8740
6 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for 8740 →8740 · SAE J404-2009
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- SAE J404-2009
- Table / clause
- Table1 continued table and note 1/4/5/6/7
- PDF page references
- 1、4
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Table 1 default P≤.030% and S≤.040%
Agreed flat products, typical P≤.030% and S≤.035%
Agreed ASTM long products, typical P≤.040% and S≤.050%
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.4 ~ 0.45 |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1 |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | 0.4 ~ 0.7 |
| Cr | 0.4 ~ 0.6 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
Applicability and limitations
SAE 8740 in the original Table 1 continuation table corresponds to UNS G87420; UNS serves as a retrieval alias. ; Composition is heat analysis mass fraction wt%; Finished product deviations shall be verified separately according to SAE J409. ; Note 1: Where these elements are unspecified, the residual limits are Cu≤.35%, Ni≤.25%, Cr≤.20%, Mo≤.06%.; Elements with specified alloy ranges shall follow the ranges in the table. ; Note 6 default P/S .030/.040; Flat products .030/.035 and ASTM long products .040/.050 shall be selected by mutual agreement. ; Other Si ranges in Note 4 must be agreed upon; no uniform value is provided; Note 5: addition of Pb .15–.35 requires the insertion of an L identifier and shall not be merged into ordinary grades. ; Elements required to be reported in Note 7 do not necessarily have uniform limits; reporting thresholds shall not be treated as zero. ; Composition alone does not establish cold-heading supply or suitability for forming.. ; Original table 8740 corresponds to UNS G87420; it has not been changed to G87400 on its own..
Original condition-branch records
Table 1 default P≤.030% and S≤.040%
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.4 ~ 0.45 |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1 |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | 0.4 ~ 0.7 |
| Cr | 0.4 ~ 0.6 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
Agreed flat products, typical P≤.030% and S≤.035%
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.4 ~ 0.45 |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1 |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | 0.4 ~ 0.7 |
| Cr | 0.4 ~ 0.6 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
Agreed ASTM long products, typical P≤.040% and S≤.050%
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.4 ~ 0.45 |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1 |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| P | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | 0.4 ~ 0.7 |
| Cr | 0.4 ~ 0.6 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
A condition branch must be selected
YesVerification notes
The continued Table 1 in the original English text was visually checked item by item8740 · ASTM A29/A29M-2012
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Alloy steel
- Subcategory
- Alloy steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ASTM A29/A29M-2012
- Table / clause
- Table 2 · Notes 1–4; Footnotes A–C
- PDF page references
- 1、5、6
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Si range listed in Table 2
Purchaser specifies Si≤0.10%, note A
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.38 ~ 0.43 |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| Ni | 0.4 ~ 0.7 |
| Cr | 0.4 ~ 0.6 |
| Mo | 0.2 ~ 0.3 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Ladle chemical composition, mass fraction wt%; product-analysis deviations are specified separately in Table 6 and are not added to ladle limits. Table 2 Note 1: for Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo not specified as alloy ranges, the respective maxima are 0.35/0.25/0.20/0.06%; an explicitly specified alloy range takes priority. Note A: the purchaser may specify Si ≤ 0.10% as a separate condition from the tabulated Si range; the conditions are not combined. Note 4: Pb at 0.15–0.35% applies only to a separately specified L leaded grade; Pb is not added to ordinary grades. This is a general requirement for hot-worked bars; chemical composition alone does not establish cold-heading suitability or supply.
Original condition-branch records
Si range listed in Table 2
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.38 ~ 0.43 |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| Ni | 0.4 ~ 0.7 |
| Cr | 0.4 ~ 0.6 |
| Mo | 0.2 ~ 0.3 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
Purchaser specifies Si≤0.10%, note A
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.38 ~ 0.43 |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | 0.4 ~ 0.7 |
| Cr | 0.4 ~ 0.6 |
| Mo | 0.2 ~ 0.3 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
A condition branch must be selected
YesVerification notes
Table 2 and footnotes in the official 2012 original have been checked; select Si and the applicable purchasing conditions.8740 · SAE J404-2000
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Alloy steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- SAE J404-2000
- Table / clause
- Table 1 and notes 1–3; scope
- PDF page references
- 1、2
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.4 ~ 0.45 |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.0 |
| Ni | 0.4 ~ 0.7 |
| Cr | 0.4 ~ 0.6 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
Applicability and limitations
Standard dated 2000-6, Table 1; ladle analysis, mass fraction wt%.; Product analysis deviations shall be verified separately according to SAE J409, and shall not directly expand the table values. Note 1: For elements neither specified nor required in the original table, residual upper limits apply: Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo respectively ≤0.35/0.25/0.20/0.06%; Explicit alloy ranges shall take priority. Pb 0.15–0.35% must be separately specified as L-grade; it is not automatically added to ordinary grades. Al, Ti, Nb, and V must be reported regardless of whether they are specified; Values below 0.008% may be reported as <0.008%; this is a reporting threshold, not a uniform composition upper limit. Grades with E prefix are electric furnace steels, with P/S upper limits of 0.025% respectively, separated from ordinary grades. Applicable to billets, slabs, plate, wire rod and hot-rolled/cold-worked bar products, among other forms.; Chemical composition itself does not guarantee suitability for cold heading.
Verification notes
Original 2000 table rows and footnotes checked; the 50B46 issue is listed separately, and not all values are confirmed.8740 · Nippon Steel Wire Rods EXE203 2008.3 / SAE J404 JUN.2000
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Alloy steel
- Subcategory
- Alloy steel
- Material form
- Wire rod
- Original record status
- Manufacturer source verified
- Document edition
- Cat. No. EXE203 2008.3 PDF; cover copyright 2008
- Document title
- Nippon Steel Wire Rods
- Table / clause
- Printed page 12, table index 0
- PDF page references
- 8
- Unit
- Mass fraction (%)
- Analysis type
- Heat analysis (identified as ladle analysis in the original table)
- Manufacturer
- NIPPON STEEL CORPORATION
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.4 ~ 0.45 |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| Ni | 0.4 ~ 0.7 |
| Cr | 0.4 ~ 0.6 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Nippon Steel wire rod catalogue EXE203 (2008.3 historical material), PDF p. 8
printed p. 12, SAE J404 JUN.2000. Ladle analysis (as labelled in source table). Manufacturer-range data; not a standard guaranteed value or a heat-lot test, and not a representation of our supply. Condition: Table-note residual limits Cu≤0.35, Ni≤0.25, Cr≤0.20 and Mo≤0.06 apply only to columns not specified as principal elements; for starred grades 50B46/51B60, B is 0.0005–0.0030%.
Composition conditions
- Original catalogue mass percentages, historical manufacturer data from 2008.3; Referenced standard names and editions follow the original document; this does not establish that the official texts of those standards have been obtained and verified.
- A dash or blank must not be treated as 0; only chemical composition has been checked in this batch. Mechanical properties and actual supply require separate verification under the applicable conditions.
- Note residual limits Cu≤0.35, Ni≤0.25, Cr≤0.20 and Mo≤0.06 apply only to columns where these are not specified as principal elements; for starred grades 50B46/51B60, B 0.0005–0.0030% is an optional addition associated with the designation.
Verification notes
Grouped tables were expanded in full and checked against original images and notes. Ordinary, residual and conditional elements are kept separate; suffix tables lacking complete base-steel composition are excluded.8740 · AGT2282, January 2013 (Acument procurement specification)
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Alloy steel
- Subcategory
- Alloy steel
- Material form
- Wire rod and bars
- Original record status
- Manufacturer source verified
- Document edition
- January 2013
- Document title
- AGT2282 Carbon & Alloy Steel Specification
- Table / clause
- 6.2
- PDF page references
- 5、7
- Unit
- Mass fraction (wt%)
- Analysis type
- Heat analysis
- Manufacturer
- Acument Global Technologies (AGT)
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.4 ~ 0.45 |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | 0.4 ~ 0.7 |
| Cr | 0.4 ~ 0.6 |
| Mo | 0.2 ~ 0.3 |
Applicability and limitations
Historical procurement specification Acument AGT2282 January 2013, PDF page 7, Table 6.2; Heat composition wt%, condition SKFG. References for additional requirements outside the table and total residual content remain unresolved; displayed for reference only and excluded from limit-based reverse matching; Not guaranteed standard limits or heat-specific measurements.
Composition conditions
- Historical procurement specification AGT2282 January 2013, Table 6.1/6.2 heat analysis, mass percent; This is not the original SAE text or a current controlled supply guarantee.
- 6.3 product-analysis tolerances reference ASTM F2282 and SAE J409 and must not be applied to the current heat analysis; Coatings, carburization and decarburization may affect product sampling.
- 6.5 specifies residual elements under ASTM F2282, with total residuals ≤0.35%; Referenced editions and residual-element definitions remain incomplete in this batch; the elements included in the total are not invented.
- Composition outside the table separately references SAE J403/J404 (year not identified); Referenced conditions remain incomplete; displayed for reference only and excluded from limit-based reverse matching.
- The SKFG condition entry is retained as in the original text; optional conditions are not merged into one steelmaking condition.
- Unlisted elements and dashes are not filled with 0; one-sided bounds are not converted into fixed values.
Conditional requirement
- Footnote
- 6.5
- Source conditions
- Total residual elements ≤0.35%; the included elements and individual limits refer to ASTM F2282. The cited edition and residual-element scope have not been fully verified, so no automatic matching is made.
- Footnote
- Reference outside the table
- Source conditions
- Compositions not listed in the table must be checked separately against SAE J403/J404 and the purchase agreement; this table is not represented as exhaustive.
Processing and delivery conditions
SKFG8740 · ASTM A29/A29M-2023
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Alloy steel
- Subcategory
- Alloy steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ASTM A29/A29M-2023
- Table / clause
- Table 2 · Notes 1–4; Footnotes A–C
- PDF page references
- 7
- Unit
- Mass fraction (wt%)
- Analysis type
- Heat analysis (composition ranges and limits in the original table)
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Si range listed in Table 2
Purchaser specifies Si≤0.10%, Table 2 note A
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.38 ~ 0.43 |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| Ni | 0.4 ~ 0.7 |
| Cr | 0.4 ~ 0.6 |
| Mo | 0.2 ~ 0.3 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Original ASTM A29/A29M-2023 Table 2: the basic table values are ladle-analysis mass fractions (wt%); product-analysis deviations must be checked separately under 4.3 and Table 6 and are not added to ladle limits. Under 4.1.1, an order for a grade in this table must meet its corresponding ladle limits; other ordered compositions are agreed separately under 4.1.2 and Tables 3/4 and are not silently mixed into this table. These are general requirements for hot-worked bars; chemistry alone does not establish suitability or supply for cold heading, or mechanical properties. Table 2 note 1: where no alloy range is specified, residual maxima are Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo 0.35/0.25/0.20/0.06%, respectively; ranges specified for the row take precedence. Table 2 note A: the purchaser may specify Si ≤0.10% as an alternative branch to the row’s Si range; the two are not combined. Table 2 note 4: Pb 0.15–0.35% applies only to a separately designated L grade. When lead is added to the ladle stream, its cast/ladle analysis cannot be determined; this does not automatically create a leaded grade or add Pb to ordinary grades.
Original condition-branch records
Si range listed in Table 2
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.38 ~ 0.43 |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| Ni | 0.4 ~ 0.7 |
| Cr | 0.4 ~ 0.6 |
| Mo | 0.2 ~ 0.3 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
Purchaser specifies Si≤0.10%, Table 2 note A
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.38 ~ 0.43 |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | 0.4 ~ 0.7 |
| Cr | 0.4 ~ 0.6 |
| Mo | 0.2 ~ 0.3 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |