← BackMaterial grade directory

POSMA40

1 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.

Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.

Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for POSMA40 →

POSMA40 · POSCO wire rod catalogue (local archive 1203; original edition not stated)

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Wire rod
Original record status
Manufacturer source verified
Document edition
Local file 1203 (wire-rod pdf); the original does not state a publication edition; PDF metadata 2014-12-03 is only the file generation time
Document title
Wire rod
Table / clause
Printed page 27, composition table 5 (local table index)
PDF page references
14
Unit
Percentages as stated in the original table; refer to the source for the specific basis
Analysis type
The catalog does not consistently specify heat or product analysis
Manufacturer
POSCO

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.

IIW / CEV:0.4833–0.6740Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cr, Mo, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.4033–0.5520Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.4300–0.5700 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.35 ~ 0.45
Si0.4 ~ 0.9
Mn0.8 ~ 1.2
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated)
S-Al0.01 ~ 0.08
V≤ 0.12 (lower limit not stated)
N≤ 0.015 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

POSCO local wire rod catalogue, PDF page 14

printed page 27, table index 4, row 1. The original edition number is not stated; the PDF creation date 2014-12-03 is not the standard publication year. Manufacturer range information does not constitute our supply guarantee. S-Al is retained as a separate original-table column, not merged with total Al. Original N maximum 150ppm; 1%=10000ppm. Units converted without changing the one-sided limit.

Composition conditions

Verification notes

The original PDF tables and text coordinates were reconciled in both directions. Missing grade cells were restored; merged cells, footers and remarks were checked separately. Tables with identified disputes and rows without composition data are withheld.
WhatsApp Technical enquiry →