C45EC
5 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for C45EC →C45EC · EN 10263
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Drawn wire
- Original record status
- Reference transcription of standard
- Standard edition
- BS EN 10263-4:2017
- Table / clause
- Table 3
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.42 ~ 0.5 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.5 ~ 0.8 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Heat analysis; see the source page for footnotes and agreement-based options. An unspecified range is not zero. The early temporary 2001 extraction has been replaced with the 2017 original. The website does not state an edition; this entry shows the edition of its source and does not establish contractual applicability.
Verification notes
Standard source: BS EN 10263-4:2017 · Table 3View associated products →C45EC · ISO 4954
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Cold-heading wire
- Original record status
- Reference transcription of standard
- Standard edition
- ISO 4954:2018
- Table / clause
- Table C.2
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.42 ~ 0.5 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.5 ~ 0.8 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
ISO 4954:2018; heat analysis, mass fraction %; values without a stated range are upper limits; see the source page for complete table footnotes. The website does not specify the edition; the source edition is shown here and does not establish contractual applicability.
Verification notes
Standard source: ISO 4954:2018 · Table C.2View associated products →C45EC · ISO 4954-2018
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Steel for quenching and tempering
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ISO 4954:2018
- Table / clause
- Table C.2
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.42 ~ 0.5 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.5 ~ 0.8 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
ISO 4954:2018, Table C.2 gives heat analysis; A single value is a maximum; a dash is not zero. ; Product-analysis tolerances are listed separately under Table 2/3 of the standard and do not directly widen the heat-analysis composition ranges. ; Optional Al0.020–0.050% to improve cold-heading performance; this is not a universal mandatory minimum. ; Low Si may be agreed in the order, taking hardenability into account; Where hardenability is required, the standard permits limited deviations, except for P/S; C must not exceed 0.01%; see Table 2 for the other requirements. ; For C, a range of width 0.04% may be agreed; it does not replace the tabulated range by default.
Verification notes
Table C.2 and its footnotes in the standard text were checked.C45EC · EN 10263-4-2017
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- EN 10263-4-2017
- Table / clause
- Table 3 and notes
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Default heat composition listed in the table; optional Al addition not selected.
Note 3: optional Al addition of 0.020–0.050% to improve cold-heading performance.
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.42 ~ 0.5 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.5 ~ 0.8 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
EN10263-4:2017, Table 3, heat analysis, mass percent. ; Elements not listed shall not be filled as 0; they shall not be intentionally added without the consent of the purchaser, except additions needed to finish steelmaking. ; Note 2 allows the specification of small deviations when hardenability requirements exist, but this does not involve P/S; The default composition range is not expanded here; it must be combined with specific hardenability ordering conditions. ; Note 3 allows Al 0.020–0.050% to be listed separately; it shall not be defaulted as mandatory aluminum content. ; Mechanical properties and delivery conditions are to be verified separately; the standard range is not a guarantee for the forming of arbitrary parts. ; Note a: lower Si may be agreed upon, but the influence on properties such as hardenability must be considered; do not fill in if no specific agreement range is provided. ; Note b allows a C range of 0.04% width by agreement; the example .33–.37 is not a uniform range for all grades.
Original condition-branch records
Default heat composition listed in the table; optional Al addition not selected.
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.42 ~ 0.5 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.5 ~ 0.8 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Note 3: optional Al addition of 0.020–0.050% to improve cold-heading performance.
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.42 ~ 0.5 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.5 ~ 0.8 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Al | 0.02 ~ 0.05 |
A condition branch must be selected
YesVerification notes
Visual check of Tables 3 and 4 and footnotes in the English originalC45EC · DIN EN 10263-4-2002
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- DIN EN 10263-4-2002
- Table / clause
- Table 2
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.42 ~ 0.5 |
| Si | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.5 ~ 0.8 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
DIN EN10263-4:2002-02 adopts EN10263-4:2001; the edition relationship is expressly identified on the cover; Heat-analysis mass percentages. ; Historical Table 2/3 contains no optional Al addition note for 2017; newer-edition conditions are not applied. ; Table 2, note c permits an agreed carbon range of width .04%; tabulated defaults are unchanged without a specific agreement. ; Table 2, note d and Table 3, note c permit agreed lower Si, considering effects on properties/hardenability; no range is invented where none is specified. ; Unlisted elements are not entered as zero; Table 2, note a: intentional additions without purchaser consent are prohibited except to finish the heat; residuals may be present but must not impair properties. ; Table 2, note b permits specified deviations where hardenability is required, except for P/S; The default composition range is not widened here. ; Mechanical properties, delivery and hardenability require separate verification; suitability for forming a specific component requires separate confirmation.