← BackMaterial grade directory

A194 GRADE 3

5 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.

Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.

Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for A194 GRADE 3 →

A194 Grade 3 · ASTM A194/A194M-2020

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
ASTM A194/A194M-2020
Table / clause
Table 1 · Footnotes A–I; Scope 1.1–1.5
PDF page references
2、4、5

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:≥ 0.9800Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, Ni, Cu; C has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):≥ 0.3267Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cu, Ni, V, B; C has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:≥ 0.3400Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cu, Ni; C has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C≥ 0.1 (upper limit not stated)
Mn≤ 1 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 1 (lower limit not stated)
Cr4 ~ 6
Mo0.4 ~ 0.65

Applicability and limitations

ASTM A194/A194M—2020 specifies chemical requirements for nut materials, mass fraction (wt%); grade chemistry alone does not establish cold-heading supply or finished-product strength. Table 1 note C: a value without a stated minimum or range is a maximum; an ellipsis means no requirement and need not be determined or reported—it is not zero. Table 1 note A: intentional additions of Bi/Se/Te/Pb are not allowed; the exception applies only to types 6F, 8F and 8FA where Se is expressly specified, and does not add Se to all types. Note E: product analysis for S above the 0.060% maximum is technically inadvisable; product-analysis tolerances must be checked separately against the source and do not relax ladle limits. The A suffix and heat-treatment, dimensional and manufacturing requirements remain separate; grades are not merged based on matching chemistry. This batch did not confirm adoption of ASME SA-194; the 2016, 2023 and 2026 texts were not checked, and the only composition basis is the 2020 edition.

Verification notes

Table 1 and footnotes in the 2020 original have been checked; newer editions and the ASME adoption relationship require separate verification.

A194 Grade 3 · ASTM A194/A194M-2023

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Historical-edition reference
Standard edition
ASTM A194/A194M-2020
Table / clause
Table 1 · Footnotes A–I; Scope 1.1–1.5
PDF page references
2、4、5

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:≥ 0.9800Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, Ni, Cu; C has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):≥ 0.3267Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cu, Ni, V, B; C has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:≥ 0.3400Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cu, Ni; C has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C≥ 0.1 (upper limit not stated)
Mn≤ 1 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 1 (lower limit not stated)
Cr4 ~ 6
Mo0.4 ~ 0.65

Applicability and limitations

ASTM A194/A194M—2020 specifies chemical requirements for nut materials, mass fraction (wt%); grade chemistry alone does not establish cold-heading supply or finished-product strength. Table 1 note C: a value without a stated minimum or range is a maximum; an ellipsis means no requirement and need not be determined or reported—it is not zero. Table 1 note A: intentional additions of Bi/Se/Te/Pb are not allowed; the exception applies only to types 6F, 8F and 8FA where Se is expressly specified, and does not add Se to all types. Note E: product analysis for S above the 0.060% maximum is technically inadvisable; product-analysis tolerances must be checked separately against the source and do not relax ladle limits. The A suffix and heat-treatment, dimensional and manufacturing requirements remain separate; grades are not merged based on matching chemistry. This batch did not confirm adoption of ASME SA-194; the 2016, 2023 and 2026 texts were not checked, and the only composition basis is the 2020 edition.

Verification notes

Table 1 and footnotes in the 2020 original have been checked; newer editions and the ASME adoption relationship require separate verification.

A194 Grade 3 · ASTM A194/A194M-2026

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Historical-edition reference
Standard edition
ASTM A194/A194M-2020
Table / clause
Table 1 · Footnotes A–I; Scope 1.1–1.5
PDF page references
2、4、5

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:≥ 0.9800Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, Ni, Cu; C has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):≥ 0.3267Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cu, Ni, V, B; C has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:≥ 0.3400Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cu, Ni; C has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C≥ 0.1 (upper limit not stated)
Mn≤ 1 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 1 (lower limit not stated)
Cr4 ~ 6
Mo0.4 ~ 0.65

Applicability and limitations

ASTM A194/A194M—2020 specifies chemical requirements for nut materials, mass fraction (wt%); grade chemistry alone does not establish cold-heading supply or finished-product strength. Table 1 note C: a value without a stated minimum or range is a maximum; an ellipsis means no requirement and need not be determined or reported—it is not zero. Table 1 note A: intentional additions of Bi/Se/Te/Pb are not allowed; the exception applies only to types 6F, 8F and 8FA where Se is expressly specified, and does not add Se to all types. Note E: product analysis for S above the 0.060% maximum is technically inadvisable; product-analysis tolerances must be checked separately against the source and do not relax ladle limits. The A suffix and heat-treatment, dimensional and manufacturing requirements remain separate; grades are not merged based on matching chemistry. This batch did not confirm adoption of ASME SA-194; the 2016, 2023 and 2026 texts were not checked, and the only composition basis is the 2020 edition.

Verification notes

Table 1 and footnotes in the 2020 original have been checked; newer editions and the ASME adoption relationship require separate verification.

A194 Grade 3 · ASTM A194/A194M-2020

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
ASTM A194/A194M-2020
Table / clause
Table 1 · Footnotes A–I; Scope 1.1–1.5
PDF page references
2、4、5

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:≥ 0.9800Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, Ni, Cu; C has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):≥ 0.3267Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cu, Ni, V, B; C has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:≥ 0.3400Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cu, Ni; C has no specified upper limit; the carbon-equivalent upper bound cannot be determined CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C≥ 0.1 (upper limit not stated)
Mn≤ 1 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 1 (lower limit not stated)
Cr4 ~ 6
Mo0.4 ~ 0.65

Applicability and limitations

ASTM A194/A194M—2020 specifies chemical requirements for nut materials, mass fraction (wt%); grade chemistry alone does not establish cold-heading supply or finished-product strength. Table 1 note C: a value without a stated minimum or range is a maximum; an ellipsis means no requirement and need not be determined or reported—it is not zero. Table 1 note A: intentional additions of Bi/Se/Te/Pb are not allowed; the exception applies only to types 6F, 8F and 8FA where Se is expressly specified, and does not add Se to all types. Note E: product analysis for S above the 0.060% maximum is technically inadvisable; product-analysis tolerances must be checked separately against the source and do not relax ladle limits. The A suffix and heat-treatment, dimensional and manufacturing requirements remain separate; grades are not merged based on matching chemistry. This batch did not confirm adoption of ASME SA-194; the 2016, 2023 and 2026 texts were not checked, and the only composition basis is the 2020 edition.

Verification notes

Table 1 and footnotes in the 2020 original have been checked; newer editions and the ASME adoption relationship require separate verification.

A194 Grade 3 · ASTM A194/194M-2016

Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Reference record
Verification status
Reference data; original source not verified

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV: composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
CET: composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C≥ 0.1 (upper limit not stated)
Cr4 ~ 6
Mn≤ 1 (lower limit not stated)
Mo0.4 ~ 0.65
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 1 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

A match in the materials database does not establish suitability for cold heading or guarantee finished-product strength. Confirmation must consider wire condition, deformation, heat treatment and tests on actual parts.

WhatsApp Technical enquiry →