← BackMaterial grade directory

4145H

3 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.

Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.

Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for 4145H →

4145H · SAE J1268-2010

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
SAE J1268-2010
Table / clause
Table 2 · Notes 1–6; Clause 3/4
PDF page references
1、2、4、5、6

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimates are presented separately for each applicable composition condition. Match the actual ordering conditions; ranges must not be combined.

Open-hearth or basic-oxygen steel: P≤0.030/S≤0.040
IIW / CEV:0.7083–1.0033Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.5050–0.6550Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.5375–0.7087 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.
Basic electric-furnace steel: P and S each ≤0.025%
IIW / CEV:0.7083–1.0033Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.5050–0.6550Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.5375–0.7087 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition record (conditional branches apply; this is not an unconditional requirement)

ElementComposition requirement
C0.42 ~ 0.49
Mn0.65 ~ 1.1
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
Cr0.75 ~ 1.2
Mo0.15 ~ 0.25
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

SAE J1268 MAY2010 official original Table 2 and notes 1–6, ladle analysis (wt%). Note 1 applies within the stated scope: cross-sectional area ≤0.13 m², width 460 mm and piece mass 4.5 t; product deviations are handled separately under J409 and are not added to default limits. Note 2 residual maxima Cu≤0.35/Ni≤0.25/Cr≤0.20/Mo≤0.06 apply only when the element is not specified; listed alloy ranges take priority. Note 3: open-hearth/oxygen steel P≤0.030/S≤0.040; basic electric-furnace steel P and S each ≤0.025. The original note 5 identifies E4340H/E9310H as electric-furnace steel. Note 6: boron steel B 0.0005–0.003%; do not add boron to ordinary grades without B. Retain the explicit H-grade to UNS mappings from the source; do not merge them with grades without H. Hardenability bands, grain size, cold-heading process and supply require separate verification.

Original condition-branch records

Open-hearth or basic-oxygen steel: P≤0.030/S≤0.040

ElementComposition requirement
C0.42 ~ 0.49
Mn0.65 ~ 1.1
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
Cr0.75 ~ 1.2
Mo0.15 ~ 0.25
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)

Basic electric-furnace steel: P and S each ≤0.025%

ElementComposition requirement
C0.42 ~ 0.49
Mn0.65 ~ 1.1
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
Cr0.75 ~ 1.2
Mo0.15 ~ 0.25
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)
P≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated)

A condition branch must be selected

Yes

Verification notes

Official original Table 2: all 73 rows and footnotes visually checked.

4145H · ASTM A304-2020

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Structural steel with guaranteed hardenability
Material form
Reference record
Original record status
Original standard verified
Standard edition
ASTM A304-2020
Table / clause
Table 1 · Footnotes; 1.1–1.2, 7.1
PDF page references
1、2、3、5

Source document

Carbon-equivalent reference

IIW / CEV:0.7083–1.0033Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.5050–0.6550Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.5375–0.7087 Independent-element envelope of standard ranges; not measured heat-analysis values CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.42 ~ 0.49
Mn0.65 ~ 1.1
P≤ 0.035 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
Cr0.75 ~ 1.2
Mo0.15 ~ 0.25
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

ASTM A304—2020 Tables 1 and 2 and 7.1 specify ladle analysis, mass fraction (wt%); this is an excerpt from the published edition, not verification of the complete standard. The scope is hot-worked carbon, alloy and carbon-boron steel bars with hardenability requirements; the H suffix must not be omitted or treated automatically as an ordinary grade. Product-analysis tolerances in Table 1 note 3 must be checked separately against A29/A29M; tolerances and hardenability bands were not reproduced here, and composition alone does not establish compliance with all H-steel requirements. Unlisted elements are not zero; residual-element maxima not specified in Table 1 note 2 are included for the applicable elements. Table 1 note 2 is not automatically applied to Table 2. A leaded variant requires the separate L designation in the source; Pb 0.15–0.35% has not been added to ordinary H grades. The boron-steel footnote states an expected minimum boron content of 0.0005%; it is listed separately and is not presented as a composition acceptance limit. Chemistry outside this table requires agreement between purchaser and supplier. Inclusion in the standard-material database does not establish cold-heading supply capability or direct substitutability; processing and supply conditions must be confirmed separately.

Verification notes

PDF pages 1/2/3/5 visually checked; composition-table rows and footnotes extracted and verified separately.

4145H · CHINA STEEL CORPORATION · Bars and Wire Rods Product Catalogue 2014-C1 / 7.1.19 SAE · Alloy steels · H (Edition unspecified)

Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results

Material category
Alloy steel
Subcategory
Alloy steel
Material form
Bars and wire rod
Original record status
Manufacturer source verified
Document edition
CAT.NO.3-BD-01-2014-C1 (stated on the back cover)
Document title
Bars and Wire Rods Product Catalogue
Table / clause
7.1.19 SAE · Alloy steels · H (Edition unspecified)
PDF page references
25
Unit
Mass fraction (%)
Analysis type
The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table
Manufacturer
CHINA STEEL CORPORATION

Carbon-equivalent reference

Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.

IIW / CEV:0.7083–1.0033Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V CEV = C + Mn/6 + (Cr + Mo + V)/5 + (Ni + Cu)/15; an engineering estimate of welding cold-cracking susceptibility for carbon and low-alloy steels.
Pcm(Ito–Bessyo):0.5050–0.6550Known-element contribution; incomplete value; missing V, B Pcm = C + Si/30 + (Mn + Cu + Cr)/20 + Ni/60 + Mo/15 + V/10 + 5B; mainly used for low-carbon low-alloy steels, particularly modern low-carbon pipeline steels; more relevant when C is approximately no higher than 0.11%.
CET:0.5375–0.7087 Envelope of independent element limits from manufacturer data; neither standard guarantee values nor measured heat results CET = C + (Mn + Mo)/10 + (Cr + Cu)/20 + Ni/40; used in welding preheat assessment for ferritic steels, subject to the applicability conditions of EN 1011-2.

Composition

ElementComposition requirement
C0.42 ~ 0.49
Mn0.65 ~ 1.1
P≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated)
S≤ 0.04 (lower limit not stated)
Si0.15 ~ 0.35
Cr0.75 ~ 1.2
Mo0.15 ~ 0.25
Cu≤ 0.35 (lower limit not stated)
Ni≤ 0.25 (lower limit not stated)

Applicability and limitations

China Steel bar and wire-rod catalogue CAT.NO.3-BD-01-2014-C1, PDF page 25

printed page 23, 7.1.19 SAE alloy H steel (edition not stated). The original catalogue does not explicitly identify the analysis type for this table. Historical manufacturer range data, not guaranteed standard limits or heat-specific measurements; this does not establish supply by Creation Group. Condition: residual Cu/Ni/Cr/Mo maxima are added only for elements unspecified in the main table and do not override principal alloy-composition ranges.

Composition conditions

Verification notes

Merged cells in all 28 catalogue tables were reconstructed geometrically, with no missing cells. Original images, continuation pages and notes are recorded; disputed conditions are withheld.
WhatsApp Technical enquiry →