C25
2 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for C25 →C25 · DIN 17200-1987
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Carbon steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- DIN 17200-1987-03
- Table / clause
- Table 2 and footnotes 1–5; 7.3.1–7.3.2
- PDF page references
- 1、2、15、16、17
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Base composition in Table 2; the leaded condition in note 5 has not been ordered
Only when expressly ordered by the purchaser under note 5: Pb0.15–0.30%
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.22 ~ 0.29 |
| Mn | 0.4 ~ 0.7 |
| Si | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Table 2 cast analysis, mass fraction wt%; Si is an upper limit and unspecified elements are not filled with zero. P/S requirements for the C, Ck and Cm series remain separate; S 0.020–0.035% in S-containing grades is a two-sided range. Note 1: unlisted elements may not be intentionally added without purchaser consent, except to complete melting; no fixed residual values are inferred. Table 3 contains permissible product-analysis deviations, not added to cast limits; applicable sizes and positive/negative directions are checked separately. Heat-treatment condition, hardenability and size-dependent properties require separate verification. The standard includes hot-rolled wire rod; chemistry alone is no cold-heading supply commitment. Note 2: small composition deviations, excluding P/S, may be agreed when ordering restricted hardenability bands or quenched-and-tempered/normalized properties, but may not exceed Table 3. These data retain the Table 2 baseline without automatic relaxation. Light-typeface grades in note 4 are for special applications only. Note 5 permits separate ordering of Pb 0.15–0.30% only for the marked C-series grades; not added to ordinary base compositions. Original material number 1.0406; not marked for special application under note 4.
Original condition-branch records
Base composition in Table 2; the leaded condition in note 5 has not been ordered
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.22 ~ 0.29 |
| Mn | 0.4 ~ 0.7 |
| Si | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
Only when expressly ordered by the purchaser under note 5: Pb0.15–0.30%
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.22 ~ 0.29 |
| Mn | 0.4 ~ 0.7 |
| Si | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| Pb | 0.15 ~ 0.3 |
A condition branch must be selected
YesVerification notes
March 1987, Table 2 and all footnotes transcribed; mechanical properties checked separately.C25 · DIN EN 10277:2018-09
Original table in an informative annex verified; normative composition requirements and edition still require verification. For reference only.
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Carbon steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Composition basis
- Heat analysis in an informative annex; for reference only
- Verification status
- Original table in an informative annex verified; normative composition requirements and edition still require verification
- Standard edition
- DIN EN 10277:2018-09
- Table / clause
- Informative Annex A.1
- PDF page references
- 42
- Unit
- mass fraction (wt%)
- Analysis type
- Heat analysis (informative reference)
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.22 ~ 0.29 |
| Si | 0.1 ~ 0.4 |
| Mn | 0.4 ~ 0.7 |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
The original informative-annex table has been checked and is for reference only. Clause 7.1.2 requires chemical composition to be determined under the cited standard; the formal normative composition and applicable edition remain unverified. Do not use it as a delivery guarantee, a reverse-search acceptance criterion or a basis for standard-range carbon equivalent.
Composition conditions
- The original informative-annex table has been checked and is for reference only. Clause 7.1.2 requires chemical composition to be determined under the cited standard; the formal normative composition and applicable edition remain unverified. Do not use it as a delivery guarantee, a reverse-search acceptance criterion or a basis for standard-range carbon equivalent.
- Footnote b: raising S to approximately 0.10% or adding Pb must follow the enquiry requirements; When S is increased, the Mn maximum may be increased by 0.15%; this is not applied automatically.
- Footnote c: raising the S maximum to 0.005% requires agreement, sulfide treatment and Ca≥0.0020%; this is not enabled by default.
- Footnote d: exemption from the N maximum requires Alt≥0.020%, acid-soluble Al≥0.015% or sufficient other nitrogen-binding elements, stated in the certificate; This is not enabled on the basis of missing Al.
- Footnote e: Cu>0.40% may cause hot cracking during hot forming; Footnote f: reducing Si requires alternative deoxidation measures.
Combined limits
- Element-sum limits
- Elements concerned
- Cr
- Mo
- Ni
- Upper limit
- 0.63
- Additional source notes
- Cr+ Mo+Ni 0,63
Conditional requirement
- Footnote
- Informative boundary
- Source conditions
- The original informative annex table has been checked and is for reference only; Main-text 7.1.2 requires chemical composition to be determined under the referenced standards; the normative composition and applicable editions still require verification. It must not be used as a delivery guarantee, reverse-matching criterion or basis for carbon equivalent calculated from standard composition ranges. Main-text references: EN 10025-2 and EN ISO 683-1 (undated references; applicable editions awaiting verification).
- Footnote
- Original-table condition 1
- Source conditions
- Footnote b: raising S to approximately 0.10% or adding Pb must follow the enquiry requirements; When S is increased, the Mn maximum may be increased by 0.15%; this is not applied automatically.
- Footnote
- Original-table condition 2
- Source conditions
- Footnote c: raising the S maximum to 0.005% requires agreement, sulfide treatment and Ca≥0.0020%; this is not enabled by default.
- Footnote
- Original-table condition 3
- Source conditions
- Footnote d: exemption from the N maximum requires Alt≥0.020%, acid-soluble Al≥0.015% or sufficient other nitrogen-binding elements, stated in the certificate; This is not enabled on the basis of missing Al.
- Footnote
- Original-table condition 4
- Source conditions
- Footnote e: Cu>0.40% may cause hot cracking during hot forming; Footnote f: reducing Si requires alternative deoxidation measures.