← BackMaterial grade directory

A194 GRADE 8T

5 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.

Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.

Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for A194 GRADE 8T →

A194 Grade 8T · ASTM A194/A194M-2020

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Stainless steel
Subcategory
Stainless steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
ASTM A194/A194M-2020
Table / clause
Table 1 · Footnotes A–I; Scope 1.1–1.5
PDF page references
2、4、5

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV: not directly applicable to this material category
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): not directly applicable to this material category
CET: not directly applicable to this material category

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated)
Mn≤ 2 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 1 (lower limit not stated)
Cr17 ~ 19
Ni9 ~ 12
N≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated)
Ti≤ 0.7 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

ASTM A194/A194M—2020 chemical requirements for nut materials, mass fraction wt%; Cold heading supply or finished product strength cannot be directly inferred from the grade composition. Table 1 Note C: Values without a specified lower limit or range are upper limits; Ellipses indicate no requirement; measurement or reporting is not required, and shall not be filled as zero. Table 1 Note A: Intentional addition of Bi/Se/Te/Pb is not permitted; This exception applies only to types where Se is explicitly specified in 6F, 8F, and 8FA; Se shall not be added to all types. Note E: Finished product analysis where S exceeds the upper limit of 0.060% is technically unsuitable; Finished product analysis deviations shall be verified separately according to the original text; heat limits shall not be relaxed. A suffixes, as well as heat treatment, dimensional, and manufacturing requirements, shall be retained separately; grades shall not be merged based on identical composition. The adoption relationship of ASME SA-194 has not been confirmed for this batch; Original texts of 2016, 2023 and 2026 have not been verified; the displayed composition is based only on 2020. Ti ≥ 5 × (measured C + N) and ≤ 0.70%, N ≤ 0.10%.

Combined limits

Combined-element limits
  • Requirement
    Ti≥5(C+N)
    Element coefficient
    Ti
    1
    C
    -5
    N
    -5
    Lower limit
    0

Verification notes

Table 1 and footnotes in the 2020 original have been checked; newer editions and the ASME adoption relationship require separate verification.

A194 Grade 8T · ASTM A194/A194M-2023

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Stainless steel
Subcategory
Stainless steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Historical-edition reference
Standard edition
ASTM A194/A194M-2020
Table / clause
Table 1 · Footnotes A–I; Scope 1.1–1.5
PDF page references
2、4、5

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV: not directly applicable to this material category
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): not directly applicable to this material category
CET: not directly applicable to this material category

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated)
Mn≤ 2 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 1 (lower limit not stated)
Cr17 ~ 19
Ni9 ~ 12
N≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated)
Ti≤ 0.7 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

ASTM A194/A194M—2020 chemical requirements for nut materials, mass fraction wt%; Cold heading supply or finished product strength cannot be directly inferred from the grade composition. Table 1 Note C: Values without a specified lower limit or range are upper limits; Ellipses indicate no requirement; measurement or reporting is not required, and shall not be filled as zero. Table 1 Note A: Intentional addition of Bi/Se/Te/Pb is not permitted; This exception applies only to types where Se is explicitly specified in 6F, 8F, and 8FA; Se shall not be added to all types. Note E: Finished product analysis where S exceeds the upper limit of 0.060% is technically unsuitable; Finished product analysis deviations shall be verified separately according to the original text; heat limits shall not be relaxed. A suffixes, as well as heat treatment, dimensional, and manufacturing requirements, shall be retained separately; grades shall not be merged based on identical composition. The adoption relationship of ASME SA-194 has not been confirmed for this batch; Original texts of 2016, 2023 and 2026 have not been verified; the displayed composition is based only on 2020. Ti ≥ 5 × (measured C + N) and ≤ 0.70%, N ≤ 0.10%.

Combined limits

Combined-element limits
  • Requirement
    Ti≥5(C+N)
    Element coefficient
    Ti
    1
    C
    -5
    N
    -5
    Lower limit
    0

Verification notes

Table 1 and footnotes in the 2020 original have been checked; newer editions and the ASME adoption relationship require separate verification.

A194 Grade 8T · ASTM A194/A194M-2026

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Stainless steel
Subcategory
Stainless steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Historical-edition reference
Standard edition
ASTM A194/A194M-2020
Table / clause
Table 1 · Footnotes A–I; Scope 1.1–1.5
PDF page references
2、4、5

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV: not directly applicable to this material category
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): not directly applicable to this material category
CET: not directly applicable to this material category

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated)
Mn≤ 2 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 1 (lower limit not stated)
Cr17 ~ 19
Ni9 ~ 12
N≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated)
Ti≤ 0.7 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

ASTM A194/A194M—2020 chemical requirements for nut materials, mass fraction wt%; Cold heading supply or finished product strength cannot be directly inferred from the grade composition. Table 1 Note C: Values without a specified lower limit or range are upper limits; Ellipses indicate no requirement; measurement or reporting is not required, and shall not be filled as zero. Table 1 Note A: Intentional addition of Bi/Se/Te/Pb is not permitted; This exception applies only to types where Se is explicitly specified in 6F, 8F, and 8FA; Se shall not be added to all types. Note E: Finished product analysis where S exceeds the upper limit of 0.060% is technically unsuitable; Finished product analysis deviations shall be verified separately according to the original text; heat limits shall not be relaxed. A suffixes, as well as heat treatment, dimensional, and manufacturing requirements, shall be retained separately; grades shall not be merged based on identical composition. The adoption relationship of ASME SA-194 has not been confirmed for this batch; Original texts of 2016, 2023 and 2026 have not been verified; the displayed composition is based only on 2020. Ti ≥ 5 × (measured C + N) and ≤ 0.70%, N ≤ 0.10%.

Combined limits

Combined-element limits
  • Requirement
    Ti≥5(C+N)
    Element coefficient
    Ti
    1
    C
    -5
    N
    -5
    Lower limit
    0

Verification notes

Table 1 and footnotes in the 2020 original have been checked; newer editions and the ASME adoption relationship require separate verification.

A194 Grade 8T · ASTM A194/A194M-2020

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Stainless steel
Subcategory
Stainless steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
ASTM A194/A194M-2020
Table / clause
Table 1 · Footnotes A–I; Scope 1.1–1.5
PDF page references
2、4、5

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV: not directly applicable to this material category
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): not directly applicable to this material category
CET: not directly applicable to this material category

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated)
Mn≤ 2 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 1 (lower limit not stated)
Cr17 ~ 19
Ni9 ~ 12
N≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated)
Ti≤ 0.7 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

ASTM A194/A194M—2020 chemical requirements for nut materials, mass fraction wt%; Cold heading supply or finished product strength cannot be directly inferred from the grade composition. Table 1 Note C: Values without a specified lower limit or range are upper limits; Ellipses indicate no requirement; measurement or reporting is not required, and shall not be filled as zero. Table 1 Note A: Intentional addition of Bi/Se/Te/Pb is not permitted; This exception applies only to types where Se is explicitly specified in 6F, 8F, and 8FA; Se shall not be added to all types. Note E: Finished product analysis where S exceeds the upper limit of 0.060% is technically unsuitable; Finished product analysis deviations shall be verified separately according to the original text; heat limits shall not be relaxed. A suffixes, as well as heat treatment, dimensional, and manufacturing requirements, shall be retained separately; grades shall not be merged based on identical composition. The adoption relationship of ASME SA-194 has not been confirmed for this batch; Original texts of 2016, 2023 and 2026 have not been verified; the displayed composition is based only on 2020. Ti ≥ 5 × (measured C + N) and ≤ 0.70%, N ≤ 0.10%.

Combined limits

Combined-element limits
  • Requirement
    Ti≥5(C+N)
    Element coefficient
    Ti
    1
    C
    -5
    N
    -5
    Lower limit
    0

Verification notes

Table 1 and footnotes in the 2020 original have been checked; newer editions and the ASME adoption relationship require separate verification.

A194 Grade 8T · ASTM A194/194M-2016

Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference

Material category
Stainless steel
Subcategory
Austenitic stainless steel
Material form
Reference record
Verification status
Reference data; original source not verified

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV: not directly applicable to this material category
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): not directly applicable to this material category
CET: not directly applicable to this material category

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated)
Cr17 ~ 19
Mn≤ 2 (lower limit not stated)
N≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated)
Ni9 ~ 12
P≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 1 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

A match in the materials database does not establish suitability for cold heading or guarantee finished-product strength. Confirmation must consider wire condition, deformation, heat treatment and tests on actual parts.

WhatsApp Technical enquiry →