S31254
5 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for S31254 →S31254 · ASME SA-814/SA-814M-2023
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ASME SA-814/SA-814M-2023
- Table / clause
- Table 2, notes A–H; clauses 5.1/5.2; identity statement on PDF page 1
- PDF page references
- 1、4、5
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 1.0 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.01 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.8 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | 17.5 ~ 18.5 |
| Cr | 19.5 ~ 20.5 |
| Mo | 6.0 ~ 6.5 |
| N | 0.18 ~ 0.22 |
| Cu | 0.5 ~ 1.0 |
Applicability and limitations
Composition alloy: S31254. Table 2, mass fraction wt%; values are maxima except where explicit ranges are given. Ellipses are not replaced with zero. The source actually read is ASME BPVC.II.A-2023 SA814; the cover explicitly states that it is identical to ASTM A814/A814M-15(2019). The analytical method for N is subject to agreement between purchaser and supplier. Product-analysis tolerances under A480/A480M require separate verification and are not incorporated into this table. This standard covers cold-worked welded stainless steel pipe and does not automatically approve a cold-heading product.
Verification notes
Checked against the standard chemical-composition table and footnotes.S31254 · SAE J405-1998
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- SAE J405 JUN1998
- Table / clause
- Table 1, page 2 / page 5, notes 1–7
- PDF page references
- 1、3、5
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 1.0 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.01 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.8 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 19.5 ~ 20.5 |
| Ni | 17.5 ~ 18.5 |
| Mo | 6.0 ~ 6.5 |
| N | 0.18 ~ 0.22 |
| Cu | 0.5 ~ 1.0 |
Applicability and limitations
Based on SAE J405 JUN1998 original Table 1; mass fraction wt%. Note 1: a value without a range or lower limit is a maximum; a dash means unspecified, not zero. Note 5: Cb and Nb denote the same element; verify alloying elements against the corresponding UNS row and additional conditions. Note 4: carbon is generally reported to 0.01%, and low-carbon types to 0.001%; this is reporting precision and does not relax composition limits. Original Table 1 type names may include common names or ASTM-naming footnotes; create search aliases only for explicit same-row correspondences, without implying cross-standard equivalence. 1998 is the actual composition basis; the specified newer edition has not been checked, so consistency between editions is not assumed.
Verification notes
Corresponding UNS rows and table notes in the 1998 original have been checked; this does not verify a newer edition.S31254 · ASTM A240/A240M-2014
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Austenitic stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original-standard record
- Standard edition
- ASTM A240/A240M-2014
- Table / clause
- Table 1 and footnotes A–O
- PDF page references
- 1、3、6
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 1.0 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.01 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.8 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 19.5 ~ 20.5 |
| Ni | 17.5 ~ 18.5 |
| Mo | 6.0 ~ 6.5 |
| N | 0.18 ~ 0.25 |
| Cu | 0.5 ~ 1.0 |
Applicability and limitations
Table 1 ladle composition, mass fraction %; a single value without a range or lower limit is a maximum, and unspecified elements are not filled with zero. Cb and Nb are the same element; where both a formula and a fixed limit apply, use the more restrictive limit. This is a plate, sheet and strip standard; suitability for cold-heading wire and actual supply require separate verification. Clause 4.1 also requires applicable provisions of ASTM A480/A480M. This record shows ladle composition from Table 1; it does not mean that A480 or all product acceptance requirements have been fully checked.
Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
- Elements requiring measured values from the same heat
S31254 · ASTM A312/A312M-2017
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Austenitic stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original-standard record
- Standard edition
- ASTM A312/A312M-2017
- Table / clause
- Table 1, footnotes A–M and clause 7.1
- PDF page references
- 1、2、4、6
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 1.0 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.01 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.8 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 19.5 ~ 20.5 |
| Ni | 17.5 ~ 18.5 |
| Mo | 6.0 ~ 6.5 |
| N | 0.18 ~ 0.25 |
| Cu | 0.5 ~ 1.0 |
Applicability and limitations
Table 1 values are mass percentages; a single value is a maximum, and an ellipsis means unspecified—no zero is inferred. Clause 7.1 requires compliance with Table 1; the general requirements of 5.1 and A999/A999M also apply. This review covers only the chemical-composition table. This is an austenitic stainless-steel pipe standard and does not establish cold-heading wire suitability or full product acceptance. Note C: the nitrogen test method is agreed between buyer and seller.
Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
S31254 · Walsin Lihwa official website catalog (steel billets and bars; file named 2024, original edition not indicated)
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Stainless steel
- Material form
- Bars
- Original record status
- Manufacturer source verified
- Document edition
- Official website document 2024_Walsin_Catalog_YT-JY-1.pdf; Publication date and edition number not specified on inner pages
- Document title
- Available Stainless Steel Grades & Chemical Composition — For Stainless Steel Billet & Bar
- Table / clause
- Steel grades and chemical composition table
- PDF page references
- 7
- Unit
- Percentages as stated in the original table; refer to the source for the specific basis
- Analysis type
- Analysis type not stated
- Manufacturer
- Walsin Lihwa
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.7 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 1.0 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.01 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | 17.5 ~ 18.5 |
| Cr | 19.5 ~ 20.5 |
| Mo | 6.0 ~ 6.5 |
| Cu | 0.5 ~ 1.0 |
| N | 0.18 ~ 0.22 |
Applicability and limitations
Walsin Lihwa official website catalogue, PDF page 7
printed page 10, row 13; manufacturer composition table %, covering billets and bars, analysis type not stated. The website filename includes 2024, but no edition number was found inside; not a verified edition of the compared standard or our company’s supply guarantee.
Composition conditions
- The original table lists Chemical Composition (%); Heat or product analysis is not identified; the values cannot be treated as guaranteed limits under the corresponding standard.
- The correspondence column gives designation mappings in manufacturer information; No standard year is given, so this is not upgraded to a verified ASTM/GB/JIS/EN/RCC-M standard record.
- Different S, Ni and Ti/Nb conditions for the same grade designation are retained as separate original rows; dashes are not entered as zero.