56SI7
7 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for 56SI7 →56Si7 · DIN EN 10089-2003
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Spring steels
- Subcategory
- Spring steels
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- DIN EN 10089-2003
- Table / clause
- Table 3 and notes a/b and 7.1; Only the first 17 pages of the original text are available
- PDF page references
- 1、7、9、12、13
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.52 ~ 0.6 |
| Si | 1.6 ~ 2.0 |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.6 (lower limit not stated) |
| Sn | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
DIN EN10089:2003-04 official English original, adopting standard EN10089:2002; Table 3 heat analysis wt%. ; Cu+10Sn≤.60%; Cu≤.60/Sn≤.06 are only single-item envelopes derived from the linkage formula under the condition that each element is non-negative; they are not independent limits from the original table and the linkage formula must be satisfied simultaneously. ; Table 3 Note a: unspecified elements shall not be intentionally added without the purchaser's consent (except additions needed to finish steelmaking); blanks shall not be filled as zero. ; Note b: when hardenability is specified, C may deviate slightly but not exceed ±.01, others shall comply with Table 4 except for P/S; Default composition has not been automatically relaxed. ; This document contains only the first 17 pages; Table 3 is complete and verifiable; Hardenability Tables 7/8 and other missing pages need to be supplemented separately; the completeness of the entire standard is not claimed. ; Hot-rolled spring steels intended for quenching and tempering; composition or annealed condition alone does not establish cold-heading suitability or actual supply..
Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
- Element coefficient
- Cu
- 1
- Sn
- 10
- Upper limit
- 0.6
- Requirement
- Cu + 10Sn ≤ 0.60 wt%
Verification notes
Official original Table 3: all 19 rows and footnotes visually checked.Jominy end-quench hardenability (conditional requirements)
EN 10089:2002 · BS EN 10089:2002 · Tables 7/8, 7.1.2–7.1.4 and Table 10 · PDF pages 6, 9, 17, 18, 20, 21
- Footnote a of Table 7/Table 8 refers to Figure 1; The scatter bands for +H and +HH shall be maintained separately; lower limits shall not be interchanged.
- Applicable only to conditions where the corresponding +H or +HH hardenability symbols are actually used for ordering; Specific delivery condition and dimension range shall still be confirmed according to the order and Table 1 of the standard.
- When ordering based on core hardness requirements per 7.1.3, the end-quench data in Table 7/Table 8 are for reference only and cannot serve as an acceptance guarantee for the same order item.
- HRC is the hardness at the specified distance of the end-quench test specimen, not the overall hardness of the finished product, nor does it prove cold-heading suitability or part performance.
- A horizontal line in the original table indicates that the lower limit for that distance is not specified and shall remain blank; Shall not be treated as 0; no interpolation, extrapolation, or conformity determination shall be performed for distances not listed.
- The shown quenching temperature is the standard end-quench test condition and cannot be used as a production heat treatment process parameter or recommendation.
- Testing shall be according to EN ISO642 as cited in Table 10 (source standard specifies ISO642:1999); Test units shall be divided by heat, with 1 sample per unit and 1 test per sample; sampling for disputes shall otherwise follow Table 10.
- This record is for DIN EN10089:2003-04 adopting EN10089:2002; Hardenability data is explicitly read from the original table of BS EN10089:2002; it is not claimed that missing pages of the DIN original document have been verified or completed.
+H normal hardenability band (7.1.2)
End-quench test condition temperature 850 ± 5 °C; This is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.
| Distance from quenched end (mm) | Lower limit (HRC) | Upper limit (HRC) |
|---|---|---|
| 1.5 | 57 | 65 |
| 3 | 55 | 62 |
| 5 | 49 | 60 |
| 7 | 43 | 57 |
| 9 | 37 | 54 |
| 11 | 34 | 50 |
| 13 | 32 | 46 |
| 15 | 31 | 42 |
| 20 | 28 | 39 |
| 25 | 27 | 37 |
| 30 | 26 | 36 |
| 35 | 26 | 35 |
| 40 | 25 | 34 |
| 45 | 25 | 34 |
| 50 | 24 | 33 |
+HH restricted hardenability band (7.1.4)
End-quench test condition temperature 850 ± 5 °C; This is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.
| Distance from quenched end (mm) | Lower limit (HRC) | Upper limit (HRC) |
|---|---|---|
| 1.5 | 60 | 65 |
| 3 | 57 | 62 |
| 5 | 53 | 60 |
| 7 | 48 | 57 |
| 9 | 43 | 54 |
| 11 | 39 | 50 |
| 13 | 37 | 46 |
| 15 | 35 | 42 |
| 20 | 32 | 39 |
| 25 | 30 | 37 |
| 30 | 29 | 36 |
| 35 | 29 | 35 |
| 40 | 28 | 34 |
| 45 | 28 | 34 |
| 50 | 27 | 33 |
56Si7 · DIN EN 10132-4-2000(+AC:2002)
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Spring steels
- Subcategory
- Spring steels
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- DIN EN 10132-4-2000(+AC:2002)
- Table / clause
- Analysis-type boundaries in Table 1 and note a, and Table 2
- PDF page references
- 1、6
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.52 ~ 0.6 |
| Si | 1.6 ~ 2.0 |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| Cr | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Official German DIN 2003-04 adopts EN10132-4:2000+AC:2002; PDF6, Table 1 gives heat-analysis mass fractions wt%. ; Cold-rolled narrow strip for heat-treatment applications; Covers spring steels and other special applications; it does not establish a basis for supply as cold-heading wire rod. ; Product-analysis tolerances in Table 2 are listed separately and are not mixed with the default heat-analysis range in Table 1; Within the same heat, ±tolerances must not be exceeded in both the lower and upper directions. ; Elements not listed in the table must not be intentionally added without purchaser consent, except to finish steelmaking; unspecified contents are not treated as zero. ; AC:2002 corrects the annealed/lightly skin-passed properties in Table 3; Only the complete Table 1 chemical composition was checked in this batch; mechanical properties require separate verification.
Verification notes
All 15 rows and footnotes in the official original text were visually checked56Si7 · EN 10089-2002
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Spring steels
- Subcategory
- Spring steels
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- BS EN 10089:2002 (EN 10089:2002)
- Table / clause
- 7.1/Table 3, notes a/b
- PDF page references
- 3、9、13、14
- Unit
- Mass fraction (wt%)
- Analysis type
- Heat analysis
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.52 ~ 0.6 |
| Si | 1.6 ~ 2.0 |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.6 (lower limit not stated) |
| Sn | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Complete BS EN 10089:2002 original Table 3 heat analysis mass fraction wt%; Applies to hot-rolled steels for quenched-and-tempered springs; this does not by itself establish suitability for cold heading.. Cu+10Sn≤0.60wt%; Separate listings of Cu ≤0.60 and Sn ≤0.06 are only envelopes derived from a linked formula under the premise of non-negative values; both cannot be used at their upper limits simultaneously. Table 3 Note a: Elements not listed shall not be intentionally added without the purchaser's consent (except additions needed to finish steelmaking); blanks shall not be filled as zero. Table 3 Note b: When hardenability is specified, C may deviate slightly according to restricted conditions; Table 3 compositions are not automatically relaxed by default.
Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
- Element coefficient
- Cu
- 1
- Sn
- 10
- Upper limit
- 0.6
- Requirement
- Cu + 10Sn ≤ 0.60 wt%
Verification notes
All 19 grades and footnotes in original EN10089:2002, Table 3 have been checked; The original record omitted the coupled Cu+10Sn constraint.Jominy end-quench hardenability (conditional requirements)
EN 10089:2002 · BS EN 10089:2002 · Tables 7/8, 7.1.2–7.1.4 and Table 10 · PDF pages 6, 9, 17, 18, 20, 21
- Footnote a of Table 7/Table 8 refers to Figure 1; The scatter bands for +H and +HH shall be maintained separately; lower limits shall not be interchanged.
- Applicable only to conditions where the corresponding +H or +HH hardenability symbols are actually used for ordering; Specific delivery condition and dimension range shall still be confirmed according to the order and Table 1 of the standard.
- When ordering based on core hardness requirements per 7.1.3, the end-quench data in Table 7/Table 8 are for reference only and cannot serve as an acceptance guarantee for the same order item.
- HRC is the hardness at the specified distance of the end-quench test specimen, not the overall hardness of the finished product, nor does it prove cold-heading suitability or part performance.
- A horizontal line in the original table indicates that the lower limit for that distance is not specified and shall remain blank; Shall not be treated as 0; no interpolation, extrapolation, or conformity determination shall be performed for distances not listed.
- The shown quenching temperature is the standard end-quench test condition and cannot be used as a production heat treatment process parameter or recommendation.
- Testing shall be according to EN ISO642 as cited in Table 10 (source standard specifies ISO642:1999); Test units shall be divided by heat, with 1 sample per unit and 1 test per sample; sampling for disputes shall otherwise follow Table 10.
+H normal hardenability band (7.1.2)
End-quench test condition temperature 850 ± 5 °C; This is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.
| Distance from quenched end (mm) | Lower limit (HRC) | Upper limit (HRC) |
|---|---|---|
| 1.5 | 57 | 65 |
| 3 | 55 | 62 |
| 5 | 49 | 60 |
| 7 | 43 | 57 |
| 9 | 37 | 54 |
| 11 | 34 | 50 |
| 13 | 32 | 46 |
| 15 | 31 | 42 |
| 20 | 28 | 39 |
| 25 | 27 | 37 |
| 30 | 26 | 36 |
| 35 | 26 | 35 |
| 40 | 25 | 34 |
| 45 | 25 | 34 |
| 50 | 24 | 33 |
+HH restricted hardenability band (7.1.4)
End-quench test condition temperature 850 ± 5 °C; This is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.
| Distance from quenched end (mm) | Lower limit (HRC) | Upper limit (HRC) |
|---|---|---|
| 1.5 | 60 | 65 |
| 3 | 57 | 62 |
| 5 | 53 | 60 |
| 7 | 48 | 57 |
| 9 | 43 | 54 |
| 11 | 39 | 50 |
| 13 | 37 | 46 |
| 15 | 35 | 42 |
| 20 | 32 | 39 |
| 25 | 30 | 37 |
| 30 | 29 | 36 |
| 35 | 29 | 35 |
| 40 | 28 | 34 |
| 45 | 28 | 34 |
| 50 | 27 | 33 |
56Si7 · EN 10132-2021
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Spring steels
- Subcategory
- Spring steels
- Material form
- Narrow strip only
- Original record status
- Historical-edition reference
- Standard edition
- DIN EN 10132-4-2000(+AC:2002)
- Table / clause
- Analysis-type boundaries in Table 1 and note a, and Table 2
- PDF page references
- 1、6
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.52 ~ 0.6 |
| Si | 1.6 ~ 2.0 |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| Cr | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
The original target EN10132:2021 has not been verified; Currently uses only the historical same-grade reference in DIN EN 10132-4-2000(+AC:2002); this does not establish the requirements or scope of edition 2021 or conformity of supplied material. Official German DIN 2003-04 adopts EN10132-4:2000+AC:2002; PDF6, Table 1 gives heat-analysis mass fractions wt%. Cold-rolled narrow strip for heat-treatment applications; Covers spring steels and other special applications; it does not establish a basis for supply as cold-heading wire rod. Product-analysis tolerances in Table 2 are listed separately and are not mixed with the default heat-analysis range in Table 1; Within the same heat, ±tolerances must not be exceeded in both the lower and upper directions. Elements not listed in the table must not be intentionally added without purchaser consent, except to finish steelmaking; unspecified contents are not treated as zero. AC:2002 corrects the annealed/lightly skin-passed properties in Table 3; Only the complete Table 1 chemical composition was checked in this batch; mechanical properties require separate verification.
Verification notes
The original target EN10132:2021 has not been verified; Currently uses only the historical same-grade reference in DIN EN 10132-4-2000(+AC:2002); this does not establish the requirements or scope of edition 2021 or conformity of supplied material.56Si7 · EN 10132-4-2002
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Spring steels
- Subcategory
- Spring steels
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Historical-edition reference
- Standard edition
- DIN EN 10132-4-2000(+AC:2002)
- Table / clause
- Analysis-type boundaries in Table 1 and note a, and Table 2
- PDF page references
- 1、6
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.52 ~ 0.6 |
| Si | 1.6 ~ 2.0 |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| Cr | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
The chemical composition currently shown is transcribed from the original DIN EN 10132-4-2000(+AC:2002); The original record cites EN 10132-4-2002; that original edition remains unavailable, and differences between editions have not been confirmed. Official German DIN 2003-04 adopts EN10132-4:2000+AC:2002; PDF6, Table 1 gives heat-analysis mass fractions wt%. ; Cold-rolled narrow strip for heat-treatment applications; Covers spring steels and other special applications; it does not establish a basis for supply as cold-heading wire rod. ; Product-analysis tolerances in Table 2 are listed separately and are not mixed with the default heat-analysis range in Table 1; Within the same heat, ±tolerances must not be exceeded in both the lower and upper directions. ; Elements not listed in the table must not be intentionally added without purchaser consent, except to finish steelmaking; unspecified contents are not treated as zero. ; AC:2002 corrects the annealed/lightly skin-passed properties in Table 3; Only the complete Table 1 chemical composition was checked in this batch; mechanical properties require separate verification.
Verification notes
The chemical composition currently shown is transcribed from the original DIN EN 10132-4-2000(+AC:2002); The original record cites EN 10132-4-2002; that original edition remains unavailable, and differences between editions have not been confirmed.56Si7 · DIN EN 10132-4-2000(+AC:2002)
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Narrow strip only
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- DIN EN 10132-4-2000(+AC:2002)
- Table / clause
- Analysis-type boundaries in Table 1 and note a, and Table 2
- PDF page references
- 1、6
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.52 ~ 0.6 |
| Si | 1.6 ~ 2.0 |
| Mn | 0.6 ~ 0.9 |
| Cr | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Official German DIN 2003-04 adopts EN10132-4:2000+AC:2002; PDF6, Table 1 gives heat-analysis mass fractions wt%. ; Cold-rolled narrow strip for heat-treatment applications; Covers spring steels and other special applications; it does not establish a basis for supply as cold-heading wire rod. ; Product-analysis tolerances in Table 2 are listed separately and are not mixed with the default heat-analysis range in Table 1; Within the same heat, ±tolerances must not be exceeded in both the lower and upper directions. ; Elements not listed in the table must not be intentionally added without purchaser consent, except to finish steelmaking; unspecified contents are not treated as zero. ; AC:2002 corrects the annealed/lightly skin-passed properties in Table 3; Only the complete Table 1 chemical composition was checked in this batch; mechanical properties require separate verification.
Verification notes
All 15 rows and footnotes in the official original text were visually checked56Si7 · Ovako Product Catalogue CO-117 ENG 24:07 (2024)
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Spring steels
- Subcategory
- Spring steels
- Material form
- Bars, tubes, rings and precomponents
- Composition basis
- Manufacturer typical/nominal values, not guaranteed ranges
- Original record status
- Manufacturer source verified
- Document edition
- CO-117 ENG 24:07 ©Ovako 2024
- Document title
- Ovako Product Catalogue
- PDF page references
- 42
- Unit
- Interpreted as mass fraction (%) using other documents from the same manufacturer; the unit is not explicitly stated in this table
- Analysis type
- Typical composition analysis
- Manufacturer
- Ovako
Carbon-equivalent reference
Manufacturer typical single values are composition references only; no range estimate is made. They are neither standard guarantees nor measured heat results; Formula applicability requires review against the intended use and process.
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | Typical/nominal value 0.56 (not a guaranteed range) |
| Si | Typical/nominal value 1.8 (not a guaranteed range) |
| Mn | Typical/nominal value 0.8 (not a guaranteed range) |
Applicability and limitations
Ovako 2024 product catalogue, PDF page 42; manufacturer’s typical analysis, for composition reference only. The original header does not explicitly state units; interpreted using the manufacturer’s mass-fraction % information. Neither standard guaranteed values nor measured heat analysis. Excluded from limit-based reverse search and carbon-equivalent calculation; blanks and element names alone in the other-elements field are not filled with 0. Manufacturer code: 9084.
Conditional requirement
- Footnote
- Units
- Source conditions
- The original table header does not state units explicitly; interpreted as mass fraction % using the manufacturer’s official chemistry information. This table does not itself print wt%.
- Footnote
- Typical analysis
- Source conditions
- All values are manufacturer’s typical single values, not limits or measured heat analysis; not used for limit-based reverse search or standard-range carbon equivalent.
- Footnote
- Grade designation
- Source conditions
- An asterisk after the original grade indicates a non-official EN standard designation, named only according to EN10027. This does not complete verification of the cited standard originals or editions.