← BackMaterial grade directory

C55

3 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.

Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.

Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for C55 →

C55 · DIN 17200-1987

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Carbon steel
Subcategory
Carbon steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
DIN 17200-1987-03
Table / clause
Table 2 and footnotes 1–5; 7.3.1–7.3.2
PDF page references
1、2、15、16、17

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.

Base composition in Table 2; the leaded condition in note 5 has not been ordered
IIW / CEV:0.6200–0.7500 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.5500–0.6583 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.5800–0.6900 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Only when expressly ordered by the purchaser under note 5: Pb0.15–0.30%
IIW / CEV:0.6200–0.7500 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.5500–0.6583 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.5800–0.6900 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.52 ~ 0.6
Mn0.6 ~ 0.9
Si≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

Table 2 cast analysis, mass fraction wt%; Si is an upper limit and unspecified elements are not filled with zero. P/S requirements for the C, Ck and Cm series remain separate; S 0.020–0.035% in S-containing grades is a two-sided range. Note 1: unlisted elements may not be intentionally added without purchaser consent, except to complete melting; no fixed residual values are inferred. Table 3 contains permissible product-analysis deviations, not added to cast limits; applicable sizes and positive/negative directions are checked separately. Heat-treatment condition, hardenability and size-dependent properties require separate verification. The standard includes hot-rolled wire rod; chemistry alone is no cold-heading supply commitment. Note 2: small composition deviations, excluding P/S, may be agreed when ordering restricted hardenability bands or quenched-and-tempered/normalized properties, but may not exceed Table 3. These data retain the Table 2 baseline without automatic relaxation. Light-typeface grades in note 4 are for special applications only. Note 5 permits separate ordering of Pb 0.15–0.30% only for the marked C-series grades; not added to ordinary base compositions. Original material number 1.0535; Note 4: special applications only.

Original condition-branch records

Base composition in Table 2; the leaded condition in note 5 has not been ordered

ElementComposition requirement
C0.52 ~ 0.6
Mn0.6 ~ 0.9
Si≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated)

Only when expressly ordered by the purchaser under note 5: Pb0.15–0.30%

ElementComposition requirement
C0.52 ~ 0.6
Mn0.6 ~ 0.9
Si≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated)
Pb0.15 ~ 0.3

A condition branch must be selected

Yes

Verification notes

March 1987, Table 2 and all footnotes transcribed; mechanical properties checked separately.

C55 · Ovako Product Catalogue CO-117 ENG 24:07 (2024)

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Bearing steel
Subcategory
Bearing steel
Material form
Bars, tubes, rings and precomponents
Composition basis
Manufacturer typical/nominal values, not guaranteed ranges
Original record status
Manufacturer source verified
Document edition
CO-117 ENG 24:07 ©Ovako 2024
Document title
Ovako Product Catalogue
PDF page references
42
Unit
Interpreted as mass fraction (%) using other documents from the same manufacturer; the unit is not explicitly stated in this table
Analysis type
Typical composition analysis
Manufacturer
Ovako

Source document

Carbon-equivalent reference

Manufacturer typical single values are composition references only; no range estimate is made. They are neither standard guarantees nor measured heat results; Formula applicability requires review against the intended use and process.

IIW / CEV: manufacturer typical/nominal single values are shown for reference only; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): manufacturer typical/nominal single values are shown for reference only; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
CET: manufacturer typical/nominal single values are shown for reference only; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
CTypical/nominal value 0.5 (not a guaranteed range)
SiTypical/nominal value 0.2 (not a guaranteed range)
MnTypical/nominal value 0.6 (not a guaranteed range)
CrTypical/nominal value 0.2 (not a guaranteed range)

Applicability and limitations

Ovako 2024 product catalogue, PDF page 42; manufacturer’s typical analysis, for composition reference only. The original header does not explicitly state units; interpreted using the manufacturer’s mass-fraction % information. Neither standard guaranteed values nor measured heat analysis. Excluded from limit-based reverse search and carbon-equivalent calculation; blanks and element names alone in the other-elements field are not filled with 0. Manufacturer code: 510.

Conditional requirement

Verification notes

All 170 rows of the 2021 original table were visually checked. Values in corresponding 2024 cells are unchanged; recognition differences were reviewed separately. Rows with conflicting values under the same code are excluded; values are not mixed across sections.

Source notes

Low hardenability for small components or after surface induction hardening.

C55 · Ovako Product Catalogue CO-117 ENG 24:07 (2024)

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Carbon steel
Subcategory
Carbon steel
Material form
Bars, tubes, rings and precomponents
Composition basis
Manufacturer typical/nominal values, not guaranteed ranges
Original record status
Manufacturer source verified
Document edition
CO-117 ENG 24:07 ©Ovako 2024
Document title
Ovako Product Catalogue
PDF page references
44
Unit
Interpreted as mass fraction (%) using other documents from the same manufacturer; the unit is not explicitly stated in this table
Analysis type
Typical composition analysis
Manufacturer
Ovako

Source document

Carbon-equivalent reference

Manufacturer typical single values are composition references only; no range estimate is made. They are neither standard guarantees nor measured heat results; Formula applicability requires review against the intended use and process.

IIW / CEV: manufacturer typical/nominal single values are shown for reference only; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): manufacturer typical/nominal single values are shown for reference only; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
CET: manufacturer typical/nominal single values are shown for reference only; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
CTypical/nominal value 0.55 (not a guaranteed range)
SiTypical/nominal value 0.2 (not a guaranteed range)
MnTypical/nominal value 0.8 (not a guaranteed range)

Applicability and limitations

Ovako 2024 product catalogue PDF, page 44. Manufacturer Typical analysis typical values are composition references only. Units are not explicitly stated in the original header and are interpreted as mass fraction % from the manufacturer's documentation. These are neither standard-guaranteed values nor measured heat-analysis results. They are excluded from limit-based reverse lookup and carbon-equivalent calculations. Blank entries, and Other given only as an element name, are not assigned 0. Manufacturer codes: 056, 8665.

Conditional requirement

Verification notes

All 170 rows of the 2021 original table were visually checked. Values in corresponding 2024 cells are unchanged; recognition differences were reviewed separately. Rows with conflicting values under the same code are excluded; values are not mixed across sections.

Source notes

Suitable for surface induction hardening to 660 HV
WhatsApp Technical enquiry →