← BackMaterial grade directory

G61500

2 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.

Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.

Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for G61500 →

G61500 · SAE J404-2000

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
SAE J404-2000
Table / clause
Table 1 and notes 1–3; scope
PDF page references
1、2

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:≥ 0.7867Known-element contribution; incomplete value; V has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):≥ 0.5750Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing B; V has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.5900–0.7047 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.48 ~ 0.53
Mn0.7 ~ 0.9
Ni≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.8 ~ 1.1
Mo≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated)
V≥ 0.15 (upper limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.15 ~ 0.35

Applicability and limitations

Standard dated 2000-6, Table 1; ladle analysis, mass fraction wt%.; Product analysis deviations shall be verified separately according to SAE J409, and shall not directly expand the table values. Note 1: For elements neither specified nor required in the original table, residual upper limits apply: Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo respectively ≤0.35/0.25/0.20/0.06%; Explicit alloy ranges shall take priority. Pb 0.15–0.35% must be separately specified as L-grade; it is not automatically added to ordinary grades. Al, Ti, Nb, and V must be reported regardless of whether they are specified; Values below 0.008% may be reported as <0.008%; this is a reporting threshold, not a uniform composition upper limit. Grades with E prefix are electric furnace steels, with P/S upper limits of 0.025% respectively, separated from ordinary grades. Applicable to billets, slabs, plate, wire rod and hot-rolled/cold-worked bar products, among other forms.; Chemical composition itself does not guarantee suitability for cold heading.

Verification notes

Original 2000 table rows and footnotes checked; the 50B46 issue is listed separately, and not all values are confirmed.

G61500 · SAE J404-2009

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
SAE J404-2009
Table / clause
Table1 and note 1/4/5/6/7
PDF page references
1、3、4

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.

Table 1 default P≤.030% and S≤.040%
IIW / CEV:≥ 0.7867Known-element contribution; incomplete value; V has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):≥ 0.5750Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing B; V has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.5900–0.7047 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Agreed flat products, typical P≤.030% and S≤.035%
IIW / CEV:≥ 0.7867Known-element contribution; incomplete value; V has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):≥ 0.5750Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing B; V has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.5900–0.7047 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Agreed ASTM long products, typical P≤.040% and S≤.050%
IIW / CEV:≥ 0.7867Known-element contribution; incomplete value; V has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):≥ 0.5750Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing B; V has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.5900–0.7047 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.48 ~ 0.53
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
Mn0.7 ~ 0.9
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.8 ~ 1.1
V≥ 0.15 (upper limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Mo≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

UNS G61500 in the original table corresponds to SAE6150; both search names are retained and shall not be identified as different materials or cross-standard substitutions. ; Heat analysis wt%; V≥.15% has no specified upper limit; upper limits for vanadium from other ASTM standards shall not be applied. ; Note 1: For elements neither specified nor required in the original table, residual upper limits apply: Cu≤.35/Ni≤.25/Mo≤.06; Cr according to the alloy range. ; Note 6: P/S for Table 1 defaults to .030/.040; Flat products .030/.035 and ASTM long products .040/.050 are typical values by mutual agreement and shall not be automatically switched based on product shape. ; Note 4: other Si ranges may be agreed upon; no unified range is given, and it shall not be filled in arbitrarily. ; Note 5: addition of Pb .15–.35% requires the insertion of an L identifier in the grade; Do not mix leaded compositions into ordinary 6150. ; Elements listed in Note 7 must be reported, but not all have mandatory composition limits; Values below the reporting threshold shall not be treated as 0. ; Product-analysis tolerances under J409 require separate verification; Composition alone does not establish cold-heading supply or suitability for forming..

Original condition-branch records

Table 1 default P≤.030% and S≤.040%

ElementComposition requirement
C0.48 ~ 0.53
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
Mn0.7 ~ 0.9
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.8 ~ 1.1
V≥ 0.15 (upper limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Mo≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated)

Agreed flat products, typical P≤.030% and S≤.035%

ElementComposition requirement
C0.48 ~ 0.53
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
Mn0.7 ~ 0.9
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.8 ~ 1.1
V≥ 0.15 (upper limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Mo≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated)

Agreed ASTM long products, typical P≤.040% and S≤.050%

ElementComposition requirement
C0.48 ~ 0.53
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
Mn0.7 ~ 0.9
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.8 ~ 1.1
V≥ 0.15 (upper limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Mo≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated)

A condition branch must be selected

Yes

Verification notes

Corresponding entries and footnotes in the original English Table 1UNS were visually checked
WhatsApp Technical enquiry →