A194 GRADE 8
5 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for A194 GRADE 8 →A194 Grade 8 · ASTM A194/A194M-2020
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ASTM A194/A194M-2020
- Table / clause
- Table 1 · Footnotes A–I; Scope 1.1–1.5
- PDF page references
- 2、4、5
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 2 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 18 ~ 20 |
| Ni | 8 ~ 11 |
Applicability and limitations
ASTM A194/A194M—2020 specifies chemical requirements for nut materials, mass fraction (wt%); grade chemistry alone does not establish cold-heading supply or finished-product strength. Table 1 note C: a value without a stated minimum or range is a maximum; an ellipsis means no requirement and need not be determined or reported—it is not zero. Table 1 note A: intentional additions of Bi/Se/Te/Pb are not allowed; the exception applies only to types 6F, 8F and 8FA where Se is expressly specified, and does not add Se to all types. Note E: product analysis for S above the 0.060% maximum is technically inadvisable; product-analysis tolerances must be checked separately against the source and do not relax ladle limits. The A suffix and heat-treatment, dimensional and manufacturing requirements remain separate; grades are not merged based on matching chemistry. This batch did not confirm adoption of ASME SA-194; the 2016, 2023 and 2026 texts were not checked, and the only composition basis is the 2020 edition.
Verification notes
Table 1 and footnotes in the 2020 original have been checked; newer editions and the ASME adoption relationship require separate verification.A194 Grade 8 · ASTM A194/A194M-2023
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Historical-edition reference
- Standard edition
- ASTM A194/A194M-2020
- Table / clause
- Table 1 · Footnotes A–I; Scope 1.1–1.5
- PDF page references
- 2、4、5
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 2 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 18 ~ 20 |
| Ni | 8 ~ 11 |
Applicability and limitations
ASTM A194/A194M—2020 specifies chemical requirements for nut materials, mass fraction (wt%); grade chemistry alone does not establish cold-heading supply or finished-product strength. Table 1 note C: a value without a stated minimum or range is a maximum; an ellipsis means no requirement and need not be determined or reported—it is not zero. Table 1 note A: intentional additions of Bi/Se/Te/Pb are not allowed; the exception applies only to types 6F, 8F and 8FA where Se is expressly specified, and does not add Se to all types. Note E: product analysis for S above the 0.060% maximum is technically inadvisable; product-analysis tolerances must be checked separately against the source and do not relax ladle limits. The A suffix and heat-treatment, dimensional and manufacturing requirements remain separate; grades are not merged based on matching chemistry. This batch did not confirm adoption of ASME SA-194; the 2016, 2023 and 2026 texts were not checked, and the only composition basis is the 2020 edition.
Verification notes
Table 1 and footnotes in the 2020 original have been checked; newer editions and the ASME adoption relationship require separate verification.A194 Grade 8 · ASTM A194/A194M-2026
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Historical-edition reference
- Standard edition
- ASTM A194/A194M-2020
- Table / clause
- Table 1 · Footnotes A–I; Scope 1.1–1.5
- PDF page references
- 2、4、5
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 2 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 18 ~ 20 |
| Ni | 8 ~ 11 |
Applicability and limitations
ASTM A194/A194M—2020 specifies chemical requirements for nut materials, mass fraction (wt%); grade chemistry alone does not establish cold-heading supply or finished-product strength. Table 1 note C: a value without a stated minimum or range is a maximum; an ellipsis means no requirement and need not be determined or reported—it is not zero. Table 1 note A: intentional additions of Bi/Se/Te/Pb are not allowed; the exception applies only to types 6F, 8F and 8FA where Se is expressly specified, and does not add Se to all types. Note E: product analysis for S above the 0.060% maximum is technically inadvisable; product-analysis tolerances must be checked separately against the source and do not relax ladle limits. The A suffix and heat-treatment, dimensional and manufacturing requirements remain separate; grades are not merged based on matching chemistry. This batch did not confirm adoption of ASME SA-194; the 2016, 2023 and 2026 texts were not checked, and the only composition basis is the 2020 edition.
Verification notes
Table 1 and footnotes in the 2020 original have been checked; newer editions and the ASME adoption relationship require separate verification.A194 Grade 8 · ASTM A194/A194M-2020
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ASTM A194/A194M-2020
- Table / clause
- Table 1 · Footnotes A–I; Scope 1.1–1.5
- PDF page references
- 2、4、5
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 2 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 18 ~ 20 |
| Ni | 8 ~ 11 |
Applicability and limitations
ASTM A194/A194M—2020 specifies chemical requirements for nut materials, mass fraction (wt%); grade chemistry alone does not establish cold-heading supply or finished-product strength. Table 1 note C: a value without a stated minimum or range is a maximum; an ellipsis means no requirement and need not be determined or reported—it is not zero. Table 1 note A: intentional additions of Bi/Se/Te/Pb are not allowed; the exception applies only to types 6F, 8F and 8FA where Se is expressly specified, and does not add Se to all types. Note E: product analysis for S above the 0.060% maximum is technically inadvisable; product-analysis tolerances must be checked separately against the source and do not relax ladle limits. The A suffix and heat-treatment, dimensional and manufacturing requirements remain separate; grades are not merged based on matching chemistry. This batch did not confirm adoption of ASME SA-194; the 2016, 2023 and 2026 texts were not checked, and the only composition basis is the 2020 edition.
Verification notes
Table 1 and footnotes in the 2020 original have been checked; newer editions and the ASME adoption relationship require separate verification.A194 Grade 8 · ASTM A194/194M-2016
Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Austenitic stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Verification status
- Reference data; original source not verified
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 18 ~ 20 |
| Mn | ≤ 2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | 8 ~ 11 |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
A match in the materials database does not establish suitability for cold heading or guarantee finished-product strength. Confirmation must consider wire condition, deformation, heat treatment and tests on actual parts.