55CR3
3 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for 55CR3 →55Cr3 · DIN EN 10089-2003
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- DIN EN 10089-2003
- Table / clause
- Table 3 and notes a/b and 7.1; Only the first 17 pages of the original text are available
- PDF page references
- 1、7、9、12、13
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.52 ~ 0.59 |
| Si | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.7 ~ 1.0 |
| Cr | 0.7 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.6 (lower limit not stated) |
| Sn | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
DIN EN10089:2003-04 official English original, adopting standard EN10089:2002; Table 3 heat analysis wt%. ; Cu+10Sn≤.60%; Cu≤.60/Sn≤.06 are only single-item envelopes derived from the linkage formula under the condition that each element is non-negative; they are not independent limits from the original table and the linkage formula must be satisfied simultaneously. ; Table 3 Note a: unspecified elements shall not be intentionally added without the purchaser's consent (except additions needed to finish steelmaking); blanks shall not be filled as zero. ; Note b: when hardenability is specified, C may deviate slightly but not exceed ±.01, others shall comply with Table 4 except for P/S; Default composition has not been automatically relaxed. ; This document contains only the first 17 pages; Table 3 is complete and verifiable; Hardenability Tables 7/8 and other missing pages need to be supplemented separately; the completeness of the entire standard is not claimed. ; Hot-rolled spring steels intended for quenching and tempering; composition or annealed condition alone does not establish cold-heading suitability or actual supply..
Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
- Element coefficient
- Cu
- 1
- Sn
- 10
- Upper limit
- 0.6
- Requirement
- Cu + 10Sn ≤ 0.60 wt%
Verification notes
Official original Table 3: all 19 rows and footnotes visually checked.Jominy end-quench hardenability (conditional requirements)
EN 10089:2002 · BS EN 10089:2002 · Tables 7/8, 7.1.2–7.1.4 and Table 10 · PDF pages 6, 9, 17, 18, 20, 21
- Footnote a of Table 7/Table 8 refers to Figure 1; The scatter bands for +H and +HH shall be maintained separately; lower limits shall not be interchanged.
- Applicable only to conditions where the corresponding +H or +HH hardenability symbols are actually used for ordering; Specific delivery condition and dimension range shall still be confirmed according to the order and Table 1 of the standard.
- When ordering based on core hardness requirements per 7.1.3, the end-quench data in Table 7/Table 8 are for reference only and cannot serve as an acceptance guarantee for the same order item.
- HRC is the hardness at the specified distance of the end-quench test specimen, not the overall hardness of the finished product, nor does it prove cold-heading suitability or part performance.
- A horizontal line in the original table indicates that the lower limit for that distance is not specified and shall remain blank; Shall not be treated as 0; no interpolation, extrapolation, or conformity determination shall be performed for distances not listed.
- The shown quenching temperature is the standard end-quench test condition and cannot be used as a production heat treatment process parameter or recommendation.
- Testing shall be according to EN ISO642 as cited in Table 10 (source standard specifies ISO642:1999); Test units shall be divided by heat, with 1 sample per unit and 1 test per sample; sampling for disputes shall otherwise follow Table 10.
- This record is for DIN EN10089:2003-04 adopting EN10089:2002; Hardenability data is explicitly read from the original table of BS EN10089:2002; it is not claimed that missing pages of the DIN original document have been verified or completed.
+H normal hardenability band (7.1.2)
End-quench test condition temperature 850 ± 5 °C; This is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.
| Distance from quenched end (mm) | Lower limit (HRC) | Upper limit (HRC) |
|---|---|---|
| 1.5 | 57 | 67 |
| 3 | 56 | 67 |
| 5 | 55 | 66 |
| 7 | 54 | 65 |
| 9 | 52 | 64 |
| 11 | 48 | 63 |
| 13 | 43 | 62 |
| 15 | 39 | 61 |
| 20 | 32 | 57 |
| 25 | 30 | 53 |
| 30 | 28 | 49 |
| 35 | 26 | 46 |
| 40 | 25 | 43 |
| 45 | 24 | 41 |
| 50 | 23 | 40 |
+HH restricted hardenability band (7.1.4)
End-quench test condition temperature 850 ± 5 °C; This is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.
| Distance from quenched end (mm) | Lower limit (HRC) | Upper limit (HRC) |
|---|---|---|
| 1.5 | 60 | 67 |
| 3 | 60 | 67 |
| 5 | 59 | 66 |
| 7 | 58 | 65 |
| 9 | 56 | 64 |
| 11 | 53 | 63 |
| 13 | 49 | 62 |
| 15 | 46 | 61 |
| 20 | 40 | 57 |
| 25 | 38 | 53 |
| 30 | 35 | 49 |
| 35 | 33 | 46 |
| 40 | 31 | 43 |
| 45 | 30 | 41 |
| 50 | 29 | 40 |
55Cr3 · ISO 683-6:2023 (original BS ISO national adoption)
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Spring steels
- Subcategory
- Spring steels
- Material form
- Round bars, flat bars and wire rod
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ISO 683-6:2023 / BS ISO 683-6:2023
- Table / clause
- Table 4, footnotes a–c; Table 5; 7.2
- PDF page references
- 20、21
- Unit
- Mass fraction (wt%)
- Analysis type
- Heat analysis
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Ordinary heat analysis: Table 4 (without +H/+HH)
+H heat analysis: Table 4, note b and Table 5 (C±0.01; P/S is not widened)
+HH heat analysis: Table 4, note b and Table 5 (C±0.01; P/S is not widened)
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.52 ~ 0.59 |
| Si | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.7 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.7 ~ 1.0 |
Applicability and limitations
Original BS ISO 683-6:2023 document; ISO fourth edition, 2023-11.; Table 4 PDF page 20/printed page 12, Table 5 PDF page 21/printed page 13. Heat analysis wt%, must select ordinary or +H/+HH conditions; Cu+10Sn≤0.60%. Do not substitute 0 for unlisted elements. Product analysis and mechanical-property conditions require separate verification; this is not a supply guarantee from the company..
Composition conditions
- Table 4 is heat analysis, mass fraction %; Dashes or unspecified elements must not be assumed to have a value of 0..
- Original image last column header Cu+Sn, cell explicitly Cu+10Sn≤0.60%; Retain as weighted formula per main text, do not split into independent limits.
- Table 4 Note b: +H/+HH follow the permitted deviations in Table 5, with C specifically not exceeding ±0.01%; P/S not relaxed; Unselected conditions shall not be calculated by default.
- Product analysis shall be verified separately per Table 5; its C/P/S deviations shall not be directly applied to the current heat analysis branch; For the same heat, the same element shall not simultaneously exhibit deviations exceeding the upper limit and falling below the lower limit.
- Note c allows lower P/S upper limits by agreement; values shall not be automatically changed if no agreement is provided; Intentional addition of elements not listed requires agreement (except additions needed to finish steelmaking).
- For springs intended for quenching and tempering.; Heat treatment, hardness, hardenability, dimensions and surface conditions require verification under the main text; do not collapse mechanical properties across conditions in this batch..
Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
- Requirement
- Cu + 10×Sn
- Element coefficient
- Cu
- 1
- Sn
- 10
- Upper limit
- 0.6
- Elements requiring measured values from the same heat
- Cu
- Sn
Original condition-branch records
Ordinary heat analysis: Table 4 (without +H/+HH)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.52 ~ 0.59 |
| Si | ≤ 0.4 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.7 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.7 ~ 1.0 |
+H heat analysis: Table 4, note b and Table 5 (C±0.01; P/S is not widened)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.51 ~ 0.6 |
| Si | ≤ 0.43 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.66 ~ 1.04 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.65 ~ 1.05 |
+HH heat analysis: Table 4, note b and Table 5 (C±0.01; P/S is not widened)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.51 ~ 0.6 |
| Si | ≤ 0.43 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | 0.66 ~ 1.04 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.65 ~ 1.05 |
A condition branch must be selected
YesVerification notes
All ten rows in original Table 4 were checked cell by cell; Table 5 and footnote conditions are retained separately.55Cr3 · Ovako Product Catalogue CO-117 ENG 24:07 (2024)
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Spring steels
- Subcategory
- Spring steels
- Material form
- Bars, tubes, rings and precomponents
- Composition basis
- Manufacturer typical/nominal values, not guaranteed ranges
- Original record status
- Manufacturer source verified
- Document edition
- CO-117 ENG 24:07 ©Ovako 2024
- Document title
- Ovako Product Catalogue
- PDF page references
- 42
- Unit
- Interpreted as mass fraction (%) using other documents from the same manufacturer; the unit is not explicitly stated in this table
- Analysis type
- Typical composition analysis
- Manufacturer
- Ovako
Carbon-equivalent reference
Manufacturer typical single values are composition references only; no range estimate is made. They are neither standard guarantees nor measured heat results; Formula applicability requires review against the intended use and process.
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | Typical/nominal value 0.55 (not a guaranteed range) |
| Si | Typical/nominal value 0.2 (not a guaranteed range) |
| Mn | Typical/nominal value 0.9 (not a guaranteed range) |
| Cr | Typical/nominal value 0.9 (not a guaranteed range) |
Applicability and limitations
Ovako 2024 product catalogue, PDF page 42; manufacturer’s typical analysis, for composition reference only. The original header does not explicitly state units; interpreted using the manufacturer’s mass-fraction % information. Neither standard guaranteed values nor measured heat analysis. Excluded from limit-based reverse search and carbon-equivalent calculation; blanks and element names alone in the other-elements field are not filled with 0. Manufacturer code: 9257.
Conditional requirement
- Footnote
- Units
- Source conditions
- The original table header does not state units explicitly; interpreted as mass fraction % using the manufacturer’s official chemistry information. This table does not itself print wt%.
- Footnote
- Typical analysis
- Source conditions
- All values are manufacturer’s typical single values, not limits or measured heat analysis; not used for limit-based reverse search or standard-range carbon equivalent.
- Footnote
- Grade designation
- Source conditions
- An asterisk after the original grade indicates a non-official EN standard designation, named only according to EN10027. This does not complete verification of the cited standard originals or editions.