S31727
3 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for S31727 →S31727 · ASME SA-814/SA-814M-2023
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ASME SA-814/SA-814M-2023
- Table / clause
- Table 2, notes A–H; clauses 5.1/5.2; identity statement on PDF page 1
- PDF page references
- 1、4、5
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 1.0 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1.0 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | 14.5 ~ 16.5 |
| Cr | 17.5 ~ 19.0 |
| Mo | 3.8 ~ 4.5 |
| N | 0.15 ~ 0.21 |
| Cu | 2.8 ~ 4.0 |
Applicability and limitations
Composition alloy: S31727. Table 2, mass fraction wt%; values are maxima except where explicit ranges are given. Ellipses are not replaced with zero. The source actually read is ASME BPVC.II.A-2023 SA814; the cover explicitly states that it is identical to ASTM A814/A814M-15(2019). The analytical method for N is subject to agreement between purchaser and supplier. Product-analysis tolerances under A480/A480M require separate verification and are not incorporated into this table. This standard covers cold-worked welded stainless steel pipe and does not automatically approve a cold-heading product.
Verification notes
Checked against the standard chemical-composition table and footnotes.S31727 · ASTM A240/A240M-2014
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Austenitic stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original-standard record
- Standard edition
- ASTM A240/A240M-2014
- Table / clause
- Table 1 and footnotes A–O
- PDF page references
- 1、3、6
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 1.0 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1.0 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 17.5 ~ 19.0 |
| Ni | 14.5 ~ 16.5 |
| Mo | 3.8 ~ 4.5 |
| N | 0.15 ~ 0.21 |
| Cu | 2.8 ~ 4.0 |
Applicability and limitations
Table 1 ladle composition, mass fraction %; a single value without a range or lower limit is a maximum, and unspecified elements are not filled with zero. Cb and Nb are the same element; where both a formula and a fixed limit apply, use the more restrictive limit. This is a plate, sheet and strip standard; suitability for cold-heading wire and actual supply require separate verification. Clause 4.1 also requires applicable provisions of ASTM A480/A480M. This record shows ladle composition from Table 1; it does not mean that A480 or all product acceptance requirements have been fully checked.
Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
- Elements requiring measured values from the same heat
S31727 · ASTM A312/A312M-2017
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Austenitic stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original-standard record
- Standard edition
- ASTM A312/A312M-2017
- Table / clause
- Table 1, footnotes A–M and clause 7.1
- PDF page references
- 1、2、5、6
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 1.0 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1.0 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 17.5 ~ 19.0 |
| Ni | 14.5 ~ 16.5 |
| Mo | 3.8 ~ 4.5 |
| N | 0.15 ~ 0.21 |
| Cu | 2.8 ~ 4.0 |
Applicability and limitations
Table 1 values are mass percentages; a single value is a maximum, and an ellipsis means unspecified—no zero is inferred. Clause 7.1 requires compliance with Table 1; the general requirements of 5.1 and A999/A999M also apply. This review covers only the chemical-composition table. This is an austenitic stainless-steel pipe standard and does not establish cold-heading wire suitability or full product acceptance. Note C: the nitrogen test method is agreed between buyer and seller.
Combined limits
- Combined-element limits