← BackMaterial grade directory

C105U material reference

2 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.

Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.

Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for C105U →

C105U · ISO 4957-2018

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
ISO 4957-2018
Table / clause
Table2 and note a/b/c
PDF page references
13

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:1.0167–1.1667 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cr, Mo, V, Ni, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):1.0083–1.1300 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Cu, Cr, Ni, Mo, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:1.0100–1.1400 Known-item contribution, not a complete value; missing Mo, Cr, Cu, Ni CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C1 ~ 1.1
Si0.1 ~ 0.3
Mn0.1 ~ 0.4
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

Table 2 non-alloy cold-work tool steel, heat analysis mass fraction wt%, P/S each ≤.030%. ; Unlisted elements must not be intentionally added without purchaser consent, except additions needed to finish steelmaking; Unspecified Cr/Ni etc. shall not be filled as zero. ; Note a: hardness in cold-drawn state +A+C may be 20HBW higher than annealed +A; This review does not treat test temperatures or hardness as universal delivery properties.. ; Tool steel shall not be identified for cold heading purposes based on the name "cold-work"; specific products and forming suitability must be verified separately. ; Note c C70U to C120U are shallow-hardening steels; For a diameter of 30mm, the hardening depth is approximately 3mm; through-hardening may only be achieved for diameters up to 10mm, and is not guaranteed for arbitrary sizes..

Verification notes

All ranges and footnotes in original Table 2 were visually checked

C105U · BS EN ISO 4957:2018

Chemical-composition source verified. Properties and delivery conditions follow the sources and conditions stated here; actual supply and measured heat results are not verified by this reference.

Material category
Tool steel
Product form
Tool-steel standard reference; product form subject to the order
Standard edition
BS EN ISO 4957:2018
Table / clause
Table 2 and notes a/b/c
Source file
BS EN ISO 4957-2018-Tool steel.docx
Units
Mass fraction (wt%)
Analysis type
Cast analysis

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C1 ~ 1.1
Si0.1 ~ 0.3
Mn0.1 ~ 0.4
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

Cast analysis, mass fraction %. A dash means the standard gives no separate requirement; it does not mean zero. Unlisted elements shall not be intentionally added without purchaser consent, except additions needed to finish steelmaking. Permissible product-analysis deviations do not expand the default cast-analysis limits. Tool-steel classification and hardness depend on application, heat treatment and test conditions; they do not establish cold-heading suitability or guarantee properties in an arbitrary condition. Table 2: non-alloy cold-work tool steels; cast analysis, wt%; P and S each ≤.030%. Unlisted elements shall not be intentionally added without purchaser consent, except to finish steelmaking. Unspecified Cr, Ni and other elements are not entered as zero. The term cold-work tool steel does not establish cold-heading suitability. The product and forming application require separate assessment. Note c: C70U to C120U are shallow-hardening steels. A diameter of 30 mm gives a hardened depth of approximately 3 mm; through-hardening may be possible only up to 10 mm diameter. This is not a guarantee for arbitrary dimensions. C70U–C120U are shallow-hardening steels: at 30 mm diameter, hardened depth is approximately 3 mm; through-hardening may be possible only at diameters not exceeding 10 mm. Annealed and cold-drawn (+A+C) hardness may be 20 HBW higher than annealed (+A) hardness. Hardness values for different conditions must not be interchanged.

Composition and ordering conditions

Mechanical properties and delivery condition

PropertyStandard requirements and applicable conditions
Annealed hardness HBW / maximum212
Hardening testAustenitizing 780±10 °C ; water quenching ; 180±10 °C tempering ; hardness≥61 HRC

Mechanical-property provenance:BS EN ISO 4957:2018 · Table 2 and notes a/b/c · Standard tables embedded in the Word document supplied by the user

Verification notes

Checked against the standard text and table notes supplied by the user. Applicability to a specific order requires separate confirmation.

Linked products

View linked products for C105U →

WhatsApp Technical enquiry →