← BackMaterial grade directory

4340

15 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.

Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.

Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for 4340 →

4340 · ASTM A29/A29M-2012

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
ASTM A29/A29M-2012
Table / clause
Table 2 and Notes 1–4 and A

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.

Use the Si range specified in Table 2
IIW / CEV:0.7700–0.9600Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.4908–0.5975Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.5363–0.6525 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Purchaser specifies Si≤0.10%, Table 2 note A
IIW / CEV:0.7700–0.9600Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.4858–0.5892Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.5363–0.6525 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.38 ~ 0.43
Mn0.6 ~ 0.8
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
Ni1.65 ~ 2.0
Cr0.7 ~ 0.9
Mo0.2 ~ 0.3
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

Composition limits are per ASTM A29/A29M-2012 Table 2, and name correspondence is per SAE J404:2009 Table 1; The two standard bases are retained separately. ; Table 2 Note 1: residual Cu≤.35/Ni≤.25/Cr≤.20/Mo≤.06, applicable only to elements not specified as alloying elements.; Specified alloy range takes priority. ; The tabulated range for Si and the buyer-specified option of ≤.10 shall be retained separately; they shall not be forcibly applied simultaneously.. ; The range refers to heat analysis; permissible deviations for finished products shall be governed separately by Table 6.; G43406 is E4340 and cannot be merged as general 4340.

Original condition-branch records

Use the Si range specified in Table 2

ElementComposition requirement
C0.38 ~ 0.43
Mn0.6 ~ 0.8
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
Ni1.65 ~ 2.0
Cr0.7 ~ 0.9
Mo0.2 ~ 0.3
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)

Purchaser specifies Si≤0.10%, Table 2 note A

ElementComposition requirement
C0.38 ~ 0.43
Mn0.6 ~ 0.8
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated)
Ni1.65 ~ 2.0
Cr0.7 ~ 0.9
Mo0.2 ~ 0.3
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)

A condition branch must be selected

Yes

Verification notes

Original ASTM A29-2012 composition and SAE J404-2009 designation correspondence were checked separately

4340 · ASTM A29/A29M-2020

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Historical-edition reference
Standard edition
ASTM A29/A29M-2012
Table / clause
Table 2 and Notes 1–4 and A

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.

Use the Si range specified in Table 2
IIW / CEV:0.7700–0.9600Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.4908–0.5975Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.5363–0.6525 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Purchaser specifies Si≤0.10%, Table 2 note A
IIW / CEV:0.7700–0.9600Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.4858–0.5892Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.5363–0.6525 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.38 ~ 0.43
Mn0.6 ~ 0.8
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
Ni1.65 ~ 2.0
Cr0.7 ~ 0.9
Mo0.2 ~ 0.3
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

The chemical composition currently shown is transcribed from the original ASTM A29/A29M-2012; The original record cites ASTM A29/A29M-2020; that original edition remains unavailable, and differences between editions have not been confirmed. Composition limits are per ASTM A29/A29M-2012 Table 2, and name correspondence is per SAE J404:2009 Table 1; The two standard bases are retained separately. ; Table 2 Note 1: residual Cu≤.35/Ni≤.25/Cr≤.20/Mo≤.06, applicable only to elements not specified as alloying elements.; Specified alloy range takes priority. ; The tabulated range for Si and the buyer-specified option of ≤.10 shall be retained separately; they shall not be forcibly applied simultaneously.. ; The range refers to heat analysis; permissible deviations for finished products shall be governed separately by Table 6.; G43406 is E4340 and cannot be merged as general 4340.

Original condition-branch records

Use the Si range specified in Table 2

ElementComposition requirement
C0.38 ~ 0.43
Mn0.6 ~ 0.8
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
Ni1.65 ~ 2.0
Cr0.7 ~ 0.9
Mo0.2 ~ 0.3
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)

Purchaser specifies Si≤0.10%, Table 2 note A

ElementComposition requirement
C0.38 ~ 0.43
Mn0.6 ~ 0.8
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated)
Ni1.65 ~ 2.0
Cr0.7 ~ 0.9
Mo0.2 ~ 0.3
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)

A condition branch must be selected

Yes

Verification notes

The current chemistry display uses original ASTM A29/A29M-2012 data. The source record is labeled ASTM A29/A29M-2020; that edition’s original text remains to be obtained, and edition differences have not been confirmed.

4340 · ASTM A29/A29M-2023

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
ASTM A29/A29M-2023
Table / clause
Table 2 · Notes 1–4; Footnotes A–C
PDF page references
6
Unit
Mass fraction (wt%)
Analysis type
Heat analysis (composition ranges and limits in the original table)

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.

Si range listed in Table 2
IIW / CEV:0.7700–0.9600Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.4908–0.5975Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.5363–0.6525 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Purchaser specifies Si≤0.10%, Table 2 note A
IIW / CEV:0.7700–0.9600Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.4858–0.5892Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.5363–0.6525 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.38 ~ 0.43
Mn0.6 ~ 0.8
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
Ni1.65 ~ 2.0
Cr0.7 ~ 0.9
Mo0.2 ~ 0.3
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

Original ASTM A29/A29M-2023 Table 2: the basic table values are ladle-analysis mass fractions (wt%); product-analysis deviations must be checked separately under 4.3 and Table 6 and are not added to ladle limits. Under 4.1.1, an order for a grade in this table must meet its corresponding ladle limits; other ordered compositions are agreed separately under 4.1.2 and Tables 3/4 and are not silently mixed into this table. These are general requirements for hot-worked bars; chemistry alone does not establish suitability or supply for cold heading, or mechanical properties. Table 2 note 1: where no alloy range is specified, residual maxima are Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo 0.35/0.25/0.20/0.06%, respectively; ranges specified for the row take precedence. Table 2 note A: the purchaser may specify Si ≤0.10% as an alternative branch to the row’s Si range; the two are not combined. Table 2 note 4: Pb 0.15–0.35% applies only to a separately designated L grade. When lead is added to the ladle stream, its cast/ladle analysis cannot be determined; this does not automatically create a leaded grade or add Pb to ordinary grades.

Original condition-branch records

Si range listed in Table 2

ElementComposition requirement
C0.38 ~ 0.43
Mn0.6 ~ 0.8
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
Ni1.65 ~ 2.0
Cr0.7 ~ 0.9
Mo0.2 ~ 0.3
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)

Purchaser specifies Si≤0.10%, Table 2 note A

ElementComposition requirement
C0.38 ~ 0.43
Mn0.6 ~ 0.8
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated)
Ni1.65 ~ 2.0
Cr0.7 ~ 0.9
Mo0.2 ~ 0.3
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)

A condition branch must be selected

Yes

Verification notes

Existing OCR of the four-page, 190-row original 2023 table was parsed cell by cell. All values were screened for differences against independent 2012 data and checked against the original 2023 images and footnotes; no values were filled from the older edition.

4340 · SAE J404-2009

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
SAE J404-2009
Table / clause
Table 1 and Notes 1–7
PDF page references
1、3、4

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.

Table 1 default composition
IIW / CEV:0.7700–0.9600Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.4908–0.5975Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.5363–0.6525 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Typical P/S limits for flat products by mutual agreement
IIW / CEV:0.7700–0.9600Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.4908–0.5975Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.5363–0.6525 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Typical P/S limits for ASTM long products by mutual agreement
IIW / CEV:0.7700–0.9600Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.4908–0.5975Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.5363–0.6525 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.38 ~ 0.43
Mn0.6 ~ 0.8
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.7 ~ 0.9
Mo0.2 ~ 0.3
Ni1.65 ~ 2

Applicability and limitations

In the source, SAE 4340 corresponds to UNS G43400; UNS is a search alias only. Heat analysis, wt%. No residual limits are specified for Cu≤.35%, Ni≤.25%, Cr≤.20% or Mo≤.06%; specified alloy ranges take precedence. Default and agreed P/S conditions are kept separate; product-analysis deviations under J409 require separate verification. Other Si ranges require agreement. Addition of Pb requires the L designation; ordinary grades do not include Pb. Mandatory element reporting and reporting thresholds do not establish universal content requirements or zero content. Composition alone does not establish cold-heading suitability or supply availability.

Original condition-branch records

Table 1 default composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.38 ~ 0.43
Mn0.6 ~ 0.8
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.7 ~ 0.9
Mo0.2 ~ 0.3
Ni1.65 ~ 2

Typical P/S limits for flat products by mutual agreement

ElementComposition requirement
C0.38 ~ 0.43
Mn0.6 ~ 0.8
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.7 ~ 0.9
Mo0.2 ~ 0.3
Ni1.65 ~ 2

Typical P/S limits for ASTM long products by mutual agreement

ElementComposition requirement
C0.38 ~ 0.43
Mn0.6 ~ 0.8
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.05 (lower limit not stated)
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
Cr0.7 ~ 0.9
Mo0.2 ~ 0.3
Ni1.65 ~ 2

A condition branch must be selected

Yes

Verification notes

All columns of Table 1 on PDF page 3 and footnotes on PDF page 4 visually checked.

4340 · ASTM A29/A29M-2012

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
ASTM A29/A29M-2012
Table / clause
Table 2 · Notes 1–4; Footnotes A–C
PDF page references
1、5、6

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.

Si range listed in Table 2
IIW / CEV:0.7700–0.9600Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.4908–0.5975Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.5363–0.6525 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Purchaser specifies Si≤0.10%, note A
IIW / CEV:0.7700–0.9600Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.4858–0.5892Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.5363–0.6525 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.38 ~ 0.43
Mn0.6 ~ 0.8
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
Ni1.65 ~ 2.0
Cr0.7 ~ 0.9
Mo0.2 ~ 0.3
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

Ladle chemical composition, mass fraction wt%; product-analysis deviations are specified separately in Table 6 and are not added to ladle limits. Table 2 Note 1: for Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo not specified as alloy ranges, the respective maxima are 0.35/0.25/0.20/0.06%; an explicitly specified alloy range takes priority. Note A: the purchaser may specify Si ≤ 0.10% as a separate condition from the tabulated Si range; the conditions are not combined. Note 4: Pb at 0.15–0.35% applies only to a separately specified L leaded grade; Pb is not added to ordinary grades. This is a general requirement for hot-worked bars; chemical composition alone does not establish cold-heading suitability or supply.

Original condition-branch records

Si range listed in Table 2

ElementComposition requirement
C0.38 ~ 0.43
Mn0.6 ~ 0.8
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
Ni1.65 ~ 2.0
Cr0.7 ~ 0.9
Mo0.2 ~ 0.3
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)

Purchaser specifies Si≤0.10%, note A

ElementComposition requirement
C0.38 ~ 0.43
Mn0.6 ~ 0.8
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Si≤ 0.1 (lower limit not stated)
Ni1.65 ~ 2.0
Cr0.7 ~ 0.9
Mo0.2 ~ 0.3
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)

A condition branch must be selected

Yes

Verification notes

Table 2 and footnotes in the official 2012 original have been checked; select Si and the applicable purchasing conditions.

4340 · SAE J404-2000

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Alloy steel
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
SAE J404-2000
Table / clause
Table 1 and notes 1–3; scope
PDF page references
1、2

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:0.7700–0.9600Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.4908–0.5975Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.5363–0.6525 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.38 ~ 0.43
Mn0.6 ~ 0.8
Ni1.65 ~ 2.0
Cr0.7 ~ 0.9
Mo0.2 ~ 0.3
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.15 ~ 0.35

Applicability and limitations

Standard dated 2000-6, Table 1; ladle analysis, mass fraction wt%.; Product analysis deviations shall be verified separately according to SAE J409, and shall not directly expand the table values. Note 1: For elements neither specified nor required in the original table, residual upper limits apply: Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo respectively ≤0.35/0.25/0.20/0.06%; Explicit alloy ranges shall take priority. Pb 0.15–0.35% must be separately specified as L-grade; it is not automatically added to ordinary grades. Al, Ti, Nb, and V must be reported regardless of whether they are specified; Values below 0.008% may be reported as <0.008%; this is a reporting threshold, not a uniform composition upper limit. Grades with E prefix are electric furnace steels, with P/S upper limits of 0.025% respectively, separated from ordinary grades. Applicable to billets, slabs, plate, wire rod and hot-rolled/cold-worked bar products, among other forms.; Chemical composition itself does not guarantee suitability for cold heading.

Verification notes

Original 2000 table rows and footnotes checked; the 50B46 issue is listed separately, and not all values are confirmed.

4340 · Nippon Steel Wire Rods EXE203 2008.3 / SAE J404 JUN.2000

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Wire rod
Original record status
Manufacturer source verified
Document edition
Cat. No. EXE203 2008.3 PDF; cover copyright 2008
Document title
Nippon Steel Wire Rods
Table / clause
Printed page 12, table index 0
PDF page references
8
Unit
Mass fraction (%)
Analysis type
Heat analysis (identified as ladle analysis in the original table)
Manufacturer
NIPPON STEEL CORPORATION

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.

IIW / CEV:0.7700–0.9600Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.4908–0.5975Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.5363–0.6525 Envelope of independent element limits from manufacturer data; neither standard guarantee values nor measured heat results CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.38 ~ 0.43
Mn0.6 ~ 0.8
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
Ni1.65 ~ 2.0
Cr0.7 ~ 0.9
Mo0.2 ~ 0.3
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

Nippon Steel wire rod catalogue EXE203 (2008.3 historical material), PDF p. 8

printed p. 12, SAE J404 JUN.2000. Ladle analysis (as labelled in source table). Manufacturer-range data; not a standard guaranteed value or a heat-lot test, and not a representation of our supply. Condition: Table-note residual limits Cu≤0.35, Ni≤0.25, Cr≤0.20 and Mo≤0.06 apply only to columns not specified as principal elements; for starred grades 50B46/51B60, B is 0.0005–0.0030%.

Composition conditions

Verification notes

Grouped tables were expanded in full and checked against original images and notes. Ordinary, residual and conditional elements are kept separate; suffix tables lacking complete base-steel composition are excluded.

4340 · CHINA STEEL CORPORATION · Bars and Wire Rods Product Catalogue 2014-C1 / 7.1.16 SAE · Alloy steels (Edition unspecified)

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Bars and wire rod
Original record status
Manufacturer source verified
Document edition
CAT.NO.3-BD-01-2014-C1 (stated on the back cover)
Document title
Bars and Wire Rods Product Catalogue
Table / clause
7.1.16 SAE · Alloy steels (Edition unspecified)
PDF page references
23
Unit
Mass fraction (%)
Analysis type
The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table
Manufacturer
CHINA STEEL CORPORATION

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.

IIW / CEV:0.7700–0.9600Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.4908–0.5975Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.5363–0.6525 Envelope of independent element limits from manufacturer data; neither standard guarantee values nor measured heat results CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.38 ~ 0.43
Mn0.6 ~ 0.8
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
Ni1.65 ~ 2.0
Cr0.7 ~ 0.9
Mo0.2 ~ 0.3
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

China Steel wire rod catalogue CAT.NO.3-BD-01-2014-C1, PDF p. 23

printed p. 21, §7.1.16 SAE alloy steels (edition not marked). The source table does not specify the analysis type. Historical manufacturer range data, not a standard-guaranteed value or heat-lot test, and not a representation of our supply. Condition: residual Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo limits supplement only elements not specified in the main table; they do not override principal alloy ranges.

Composition conditions

Verification notes

Merged cells in all 28 catalogue tables were reconstructed geometrically, with no missing cells. Original images, continuation pages and notes are recorded; disputed conditions are withheld.

4340 · AGT2282, January 2013 (Acument procurement specification)

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Wire rod and bars
Original record status
Manufacturer source verified
Document edition
January 2013
Document title
AGT2282 Carbon & Alloy Steel Specification
Table / clause
6.2
PDF page references
5、7
Unit
Mass fraction (wt%)
Analysis type
Heat analysis
Manufacturer
Acument Global Technologies (AGT)

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.

IIW / CEV:0.7700–0.9367Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, Cu CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.4858–0.5683Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Si, Cu, V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.5363–0.6350Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing Cu CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.38 ~ 0.43
Mn0.6 ~ 0.8
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
Ni1.65 ~ 2.0
Cr0.7 ~ 0.9
Mo0.2 ~ 0.3

Applicability and limitations

Historical procurement specification Acument AGT2282 January 2013, PDF page 7, Table 6.2; Heat composition wt%, condition SKFG. References for additional requirements outside the table and total residual content remain unresolved; displayed for reference only and excluded from limit-based reverse matching; Not guaranteed standard limits or heat-specific measurements.

Composition conditions

Conditional requirement

Processing and delivery conditions

SKFG

4340 · ASME SA-29

Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Reference record
Verification status
Reference data; original source not verified

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV: composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
CET: composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.38 ~ 0.43
Cr0.7 ~ 0.9
Mn0.6 ~ 0.8
Mo0.2 ~ 0.3
Ni1.65 ~ 2
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

A match in the materials database does not establish suitability for cold heading or guarantee finished-product strength. Confirmation must consider wire condition, deformation, heat treatment and tests on actual parts.

4340 · ASTM A 320-2000

Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Reference record
Verification status
Reference data; original source not verified

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV: composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
CET: composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.38 ~ 0.43
Cr0.7 ~ 0.9
Mn0.6 ~ 0.85
Mo0.2 ~ 0.3
Ni1.65 ~ 2
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.15 ~ 0.35

Applicability and limitations

A match in the materials database does not establish suitability for cold heading or guarantee finished-product strength. Confirmation must consider wire condition, deformation, heat treatment and tests on actual parts.

4340 · ASTM A1031/A1031M-2025

Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Reference record
Verification status
Reference data; original source not verified

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV: composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
CET: composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.38 ~ 0.43
Cr0.7 ~ 0.9
Mn0.6 ~ 0.8
Mo0.2 ~ 0.3
Ni1.65 ~ 2
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.15 ~ 0.35

Applicability and limitations

A match in the materials database does not establish suitability for cold heading or guarantee finished-product strength. Confirmation must consider wire condition, deformation, heat treatment and tests on actual parts.

4340 · ASTM A29/A29M-2005

Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Reference record
Verification status
Reference data; original source not verified

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV: composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
CET: composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.38 ~ 0.43
Cr0.7 ~ 0.9
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
Mn0.6 ~ 0.8
Mo0.2 ~ 0.3
Ni1.62 ~ 2
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.15 ~ 0.35

Applicability and limitations

A match in the materials database does not establish suitability for cold heading or guarantee finished-product strength. Confirmation must consider wire condition, deformation, heat treatment and tests on actual parts.

4340 · ASTM A519/A519M-2024

Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Reference record
Verification status
Reference data; original source not verified

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV: composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
CET: composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.38 ~ 0.43
Cr0.7 ~ 0.9
Mn0.6 ~ 0.8
Mo0.2 ~ 0.3
Ni1.65 ~ 2
P≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.15 ~ 0.35

Applicability and limitations

A match in the materials database does not establish suitability for cold heading or guarantee finished-product strength. Confirmation must consider wire condition, deformation, heat treatment and tests on actual parts.

4340 · ASTM A646/A646M-2024

Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Reference record
Verification status
Reference data; original source not verified

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV: composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
Pcm (Ito–Bessyo): composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated
CET: composition source not verified; standard-range carbon equivalent is not calculated

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.38 ~ 0.43
Cr0.7 ~ 0.9
Mn0.65 ~ 0.85
Mo0.2 ~ 0.3
Ni1.65 ~ 2
P≤ 0.015 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.012 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.2 ~ 0.35

Applicability and limitations

A match in the materials database does not establish suitability for cold heading or guarantee finished-product strength. Confirmation must consider wire condition, deformation, heat treatment and tests on actual parts.

WhatsApp Technical enquiry →