product analysis
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.01 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 25.0 ~ 27.5 |
| Ni | ≤ 0.5 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | 0.75 ~ 1.5 |
| N | ≤ 0.015 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
The chemical composition currently shown is transcribed from the original ASTM A493-2009(2013); The original record cites ASTM A 493-2025; that original edition remains unavailable, and differences between editions have not been confirmed. Original text A493−09(Reapproved2013), PDF1 header and PDF2 Table 1
note A–B, wt%. ; Values in Table 1 are maxima unless expressly stated otherwise; Blank elements are unspecified and are not entered as zero. ; This standard covers stainless steel wire and wire rod for cold heading or cold forging; Delivery condition, diameter, surface and actual supply still require confirmation; mechanical-property Table 2 requires separate verification. ; Ni+Cu≤0.50%; satisfying the separate Ni/Cu maxima does not establish compliance with the combined maximum. ; Note B permits product-analysis C/N to exceed the maximum by 0.002%; the default chemical requirements are not widened.
Combined limits
- Element-sum limits
- Elements concerned
- Ni
- Cu
- Upper limit
- 0.5
Original condition-branch records
Default chemical requirements in Table 1
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.01 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 25.0 ~ 27.5 |
| Ni | ≤ 0.5 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | 0.75 ~ 1.5 |
| N | ≤ 0.015 (lower limit not stated) |
Note B: only the C/N maximum permits +0.002% for product analysis
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.012 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 25.0 ~ 27.5 |
| Ni | ≤ 0.5 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | 0.75 ~ 1.5 |
| N | ≤ 0.017 (lower limit not stated) |
A condition branch must be selected
YesVerification notes
The chemical composition currently shown is transcribed from the original ASTM A493-2009(2013); The original record cites ASTM A 493-2025; that original edition remains unavailable, and differences between editions have not been confirmed.S44625 · ASTM A493-2009(2013)
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Ferritic stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ASTM A493-2009(2013)
- Table / clause
- Table 1 · Notes A–B
- PDF page references
- 1、2
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Default chemical requirements in Table 1
Note B: only the C/N maximum permits +0.002% for product analysis
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.01 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 25.0 ~ 27.5 |
| Ni | ≤ 0.5 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | 0.75 ~ 1.5 |
| N | ≤ 0.015 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Original text A493−09(Reapproved2013), PDF1 header and PDF2 Table 1
note A–B, wt%. ; Values in Table 1 are maxima unless expressly stated otherwise; Blank elements are unspecified and are not entered as zero. ; This standard covers stainless steel wire and wire rod for cold heading or cold forging; Delivery condition, diameter, surface and actual supply still require confirmation; mechanical-property Table 2 requires separate verification. ; Ni+Cu≤0.50%; satisfying the separate Ni/Cu maxima does not establish compliance with the combined maximum. ; Note B permits product-analysis C/N to exceed the maximum by 0.002%; the default chemical requirements are not widened.
Combined limits
- Element-sum limits
- Elements concerned
- Ni
- Cu
- Upper limit
- 0.5
Original condition-branch records
Default chemical requirements in Table 1
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.01 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 25.0 ~ 27.5 |
| Ni | ≤ 0.5 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | 0.75 ~ 1.5 |
| N | ≤ 0.015 (lower limit not stated) |
Note B: only the C/N maximum permits +0.002% for product analysis
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.012 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 25.0 ~ 27.5 |
| Ni | ≤ 0.5 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | 0.75 ~ 1.5 |
| N | ≤ 0.017 (lower limit not stated) |
A condition branch must be selected
YesVerification notes
The title page of the official English text and the corresponding row and footnotes in Table 1 were visually checked.S44625 · ASTM A493-2016
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Ferritic stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Historical-edition reference
- Standard edition
- ASTM A493-2009(2013)
- Table / clause
- Table 1 · Notes A–B
- PDF page references
- 1、2
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Default chemical requirements in Table 1
Note B: only the C/N maximum permits +0.002% for product analysis
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.01 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 25.0 ~ 27.5 |
| Ni | ≤ 0.5 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | 0.75 ~ 1.5 |
| N | ≤ 0.015 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
The chemical composition currently shown is transcribed from the original ASTM A493-2009(2013); The original record cites ASTM A493-2016; that original edition remains unavailable, and differences between editions have not been confirmed. Original text A493−09(Reapproved2013), PDF1 header and PDF2 Table 1
note A–B, wt%. ; Values in Table 1 are maxima unless expressly stated otherwise; Blank elements are unspecified and are not entered as zero. ; This standard covers stainless steel wire and wire rod for cold heading or cold forging; Delivery condition, diameter, surface and actual supply still require confirmation; mechanical-property Table 2 requires separate verification. ; Ni+Cu≤0.50%; satisfying the separate Ni/Cu maxima does not establish compliance with the combined maximum. ; Note B permits product-analysis C/N to exceed the maximum by 0.002%; the default chemical requirements are not widened.
Combined limits
- Element-sum limits
- Elements concerned
- Ni
- Cu
- Upper limit
- 0.5
Original condition-branch records
Default chemical requirements in Table 1
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.01 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 25.0 ~ 27.5 |
| Ni | ≤ 0.5 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | 0.75 ~ 1.5 |
| N | ≤ 0.015 (lower limit not stated) |
Note B: only the C/N maximum permits +0.002% for product analysis
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.012 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 25.0 ~ 27.5 |
| Ni | ≤ 0.5 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | 0.75 ~ 1.5 |
| N | ≤ 0.017 (lower limit not stated) |
A condition branch must be selected
YesVerification notes
The chemical composition currently shown is transcribed from the original ASTM A493-2009(2013); The original record cites ASTM A493-2016; that original edition remains unavailable, and differences between editions have not been confirmed.S44625 · ASTM A493-2009(2013)
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ASTM A493-2009(2013)
- Table / clause
- Table 1 · Notes A–B
- PDF page references
- 1、2
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Default chemical requirements in Table 1
Note B: only the C/N maximum permits +0.002% for product analysis
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.01 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 25.0 ~ 27.5 |
| Ni | ≤ 0.5 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | 0.75 ~ 1.5 |
| N | ≤ 0.015 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Original text A493−09(Reapproved2013), PDF1 header and PDF2 Table 1
note A–B, wt%. ; Values in Table 1 are maxima unless expressly stated otherwise; Blank elements are unspecified and are not entered as zero. ; This standard covers stainless steel wire and wire rod for cold heading or cold forging; Delivery condition, diameter, surface and actual supply still require confirmation; mechanical-property Table 2 requires separate verification. ; Ni+Cu≤0.50%; satisfying the separate Ni/Cu maxima does not establish compliance with the combined maximum. ; Note B permits product-analysis C/N to exceed the maximum by 0.002%; the default chemical requirements are not widened.
Combined limits
- Element-sum limits
- Elements concerned
- Ni
- Cu
- Upper limit
- 0.5
Original condition-branch records
Default chemical requirements in Table 1
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.01 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 25.0 ~ 27.5 |
| Ni | ≤ 0.5 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | 0.75 ~ 1.5 |
| N | ≤ 0.015 (lower limit not stated) |
Note B: only the C/N maximum permits +0.002% for product analysis
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.012 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 25.0 ~ 27.5 |
| Ni | ≤ 0.5 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | 0.75 ~ 1.5 |
| N | ≤ 0.017 (lower limit not stated) |