← BackMaterial grade directory

9310H

2 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.

Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.

Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for 9310H →

9310H · ASTM A534-2017

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
ASTM A534-2017
Table / clause
Table1 and note A/B/D; 5.1–5.3
PDF page references
1、2

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.

Heat analysis (oxygen limit not applicable)
IIW / CEV:0.5493–0.8233Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1995–0.3333Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2418–0.3913 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Product oxygen requirement; Product-analysis tolerances for other elements require separate verification
IIW / CEV:0.5493–0.8233Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1995–0.3333Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2418–0.3913 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.07 ~ 0.13
Mn0.4 ~ 0.7
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.015 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
Al≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Cr1 ~ 1.45
Ni2.95 ~ 3.55
Mo0.08 ~ 0.15

Applicability and limitations

Table 1 gives example grades of case-hardening bearing steel; Clause 5.1 permits other compositions to be specified.; 5.2 Acceptance shall be based on the table values of the ordered grade or agreement between both parties. ; Heat analysis wt%; Table 1, Note D: Oxygen≤.0020% applies only to product analysis; no oxygen limit is shown in the default heat-analysis group.. ; The product-analysis group adds only the oxygen requirement in the original table.; Product-analysis tolerances for other elements require separate verification under A29/A29M; the heat-analysis limits have not been automatically expanded.. ; Note B: Calcium/calcium alloys shall not be intentionally added for deoxidation or inclusion morphology control without explicit approval from the purchaser. ; Do not enter zero for elements shown as unspecified by a dash.; Use for case-hardened bearings does not establish availability as cold-heading wire..

Original condition-branch records

Heat analysis (oxygen limit not applicable)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.07 ~ 0.13
Mn0.4 ~ 0.7
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.015 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
Al≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Cr1 ~ 1.45
Ni2.95 ~ 3.55
Mo0.08 ~ 0.15

Product oxygen requirement; Product-analysis tolerances for other elements require separate verification

ElementComposition requirement
C0.07 ~ 0.13
Mn0.4 ~ 0.7
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.015 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.3 (lower limit not stated)
Al≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Cr1 ~ 1.45
Ni2.95 ~ 3.55
Mo0.08 ~ 0.15
O≤ 0.002 (lower limit not stated)

A condition branch must be selected

Yes

Verification notes

The 1 North American 10 grades and notes in the original table were visually checked

9310H · ASTM A304-2020

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Structural steel with guaranteed hardenability
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
ASTM A304-2020
Table / clause
Table 1 · Footnotes; 1.1–1.2, 7.1
PDF page references
1、2、3、5

Source document

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:0.5493–0.8267Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.1995–0.3358Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.2418–0.3938 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.07 ~ 0.13
Mn0.4 ~ 0.7
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
Ni2.95 ~ 3.55
Cr1.0 ~ 1.45
Mo0.08 ~ 0.15
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

ASTM A304—2020 Tables 1 and 2 and 7.1 specify ladle analysis, mass fraction (wt%); this is an excerpt from the published edition, not verification of the complete standard. The scope is hot-worked carbon, alloy and carbon-boron steel bars with hardenability requirements; the H suffix must not be omitted or treated automatically as an ordinary grade. Product-analysis tolerances in Table 1 note 3 must be checked separately against A29/A29M; tolerances and hardenability bands were not reproduced here, and composition alone does not establish compliance with all H-steel requirements. Unlisted elements are not zero; residual-element maxima not specified in Table 1 note 2 are included for the applicable elements. Table 1 note 2 is not automatically applied to Table 2. A leaded variant requires the separate L designation in the source; Pb 0.15–0.35% has not been added to ordinary H grades. The boron-steel footnote states an expected minimum boron content of 0.0005%; it is listed separately and is not presented as a composition acceptance limit. Chemistry outside this table requires agreement between purchaser and supplier. Inclusion in the standard-material database does not establish cold-heading supply capability or direct substitutability; processing and supply conditions must be confirmed separately.

Verification notes

PDF pages 1/2/3/5 visually checked; composition-table rows and footnotes extracted and verified separately.
WhatsApp Technical enquiry →