← BackMaterial grade directory

CM35

1 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.

Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.

Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for CM35 →

Cm35 · DIN 17200-1987

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Carbon steel
Subcategory
Carbon steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
DIN 17200-1987-03
Table / clause
Table 2 and footnotes 1–5; 7.3.1–7.3.2
PDF page references
1、2、15、16、17

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:0.4033–0.5233 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.3450–0.4433 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.3700–0.4700 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.32 ~ 0.39
Mn0.5 ~ 0.8
Si≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S0.02 ~ 0.035

Applicability and limitations

Table 2 cast analysis, mass fraction wt%; Si is an upper limit and unspecified elements are not filled with zero. P/S requirements for the C, Ck and Cm series remain separate; S 0.020–0.035% in S-containing grades is a two-sided range. Note 1: unlisted elements may not be intentionally added without purchaser consent, except to complete melting; no fixed residual values are inferred. Table 3 contains permissible product-analysis deviations, not added to cast limits; applicable sizes and positive/negative directions are checked separately. Heat-treatment condition, hardenability and size-dependent properties require separate verification. The standard includes hot-rolled wire rod; chemistry alone is no cold-heading supply commitment. Note 2: small composition deviations, excluding P/S, may be agreed when ordering restricted hardenability bands or quenched-and-tempered/normalized properties, but may not exceed Table 3. These data retain the Table 2 baseline without automatic relaxation. Light-typeface grades in note 4 are for special applications only. Note 5 permits separate ordering of Pb 0.15–0.30% only for the marked C-series grades; not added to ordinary base compositions. Original material number 1.1180; not marked for special application under note 4.

Verification notes

March 1987, Table 2 and all footnotes transcribed; mechanical properties checked separately.
WhatsApp Technical enquiry →