8625H
3 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for 8625H →8625H · SAE J1268-2010
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- SAE J1268-2010
- Table / clause
- Table 2 · Notes 1–6; Clause 3/4
- PDF page references
- 1、2、4、5、6
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Open-hearth or basic-oxygen steel: P≤0.030/S≤0.040
Basic electric-furnace steel: P and S each ≤0.025%
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.22 ~ 0.28 |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.95 |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| Ni | 0.35 ~ 0.75 |
| Cr | 0.35 ~ 0.65 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
SAE J1268 MAY2010 official original Table 2 and notes 1–6, ladle analysis (wt%). Note 1 applies within the stated scope: cross-sectional area ≤0.13 m², width 460 mm and piece mass 4.5 t; product deviations are handled separately under J409 and are not added to default limits. Note 2 residual maxima Cu≤0.35/Ni≤0.25/Cr≤0.20/Mo≤0.06 apply only when the element is not specified; listed alloy ranges take priority. Note 3: open-hearth/oxygen steel P≤0.030/S≤0.040; basic electric-furnace steel P and S each ≤0.025. The original note 5 identifies E4340H/E9310H as electric-furnace steel. Note 6: boron steel B 0.0005–0.003%; do not add boron to ordinary grades without B. Retain the explicit H-grade to UNS mappings from the source; do not merge them with grades without H. Hardenability bands, grain size, cold-heading process and supply require separate verification.
Original condition-branch records
Open-hearth or basic-oxygen steel: P≤0.030/S≤0.040
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.22 ~ 0.28 |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.95 |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| Ni | 0.35 ~ 0.75 |
| Cr | 0.35 ~ 0.65 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
Basic electric-furnace steel: P and S each ≤0.025%
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.22 ~ 0.28 |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.95 |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| Ni | 0.35 ~ 0.75 |
| Cr | 0.35 ~ 0.65 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
A condition branch must be selected
YesVerification notes
Official original Table 2: all 73 rows and footnotes visually checked.8625H · ASTM A304-2020
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Alloy steel
- Subcategory
- Structural steel with guaranteed hardenability
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ASTM A304-2020
- Table / clause
- Table 1 · Footnotes; 1.1–1.2, 7.1
- PDF page references
- 1、2、3、5
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.22 ~ 0.28 |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.95 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| Ni | 0.35 ~ 0.75 |
| Cr | 0.35 ~ 0.65 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
ASTM A304—2020 Tables 1 and 2 and 7.1 specify ladle analysis, mass fraction (wt%); this is an excerpt from the published edition, not verification of the complete standard. The scope is hot-worked carbon, alloy and carbon-boron steel bars with hardenability requirements; the H suffix must not be omitted or treated automatically as an ordinary grade. Product-analysis tolerances in Table 1 note 3 must be checked separately against A29/A29M; tolerances and hardenability bands were not reproduced here, and composition alone does not establish compliance with all H-steel requirements. Unlisted elements are not zero; residual-element maxima not specified in Table 1 note 2 are included for the applicable elements. Table 1 note 2 is not automatically applied to Table 2. A leaded variant requires the separate L designation in the source; Pb 0.15–0.35% has not been added to ordinary H grades. The boron-steel footnote states an expected minimum boron content of 0.0005%; it is listed separately and is not presented as a composition acceptance limit. Chemistry outside this table requires agreement between purchaser and supplier. Inclusion in the standard-material database does not establish cold-heading supply capability or direct substitutability; processing and supply conditions must be confirmed separately.
Verification notes
PDF pages 1/2/3/5 visually checked; composition-table rows and footnotes extracted and verified separately.8625H · CHINA STEEL CORPORATION · Bars and Wire Rods Product Catalogue 2014-C1 / 7.1.19 SAE · Alloy steels · H (continued table)
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Alloy steel
- Subcategory
- Alloy steel
- Material form
- Bars and wire rod
- Original record status
- Manufacturer source verified
- Document edition
- CAT.NO.3-BD-01-2014-C1 (stated on the back cover)
- Document title
- Bars and Wire Rods Product Catalogue
- Table / clause
- 7.1.19 SAE · Alloy steels · H (continued table)
- PDF page references
- 26
- Unit
- Mass fraction (%)
- Analysis type
- The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table
- Manufacturer
- CHINA STEEL CORPORATION
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.22 ~ 0.28 |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.95 |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| Ni | 0.35 ~ 0.75 |
| Cr | 0.35 ~ 0.65 |
| Mo | 0.15 ~ 0.25 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
China Steel bar and wire-rod catalogue CAT.NO.3-BD-01-2014-C1, PDF page 26
printed page 24, 7.1.19 SAE alloy H steel (continued table). The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table. Historical manufacturer range data, not guaranteed standard limits or heat-specific measurements; this does not establish supply by Creation Group. Condition: residual Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo maxima are added only for elements unspecified in the main table and do not override principal alloy-composition ranges.
Composition conditions
- Historical manufacturer 2014-C1 catalogue, bars/wire rod; Where the referenced standard edition is not identified, a year is not borrowed from another catalogue; a catalogue is not upgraded to the official standard text.
- A dash or blank must not be treated as zero. Composition data do not establish completeness or applicability of a formula; mechanical properties and supply require separate verification.
- Residual Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo limits supplement only elements not specified in the main table; they do not override the principal alloy-element ranges.