5160
6 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for 5160 →5160 · SAE J404-2009
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- SAE J404-2009
- Table / clause
- Table 1 and Notes 1–7
- PDF page references
- 1、3、4
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Table 1 default composition
Typical P/S limits for flat products by mutual agreement
Typical P/S limits for ASTM long products by mutual agreement
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.56 ~ 0.64 |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1 |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.7 ~ 0.9 |
| Mo | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
In the source, SAE 5160 corresponds to UNS G51600; UNS is a search alias only. Heat analysis, wt%. No residual limits are specified for Cu≤.35%, Ni≤.25%, Cr≤.20% or Mo≤.06%; specified alloy ranges take precedence. Default and agreed P/S conditions are kept separate; product-analysis deviations under J409 require separate verification. Other Si ranges require agreement. Addition of Pb requires the L designation; ordinary grades do not include Pb. Mandatory element reporting and reporting thresholds do not establish universal content requirements or zero content. Composition alone does not establish cold-heading suitability or supply availability.
Original condition-branch records
Table 1 default composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.56 ~ 0.64 |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1 |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.7 ~ 0.9 |
| Mo | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Typical P/S limits for flat products by mutual agreement
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.56 ~ 0.64 |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1 |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.7 ~ 0.9 |
| Mo | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
Typical P/S limits for ASTM long products by mutual agreement
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.56 ~ 0.64 |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1 |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| P | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.7 ~ 0.9 |
| Mo | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
A condition branch must be selected
YesVerification notes
All columns of Table 1 on PDF page 3 and footnotes on PDF page 4 visually checked.5160 · ASTM A29/A29M-2012
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Alloy steel
- Subcategory
- Alloy steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ASTM A29/A29M-2012
- Table / clause
- Table 2 · Notes 1–4; Footnotes A–C
- PDF page references
- 1、5、6
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Si range listed in Table 2
Purchaser specifies Si≤0.10%, note A
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.56 ~ 0.64 |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| Cr | 0.7 ~ 0.9 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Ladle chemical composition, mass fraction wt%; product-analysis deviations are specified separately in Table 6 and are not added to ladle limits. Table 2 Note 1: for Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo not specified as alloy ranges, the respective maxima are 0.35/0.25/0.20/0.06%; an explicitly specified alloy range takes priority. Note A: the purchaser may specify Si ≤ 0.10% as a separate condition from the tabulated Si range; the conditions are not combined. Note 4: Pb at 0.15–0.35% applies only to a separately specified L leaded grade; Pb is not added to ordinary grades. This is a general requirement for hot-worked bars; chemical composition alone does not establish cold-heading suitability or supply.
Original condition-branch records
Si range listed in Table 2
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.56 ~ 0.64 |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| Cr | 0.7 ~ 0.9 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
Purchaser specifies Si≤0.10%, note A
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.56 ~ 0.64 |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.7 ~ 0.9 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
A condition branch must be selected
YesVerification notes
Table 2 and footnotes in the official 2012 original have been checked; select Si and the applicable purchasing conditions.5160 · SAE J404-2000
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Alloy steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- SAE J404-2000
- Table / clause
- Table 1 and notes 1–3; scope
- PDF page references
- 1、2
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.56 ~ 0.64 |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.0 |
| Ni | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.7 ~ 0.9 |
| Mo | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
Applicability and limitations
Standard dated 2000-6, Table 1; ladle analysis, mass fraction wt%.; Product analysis deviations shall be verified separately according to SAE J409, and shall not directly expand the table values. Note 1: For elements neither specified nor required in the original table, residual upper limits apply: Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo respectively ≤0.35/0.25/0.20/0.06%; Explicit alloy ranges shall take priority. Pb 0.15–0.35% must be separately specified as L-grade; it is not automatically added to ordinary grades. Al, Ti, Nb, and V must be reported regardless of whether they are specified; Values below 0.008% may be reported as <0.008%; this is a reporting threshold, not a uniform composition upper limit. Grades with E prefix are electric furnace steels, with P/S upper limits of 0.025% respectively, separated from ordinary grades. Applicable to billets, slabs, plate, wire rod and hot-rolled/cold-worked bar products, among other forms.; Chemical composition itself does not guarantee suitability for cold heading.
Verification notes
Original 2000 table rows and footnotes checked; the 50B46 issue is listed separately, and not all values are confirmed.5160 · Nippon Steel Wire Rods EXE203 2008.3 / SAE J404 JUN.2000
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Alloy steel
- Subcategory
- Alloy steel
- Material form
- Wire rod
- Original record status
- Manufacturer source verified
- Document edition
- Cat. No. EXE203 2008.3 PDF; cover copyright 2008
- Document title
- Nippon Steel Wire Rods
- Table / clause
- Printed page 12, table index 0
- PDF page references
- 8
- Unit
- Mass fraction (%)
- Analysis type
- Heat analysis (identified as ladle analysis in the original table)
- Manufacturer
- NIPPON STEEL CORPORATION
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.56 ~ 0.64 |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| Cr | 0.7 ~ 0.9 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Nippon Steel wire rod catalogue EXE203 (2008.3 historical material), PDF p. 8
printed p. 12, SAE J404 JUN.2000. Ladle analysis (as labelled in source table). Manufacturer-range data; not a standard guaranteed value or a heat-lot test, and not a representation of our supply. Condition: Table-note residual limits Cu≤0.35, Ni≤0.25, Cr≤0.20 and Mo≤0.06 apply only to columns not specified as principal elements; for starred grades 50B46/51B60, B is 0.0005–0.0030%.
Composition conditions
- Original catalogue mass percentages, historical manufacturer data from 2008.3; Referenced standard names and editions follow the original document; this does not establish that the official texts of those standards have been obtained and verified.
- A dash or blank must not be treated as 0; only chemical composition has been checked in this batch. Mechanical properties and actual supply require separate verification under the applicable conditions.
- Note residual limits Cu≤0.35, Ni≤0.25, Cr≤0.20 and Mo≤0.06 apply only to columns where these are not specified as principal elements; for starred grades 50B46/51B60, B 0.0005–0.0030% is an optional addition associated with the designation.
Verification notes
Grouped tables were expanded in full and checked against original images and notes. Ordinary, residual and conditional elements are kept separate; suffix tables lacking complete base-steel composition are excluded.5160 · CHINA STEEL CORPORATION · Bars and Wire Rods Product Catalogue 2014-C1 / 7.1.16 SAE · Alloy steels (Edition unspecified)
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Alloy steel
- Subcategory
- Alloy steel
- Material form
- Bars and wire rod
- Original record status
- Manufacturer source verified
- Document edition
- CAT.NO.3-BD-01-2014-C1 (stated on the back cover)
- Document title
- Bars and Wire Rods Product Catalogue
- Table / clause
- 7.1.16 SAE · Alloy steels (Edition unspecified)
- PDF page references
- 23
- Unit
- Mass fraction (%)
- Analysis type
- The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table
- Manufacturer
- CHINA STEEL CORPORATION
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.56 ~ 0.64 |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| Cr | 0.7 ~ 0.9 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
China Steel wire rod catalogue CAT.NO.3-BD-01-2014-C1, PDF p. 23
printed p. 21, §7.1.16 SAE alloy steels (edition not marked). The source table does not specify the analysis type. Historical manufacturer range data, not a standard-guaranteed value or heat-lot test, and not a representation of our supply. Condition: residual Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo limits supplement only elements not specified in the main table; they do not override principal alloy ranges.
Composition conditions
- Historical manufacturer 2014-C1 catalogue, bars/wire rod; Where the referenced standard edition is not identified, a year is not borrowed from another catalogue; a catalogue is not upgraded to the official standard text.
- A dash or blank must not be treated as zero. Composition data do not establish completeness or applicability of a formula; mechanical properties and supply require separate verification.
- Residual Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo limits supplement only elements not specified in the main table; they do not override the principal alloy-element ranges.
Verification notes
Merged cells in all 28 catalogue tables were reconstructed geometrically, with no missing cells. Original images, continuation pages and notes are recorded; disputed conditions are withheld.5160 · ASTM A29/A29M-2023
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Alloy steel
- Subcategory
- Alloy steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ASTM A29/A29M-2023
- Table / clause
- Table 2 · Notes 1–4; Footnotes A–C
- PDF page references
- 6
- Unit
- Mass fraction (wt%)
- Analysis type
- Heat analysis (composition ranges and limits in the original table)
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.
Si range listed in Table 2
Purchaser specifies Si≤0.10%, Table 2 note A
Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.56 ~ 0.64 |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| Cr | 0.7 ~ 0.9 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Original ASTM A29/A29M-2023 Table 2: the basic table values are ladle-analysis mass fractions (wt%); product-analysis deviations must be checked separately under 4.3 and Table 6 and are not added to ladle limits. Under 4.1.1, an order for a grade in this table must meet its corresponding ladle limits; other ordered compositions are agreed separately under 4.1.2 and Tables 3/4 and are not silently mixed into this table. These are general requirements for hot-worked bars; chemistry alone does not establish suitability or supply for cold heading, or mechanical properties. Table 2 note 1: where no alloy range is specified, residual maxima are Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo 0.35/0.25/0.20/0.06%, respectively; ranges specified for the row take precedence. Table 2 note A: the purchaser may specify Si ≤0.10% as an alternative branch to the row’s Si range; the two are not combined. Table 2 note 4: Pb 0.15–0.35% applies only to a separately designated L grade. When lead is added to the ladle stream, its cast/ladle analysis cannot be determined; this does not automatically create a leaded grade or add Pb to ordinary grades.
Original condition-branch records
Si range listed in Table 2
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.56 ~ 0.64 |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | 0.15 ~ 0.35 |
| Cr | 0.7 ~ 0.9 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
Purchaser specifies Si≤0.10%, Table 2 note A
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.56 ~ 0.64 |
| Mn | 0.75 ~ 1.0 |
| P | ≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 0.7 ~ 0.9 |
| Cu | ≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | ≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mo | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |