C22
3 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for C22 →C22 · DIN 17200-1987
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Carbon steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- DIN 17200-1987-03
- Table / clause
- Table 2 and footnotes 1–5; 7.3.1–7.3.2
- PDF page references
- 1、2、15、16、17
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Base composition in Table 2; the leaded condition in note 5 has not been ordered
Only when expressly ordered by the purchaser under note 5: Pb0.15–0.30%
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.17 ~ 0.24 |
| Mn | 0.3 ~ 0.6 |
| Si | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Table 2 cast analysis, mass fraction wt%; Si is an upper limit and unspecified elements are not filled with zero. P/S requirements for the C, Ck and Cm series remain separate; S 0.020–0.035% in S-containing grades is a two-sided range. Note 1: unlisted elements may not be intentionally added without purchaser consent, except to complete melting; no fixed residual values are inferred. Table 3 contains permissible product-analysis deviations, not added to cast limits; applicable sizes and positive/negative directions are checked separately. Heat-treatment condition, hardenability and size-dependent properties require separate verification. The standard includes hot-rolled wire rod; chemistry alone is no cold-heading supply commitment. Note 2: small composition deviations, excluding P/S, may be agreed when ordering restricted hardenability bands or quenched-and-tempered/normalized properties, but may not exceed Table 3. These data retain the Table 2 baseline without automatic relaxation. Light-typeface grades in note 4 are for special applications only. Note 5 permits separate ordering of Pb 0.15–0.30% only for the marked C-series grades; not added to ordinary base compositions. Original material number 1.0402; Note 4: special applications only.
Original condition-branch records
Base composition in Table 2; the leaded condition in note 5 has not been ordered
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.17 ~ 0.24 |
| Mn | 0.3 ~ 0.6 |
| Si | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
Only when expressly ordered by the purchaser under note 5: Pb0.15–0.30%
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.17 ~ 0.24 |
| Mn | 0.3 ~ 0.6 |
| Si | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| Pb | 0.15 ~ 0.3 |
A condition branch must be selected
YesVerification notes
March 1987, Table 2 and all footnotes transcribed; mechanical properties checked separately.C22 · Q/BQB 130-2003
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Slab steels
- Material form
- Rough-rolled slabs for rerolling
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- Q/BQB 130—2003
- Table / clause
- 4.1.1, Table 3 and notes 1–3
- PDF page references
- 3、4
- Unit
- Mass fraction (wt%)
- Analysis type
- Heat analysis
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
K deoxidation method; Applies to finished plate thickness <5 mm
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.17 ~ 0.24 |
| Si | 0.1 ~ 0.4 |
| Mn | 0.25 ~ 0.75 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Q/BQB 130—2003 is a standard for slabs produced by initial rolling for subsequent rerolling. The finished plate thickness in Table 3 means the plate thickness after rerolling the slab, not slab thickness or wire diameter. Table 3 gives ladle analysis in mass fraction wt%; C = capped steel, A = aluminium-killed steel, G = aluminium-silicon-killed steel, K = silicon-killed steel. Read the applicable condition row; unlisted elements are not assumed to be zero. Note 3 to Table 3 requires slabs for thick plate (finished thickness ≥15 mm) to use G aluminium-silicon-killed steel; buyer and supplier must verify applicability of rows involving other deoxidation methods. Product-analysis tolerances for killed steel are separately governed by GB/T 222 and must not be mixed with Table 3 ladle-analysis values.
Original condition-branch records
K deoxidation method; Applies to finished plate thickness <5 mm
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.17 ~ 0.24 |
| Si | 0.1 ~ 0.4 |
| Mn | 0.25 ~ 0.75 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
- Combined limits
- PDF page references in the source
- 3
- Source table row number
- 32
A condition branch must be selected
YesVerification notes
Baosteel original Table 3, merged cells and notes checked row by row; select conditions by deoxidation method and finished-product thickness.C22 · Ovako Product Catalogue CO-117 ENG 24:07 (2024)
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Carbon steel
- Subcategory
- Carbon steel
- Material form
- Bars, tubes, rings and precomponents
- Composition basis
- Manufacturer typical/nominal values, not guaranteed ranges
- Original record status
- Manufacturer source verified
- Document edition
- CO-117 ENG 24:07 ©Ovako 2024
- Document title
- Ovako Product Catalogue
- PDF page references
- 44
- Unit
- Interpreted as mass fraction (%) using other documents from the same manufacturer; the unit is not explicitly stated in this table
- Analysis type
- Typical composition analysis
- Manufacturer
- Ovako
Carbon-equivalent reference
Manufacturer typical single values are composition references only; no range estimate is made. They are neither standard guarantees nor measured heat results; Formula applicability requires review against the intended use and process.
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | Typical/nominal value 0.21 (not a guaranteed range) |
| Si | Typical/nominal value 0.2 (not a guaranteed range) |
| Mn | Typical/nominal value 0.6 (not a guaranteed range) |
Applicability and limitations
Ovako 2024 product catalogue PDF, page 44. Manufacturer Typical analysis typical values are composition references only. Units are not explicitly stated in the original header and are interpreted as mass fraction % from the manufacturer's documentation. These are neither standard-guaranteed values nor measured heat-analysis results. They are excluded from limit-based reverse lookup and carbon-equivalent calculations. Blank entries, and Other given only as an element name, are not assigned 0. Manufacturer code: C22R.
Conditional requirement
- Footnote
- Units
- Source conditions
- The original table header does not state units explicitly; interpreted as mass fraction % using the manufacturer’s official chemistry information. This table does not itself print wt%.
- Footnote
- Typical analysis
- Source conditions
- All values are manufacturer’s typical single values, not limits or measured heat analysis; not used for limit-based reverse search or standard-range carbon equivalent.
- Footnote
- Grade designation
- Source conditions
- An asterisk after the original grade indicates a non-official EN standard designation, named only according to EN10027. This does not complete verification of the cited standard originals or editions.