A194 GRADE 8CA
5 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for A194 GRADE 8CA →A194 Grade 8CA · ASTM A194/A194M-2020
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ASTM A194/A194M-2020
- Table / clause
- Table 1 · Footnotes A–I; Scope 1.1–1.5
- PDF page references
- 2、4、5
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 2 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 17 ~ 19 |
| Ni | 9 ~ 12 |
| Nb | ≤ 1.1 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
ASTM A194/A194M—2020 chemical requirements for nut materials, mass fraction wt%; Cold heading supply or finished product strength cannot be directly inferred from the grade composition. Table 1 Note C: Values without a specified lower limit or range are upper limits; Ellipses indicate no requirement; measurement or reporting is not required, and shall not be filled as zero. Table 1 Note A: Intentional addition of Bi/Se/Te/Pb is not permitted; This exception applies only to types where Se is explicitly specified in 6F, 8F, and 8FA; Se shall not be added to all types. Note E: Finished product analysis where S exceeds the upper limit of 0.060% is technically unsuitable; Finished product analysis deviations shall be verified separately according to the original text; heat limits shall not be relaxed. A suffixes, as well as heat treatment, dimensional, and manufacturing requirements, shall be retained separately; grades shall not be merged based on identical composition. The adoption relationship of ASME SA-194 has not been confirmed for this batch; Original texts of 2016, 2023 and 2026 have not been verified; the displayed composition is based only on 2020. Nb ≥ 10 × measured C and ≤ 1.10%; Nb and Cb are the same element.
Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
- Requirement
- Nb≥10C
- Element coefficient
- Nb
- 1
- C
- -10
- Lower limit
- 0
Verification notes
Table 1 and footnotes in the 2020 original have been checked; newer editions and the ASME adoption relationship require separate verification.A194 Grade 8CA · ASTM A194/A194M-2023
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Historical-edition reference
- Standard edition
- ASTM A194/A194M-2020
- Table / clause
- Table 1 · Footnotes A–I; Scope 1.1–1.5
- PDF page references
- 2、4、5
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 2 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 17 ~ 19 |
| Ni | 9 ~ 12 |
| Nb | ≤ 1.1 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
ASTM A194/A194M—2020 chemical requirements for nut materials, mass fraction wt%; Cold heading supply or finished product strength cannot be directly inferred from the grade composition. Table 1 Note C: Values without a specified lower limit or range are upper limits; Ellipses indicate no requirement; measurement or reporting is not required, and shall not be filled as zero. Table 1 Note A: Intentional addition of Bi/Se/Te/Pb is not permitted; This exception applies only to types where Se is explicitly specified in 6F, 8F, and 8FA; Se shall not be added to all types. Note E: Finished product analysis where S exceeds the upper limit of 0.060% is technically unsuitable; Finished product analysis deviations shall be verified separately according to the original text; heat limits shall not be relaxed. A suffixes, as well as heat treatment, dimensional, and manufacturing requirements, shall be retained separately; grades shall not be merged based on identical composition. The adoption relationship of ASME SA-194 has not been confirmed for this batch; Original texts of 2016, 2023 and 2026 have not been verified; the displayed composition is based only on 2020. Nb ≥ 10 × measured C and ≤ 1.10%; Nb and Cb are the same element.
Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
- Requirement
- Nb≥10C
- Element coefficient
- Nb
- 1
- C
- -10
- Lower limit
- 0
Verification notes
Table 1 and footnotes in the 2020 original have been checked; newer editions and the ASME adoption relationship require separate verification.A194 Grade 8CA · ASTM A194/A194M-2026
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Historical-edition reference
- Standard edition
- ASTM A194/A194M-2020
- Table / clause
- Table 1 · Footnotes A–I; Scope 1.1–1.5
- PDF page references
- 2、4、5
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 2 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 17 ~ 19 |
| Ni | 9 ~ 12 |
| Nb | ≤ 1.1 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
ASTM A194/A194M—2020 chemical requirements for nut materials, mass fraction wt%; Cold heading supply or finished product strength cannot be directly inferred from the grade composition. Table 1 Note C: Values without a specified lower limit or range are upper limits; Ellipses indicate no requirement; measurement or reporting is not required, and shall not be filled as zero. Table 1 Note A: Intentional addition of Bi/Se/Te/Pb is not permitted; This exception applies only to types where Se is explicitly specified in 6F, 8F, and 8FA; Se shall not be added to all types. Note E: Finished product analysis where S exceeds the upper limit of 0.060% is technically unsuitable; Finished product analysis deviations shall be verified separately according to the original text; heat limits shall not be relaxed. A suffixes, as well as heat treatment, dimensional, and manufacturing requirements, shall be retained separately; grades shall not be merged based on identical composition. The adoption relationship of ASME SA-194 has not been confirmed for this batch; Original texts of 2016, 2023 and 2026 have not been verified; the displayed composition is based only on 2020. Nb ≥ 10 × measured C and ≤ 1.10%; Nb and Cb are the same element.
Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
- Requirement
- Nb≥10C
- Element coefficient
- Nb
- 1
- C
- -10
- Lower limit
- 0
Verification notes
Table 1 and footnotes in the 2020 original have been checked; newer editions and the ASME adoption relationship require separate verification.A194 Grade 8CA · ASTM A194/A194M-2020
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ASTM A194/A194M-2020
- Table / clause
- Table 1 · Footnotes A–I; Scope 1.1–1.5
- PDF page references
- 2、4、5
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 2 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 17 ~ 19 |
| Ni | 9 ~ 12 |
| Nb | ≤ 1.1 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
ASTM A194/A194M—2020 chemical requirements for nut materials, mass fraction wt%; Cold heading supply or finished product strength cannot be directly inferred from the grade composition. Table 1 Note C: Values without a specified lower limit or range are upper limits; Ellipses indicate no requirement; measurement or reporting is not required, and shall not be filled as zero. Table 1 Note A: Intentional addition of Bi/Se/Te/Pb is not permitted; This exception applies only to types where Se is explicitly specified in 6F, 8F, and 8FA; Se shall not be added to all types. Note E: Finished product analysis where S exceeds the upper limit of 0.060% is technically unsuitable; Finished product analysis deviations shall be verified separately according to the original text; heat limits shall not be relaxed. A suffixes, as well as heat treatment, dimensional, and manufacturing requirements, shall be retained separately; grades shall not be merged based on identical composition. The adoption relationship of ASME SA-194 has not been confirmed for this batch; Original texts of 2016, 2023 and 2026 have not been verified; the displayed composition is based only on 2020. Nb ≥ 10 × measured C and ≤ 1.10%; Nb and Cb are the same element.
Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
- Requirement
- Nb≥10C
- Element coefficient
- Nb
- 1
- C
- -10
- Lower limit
- 0
Verification notes
Table 1 and footnotes in the 2020 original have been checked; newer editions and the ASME adoption relationship require separate verification.A194 Grade 8CA · ASTM A194/194M-2016
Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Austenitic stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Verification status
- Reference data; original source not verified
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 17 ~ 19 |
| Mn | ≤ 2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | 9 ~ 12 |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
A match in the materials database does not establish suitability for cold heading or guarantee finished-product strength. Confirmation must consider wire condition, deformation, heat treatment and tests on actual parts.