S40900
3 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for S40900 →S40900 · SAE J405-1998
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- SAE J405 JUN1998
- Table / clause
- Table 1, page 2 / page 5, notes 1–7
- PDF page references
- 1、4、5
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 1.0 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1.0 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 10.5 ~ 11.75 |
| Ni | ≤ 0.5 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ti | ≤ 0.75 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Based on Table 1 of the original SAE J405 JUN1998; mass fraction wt%. Note 1: a value without a stated range or lower bound is a maximum; dashes mean unspecified and are not replaced with zero. Note 5: Cb and Nb refer to the same element. Verify alloy elements against the applicable UNS row and additional conditions. Note 4: carbon analysis is generally reported to 0.01%, or to 0.001% for low-carbon types. This is reporting precision and does not relax composition limits. Type names in original Table 1 may include common names or a ASTM naming footnote. Search aliases use only explicit same-row relationships; interchangeability across standards is not inferred. 1998 is the actual composition source. The requested newer edition has not been verified, and agreement between editions is not assumed. Ti≥0+6×(C), and ≤0.75; check jointly using measured composition from the same heat, not independent combinations of elemental maxima.
Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
- Requirement
- Ti≥0+6×(C), and ≤0.75
- Element coefficient
- Ti
- 1
- C
- -6
- Lower limit
- 0
Verification notes
Corresponding UNS rows and table notes in the 1998 original have been checked; this does not verify a newer edition.S40900 · ASTM A240/A240M-2020
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Ferritic stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original text of the historical edition verified
- Standard edition
- ASTM A240/A240M-2014
- Table / clause
- Table1 S40910/S40920/S40930;notes A,E,F,L
- PDF page references
- 1、4、5、6
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Uses S40910 under footnote L; The actual grade to be delivered must be confirmed
Uses S40920 under footnote L; The actual grade to be delivered must be confirmed
Uses S40930 under footnote L; The actual grade to be delivered must be confirmed
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.5 (lower limit not stated) |
| N | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 10.5 ~ 11.7 |
| Ti | ≤ 0.5 (lower limit not stated) |
| Nb | ≤ 0.17 (lower limit not stated) |
Composition conditions
- Footnote L: S40900/409 is replaced by S40910, S40920, and S40930; Unless otherwise specified in the order, the seller may select one of them; the manufacturer may certify conforming material as S40900.. Do not combine the three compositions into one envelope..
- Cb and Nb are the same element; When a formula lower limit and a fixed lower limit are both specified, the higher of the two shall be taken.
- This standard applies to plates, sheets, and strips; This does not constitute a commitment regarding the suitability or supply of cold-heading wire..
Original condition-branch records
Uses S40910 under footnote L; The actual grade to be delivered must be confirmed
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.5 (lower limit not stated) |
| N | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 10.5 ~ 11.7 |
| Ti | ≤ 0.5 (lower limit not stated) |
| Nb | ≤ 0.17 (lower limit not stated) |
- Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
- Requirement
- Ti≥6×(C+N)
- Element coefficient
- Ti
- 1
- C
- -6
- N
- -6
- Lower limit
- 0
- Elements requiring measured values from the same heat
Uses S40920 under footnote L; The actual grade to be delivered must be confirmed
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.5 (lower limit not stated) |
| N | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 10.5 ~ 11.7 |
| Ti | 0.15 ~ 0.5 |
| Nb | ≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated) |
- Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
- Requirement
- Ti≥8×(C+N)
- Element coefficient
- Ti
- 1
- C
- -8
- N
- -8
- Lower limit
- 0
- Elements requiring measured values from the same heat
Uses S40930 under footnote L; The actual grade to be delivered must be confirmed
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.5 (lower limit not stated) |
| N | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 10.5 ~ 11.7 |
| Ti | ≥ 0.05 (upper limit not stated) |
- Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
- Requirement
- Ti+Nb≥0.08+8×(C+N)
- Element coefficient
- Ti
- 1
- Nb
- 1
- C
- -8
- N
- -8
- Lower limit
- 0.08
- Requirement
- Ti+Nb≤0.75
- Element coefficient
- Ti
- 1
- Nb
- 1
- Upper limit
- 0.75
- Elements requiring measured values from the same heat
- Nb
A condition branch must be selected
YesVerification notes
Based on the original text of the 2014 edition; Edition 2020 remains unavailable. The actual delivered grade must be selected.S40900 · ASTM A240/A240M-2014
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Ferritic and martensitic stainless steels
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original-standard record
- Standard edition
- ASTM A240/A240M-2014
- Table / clause
- Table 1 and footnotes A–O
- PDF page references
- 1、4、6
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Uses S40910 under footnote L; The actual grade to be delivered must be confirmed
Uses S40920 under footnote L; The actual grade to be delivered must be confirmed
Uses S40930 under footnote L; The actual grade to be delivered must be confirmed
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.5 (lower limit not stated) |
| N | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 10.5 ~ 11.7 |
| Ti | ≤ 0.5 (lower limit not stated) |
| Nb | ≤ 0.17 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Table 1 gives heat-analysis mass percentages; A single value without a stated range or minimum is a maximum; unspecified elements are not entered as zero. ; Cb and Nb are the same element; Where both a formula and a fixed limit apply, the stricter limit is used. ; This is a plate, sheet and strip standard; cold-heading wire applications and actual supply require separate verification. ; Clause 4.1 also requires compliance with the applicable provisions of ASTM A480/A480M; This record displays the heat composition in Table 1; it does not establish verification of A480 or all product acceptance requirements. ; Footnote L: S40900/409 is replaced by S40910, S40920, and S40930; Unless otherwise specified in the order, the seller may select one of them; the manufacturer may certify conforming material as S40900.. Do not combine the three compositions into one envelope.. ; Cb and Nb are the same element; When a formula lower limit and a fixed lower limit are both specified, the higher of the two shall be taken. ; This standard applies to plates, sheets, and strips; This does not constitute a commitment regarding the suitability or supply of cold-heading wire..
Original condition-branch records
Uses S40910 under footnote L; The actual grade to be delivered must be confirmed
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.5 (lower limit not stated) |
| N | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 10.5 ~ 11.7 |
| Ti | ≤ 0.5 (lower limit not stated) |
| Nb | ≤ 0.17 (lower limit not stated) |
- Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
- Requirement
- Ti≥6×(C+N)
- Element coefficient
- Ti
- 1
- C
- -6
- N
- -6
- Lower limit
- 0
- Elements requiring measured values from the same heat
Uses S40920 under footnote L; The actual grade to be delivered must be confirmed
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.5 (lower limit not stated) |
| N | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 10.5 ~ 11.7 |
| Ti | 0.15 ~ 0.5 |
| Nb | ≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated) |
- Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
- Requirement
- Ti≥8×(C+N)
- Element coefficient
- Ti
- 1
- C
- -8
- N
- -8
- Lower limit
- 0
- Elements requiring measured values from the same heat
Uses S40930 under footnote L; The actual grade to be delivered must be confirmed
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.5 (lower limit not stated) |
| N | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 10.5 ~ 11.7 |
| Ti | ≥ 0.05 (upper limit not stated) |
- Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
- Requirement
- Ti+Nb≥0.08+8×(C+N)
- Element coefficient
- Ti
- 1
- Nb
- 1
- C
- -8
- N
- -8
- Lower limit
- 0.08
- Requirement
- Ti+Nb≤0.75
- Element coefficient
- Ti
- 1
- Nb
- 1
- Upper limit
- 0.75
- Elements requiring measured values from the same heat
- Nb