← BackMaterial grade directory

IFI-1022/A

1 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.

Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.

Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for IFI-1022/A →

IFI-1022/A · ASTM F2282-18

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material form
Cold-heading wire
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
ASTM F2282-18
Table / clause
Table 4; Tables6/9; notes; S1/S2
PDF page references
3、4、5、10
Unit
Mass fraction (wt%)
Analysis type
Heat analysis, not product analysis

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.

Aluminum-killed AlK; Confirm against the actual order under Table 4/6/7
IIW / CEV:0.3133–0.4247Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2200–0.2862Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2600–0.3315 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Silicon-killed, fine-grained SiFg; Confirm against the actual order under Table 4/6/7
IIW / CEV:0.3133–0.4247Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2250–0.2928Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2600–0.3315 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Silicon-killed, coarse-grained SiCg; Confirm against the actual order under Table 4/6/7
IIW / CEV:0.3133–0.4247Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.2250–0.2928Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2600–0.3315 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.18 ~ 0.21
Mn0.8 ~ 1.0
P≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated)
Cr≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated)
Mo≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Sn≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated)
N≤ 0.009 (lower limit not stated)
B≤ 0.0007 (lower limit not stated)
Ti≤ 0.01 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

ASTM F2282—18, original Table4/7 and Table6/9; heat/heat analysis, mass fraction wt%, not measured heat-analysis results. The IFI designation and /A and /B groups are retained separately as printed; equivalence to a same-number SAE grade is not assumed. /B is not a boron marker within a numerical designation. Residual maxima for Table9 apply only to elements without specified alloy ranges and do not override the alloy Ni/Cr/Mo range for Table7. Table6 Si follows the actual deoxidation method. Fine-grain requirements, grain-size reporting and agreements on 7.2 Al content/S2 require separate verification; a deoxidation label does not prove compliant grain size. If B and Ti are not deliberately added, B≤0.0007% and Ti≤0.01% apply. For 10B steels, follow notes B0.0008–0.003% and Ti≥0.01% of Table4; no unlisted Ti maximum is invented. Product-analysis deviations under Table5/8 and applicability conditions for 6.4 do not directly widen default heat limits. S1 permits relaxing residual Cr to 0.20 or Mo to 0.06 only when specified in the order. Lower residual limits require agreement; neither option is applied automatically in this batch. The original S2 explicitly cites the Nb/V grain-refinement rule of A29/A29M—15, requiring order specification and measured C/element results for the same heat; a newer A29 edition is not substituted. SAE/AISI in the original website title is only an existing product label. The grade in the composition source is IFI-1022/A; equivalence to standard SAE/AISI is not claimed on that basis.

Original condition-branch records

Aluminum-killed AlK; Confirm against the actual order under Table 4/6/7

ElementComposition requirement
C0.18 ~ 0.21
Mn0.8 ~ 1.0
P≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated)
Cr≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated)
Mo≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Sn≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated)
N≤ 0.009 (lower limit not stated)
B≤ 0.0007 (lower limit not stated)
Ti≤ 0.01 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated)

Silicon-killed, fine-grained SiFg; Confirm against the actual order under Table 4/6/7

ElementComposition requirement
C0.18 ~ 0.21
Mn0.8 ~ 1.0
P≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated)
Cr≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated)
Mo≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Sn≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated)
N≤ 0.009 (lower limit not stated)
B≤ 0.0007 (lower limit not stated)
Ti≤ 0.01 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.15 ~ 0.3

Silicon-killed, coarse-grained SiCg; Confirm against the actual order under Table 4/6/7

ElementComposition requirement
C0.18 ~ 0.21
Mn0.8 ~ 1.0
P≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.2 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated)
Cr≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated)
Mo≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Sn≤ 0.02 (lower limit not stated)
N≤ 0.009 (lower limit not stated)
B≤ 0.0007 (lower limit not stated)
Ti≤ 0.01 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.15 ~ 0.3

A condition branch must be selected

Yes

Verification notes

The original table in edition 2018, deoxidation/Si and residual-element footnotes were checked; IFI grouping, boron designations and agreement boundaries are retained.View associated products →
WhatsApp Technical enquiry →