A194 GRADE 8MN
1 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for A194 GRADE 8MN →A194 Grade 8MN · ASTM A194/A194M-2020
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ASTM A194/A194M-2020
- Table / clause
- Table 1 · Footnotes A–I; Scope 1.1–1.5
- PDF page references
- 2、4、5
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 2 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 16 ~ 18 |
| Ni | 10 ~ 13 |
| Mo | 2 ~ 3 |
| N | 0.1 ~ 0.16 |
Applicability and limitations
ASTM A194/A194M—2020 specifies chemical requirements for nut materials, mass fraction (wt%); grade chemistry alone does not establish cold-heading supply or finished-product strength. Table 1 note C: a value without a stated minimum or range is a maximum; an ellipsis means no requirement and need not be determined or reported—it is not zero. Table 1 note A: intentional additions of Bi/Se/Te/Pb are not allowed; the exception applies only to types 6F, 8F and 8FA where Se is expressly specified, and does not add Se to all types. Note E: product analysis for S above the 0.060% maximum is technically inadvisable; product-analysis tolerances must be checked separately against the source and do not relax ladle limits. The A suffix and heat-treatment, dimensional and manufacturing requirements remain separate; grades are not merged based on matching chemistry. This batch did not confirm adoption of ASME SA-194; the 2016, 2023 and 2026 texts were not checked, and the only composition basis is the 2020 edition.