← BackMaterial grade directory

G51300

2 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.

Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.

Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for G51300 →

G51300 · ASTM A29/A29M-2012

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
ASTM A29/A29M-2012
Table / clause
Table 2 and Notes 1–4 and A

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.

Use the Si range specified in Table 2
IIW / CEV:0.5567–0.7520Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.3600–0.4673Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3900–0.5048 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Purchaser specifies Si≤0.10%, Table 2 note A
IIW / CEV:0.5567–0.7520Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.3550–0.4590Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3900–0.5048 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.28 ~ 0.33
Mn0.7 ~ 0.9
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
Cr0.8 ~ 1.1
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Mo≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

Composition limits are per ASTM A29/A29M-2012 Table 2, and name correspondence is per SAE J404:2009 Table 1; The two standard bases are retained separately. ; Table 2 Note 1: residual Cu≤.35/Ni≤.25/Cr≤.20/Mo≤.06, applicable only to elements not specified as alloying elements.; Specified alloy range takes priority. ; The tabulated range for Si and the buyer-specified option of ≤.10 shall be retained separately; they shall not be forcibly applied simultaneously.. ; The range refers to heat analysis; permissible deviations for finished products shall be governed separately by Table 6.; G43406 is E4340 and cannot be merged as general 4340.

Original condition-branch records

Use the Si range specified in Table 2

ElementComposition requirement
C0.28 ~ 0.33
Mn0.7 ~ 0.9
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
Cr0.8 ~ 1.1
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Mo≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated)

Purchaser specifies Si≤0.10%, Table 2 note A

ElementComposition requirement
C0.28 ~ 0.33
Mn0.7 ~ 0.9
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.8 ~ 1.1
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Mo≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated)

A condition branch must be selected

Yes

Verification notes

Original ASTM A29-2012 composition and SAE J404-2009 designation correspondence were checked separately

G51300 · SAE J404-2000

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
SAE J404-2000
Table / clause
Table 1 and notes 1–3; scope
PDF page references
1、2

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:0.5567–0.7520Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.3600–0.4673Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3900–0.5048 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.28 ~ 0.33
Mn0.7 ~ 0.9
Ni≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.8 ~ 1.1
Mo≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.15 ~ 0.35

Applicability and limitations

Standard dated 2000-6, Table 1; ladle analysis, mass fraction wt%.; Product analysis deviations shall be verified separately according to SAE J409, and shall not directly expand the table values. Note 1: For elements neither specified nor required in the original table, residual upper limits apply: Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo respectively ≤0.35/0.25/0.20/0.06%; Explicit alloy ranges shall take priority. Pb 0.15–0.35% must be separately specified as L-grade; it is not automatically added to ordinary grades. Al, Ti, Nb, and V must be reported regardless of whether they are specified; Values below 0.008% may be reported as <0.008%; this is a reporting threshold, not a uniform composition upper limit. Grades with E prefix are electric furnace steels, with P/S upper limits of 0.025% respectively, separated from ordinary grades. Applicable to billets, slabs, plate, wire rod and hot-rolled/cold-worked bar products, among other forms.; Chemical composition itself does not guarantee suitability for cold heading.

Verification notes

Original 2000 table rows and footnotes checked; the 50B46 issue is listed separately, and not all values are confirmed.
WhatsApp Technical enquiry →