S34809
3 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for S34809 →S34809 · SAE J405-1998
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- SAE J405 JUN1998
- Table / clause
- Table 1, page 2 / page 5, notes 1–7
- PDF page references
- 1、3、5
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.04 ~ 0.1 |
| Mn | ≤ 2.0 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.75 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 17.0 ~ 19.0 |
| Ni | 9.0 ~ 13.0 |
| NbTa | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ta | ≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Co | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Based on original SAE J405 JUN1998, Table 1; Mass fraction wt%, note 1: values without a stated range or minimum are maxima; a dash means unspecified and is not entered as zero. Note 5: Cb and Nb denote the same element; Alloying elements must be checked against the corresponding UNS row and additional conditions. Note 4: ordinary carbon analysis is reported to 0.01%, and low-carbon types to 0.001%; This is reporting precision and does not widen composition limits. Type names in original Table 1 may include a common name or a ASTM designation footnote; Search aliases follow only explicit correspondences on the same row; substitution across standards is not assessed automatically. 1998 is the actual composition basis; The specified newer edition has not been verified; equivalence between editions is not assumed. NbTa≥0+8×(C), and ≤1; Check jointly using measured composition from the same heat; independent combinations of element maxima do not establish compliance. Nb+Ta is a combined content; Individual Ta ≤0.10% and individual Co ≤0.20%.
Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
- Requirement
- NbTa≥0+8×(C), and ≤1
- Element coefficient
- Nb and Ta
- 1
- C
- -8
- Lower limit
- 0
Verification notes
Corresponding UNS rows and table notes in the 1998 original have been checked; this does not verify a newer edition.S34809 · ASTM A240/A240M-2014
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Austenitic stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original-standard record
- Standard edition
- ASTM A240/A240M-2014
- Table / clause
- Table 1 and footnotes A–O
- PDF page references
- 1、4、6
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.04 ~ 0.1 |
| Mn | ≤ 2.0 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.75 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 17.0 ~ 19.0 |
| Ni | 9.0 ~ 13.0 |
| Ta | ≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Co | ≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Table 1 gives heat-analysis mass percentages; A single value without a stated range or minimum is a maximum; unspecified elements are not entered as zero. ; Cb and Nb are the same element; Where both a formula and a fixed limit apply, the stricter limit is used. ; This is a plate, sheet and strip standard; cold-heading wire applications and actual supply require separate verification. ; Clause 4.1 also requires compliance with the applicable provisions of ASTM A480/A480M; This record displays the heat composition in Table 1; it does not establish verification of A480 or all product acceptance requirements. ; Other elements in the original table: (Cb + Ta) 8×C min, 1.00 max Ta 0.10 Co 0.20; See the limits below for the specific coupled requirements.
Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
- Element coefficient
- Nb
- 1
- Ta
- 1
- C
- -8
- Lower limit
- 0
- Upper limit
- Not stated
- Requirement
- Nb+Ta≥8C
- Element coefficient
- Nb
- 1
- Ta
- 1
- Lower limit
- Not stated
- Upper limit
- 1
- Requirement
- Nb+Ta≤1
- Elements requiring measured values from the same heat
- Nb
S34809 · ASTM A312/A312M-2017
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Austenitic stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original-standard record
- Standard edition
- ASTM A312/A312M-2017
- Table / clause
- Table 1, footnotes A–M and clause 7.1
- PDF page references
- 1、2、5、6
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.04 ~ 0.1 |
| Mn | ≤ 2.0 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1.0 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 17.0 ~ 19.0 |
| Ni | 9.0 ~ 13.0 |
| Ta | ≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Nb | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Table 1 values are mass percentages; a single value is a maximum, and an ellipsis means unspecified—no zero is inferred. Clause 7.1 requires compliance with Table 1; the general requirements of 5.1 and A999/A999M also apply. This review covers only the chemical-composition table. This is an austenitic stainless-steel pipe standard and does not establish cold-heading wire suitability or full product acceptance. Note C: the nitrogen test method is agreed between buyer and seller.
Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
- Requirement
- Nb≥8×(C)
- Element coefficient
- Nb
- 1
- C
- -8
- Lower limit
- 0