38SI7
4 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for 38SI7 →38Si7 · DIN EN 10089-2003
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Spring steels
- Subcategory
- Spring steels
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- DIN EN 10089-2003
- Table / clause
- Table 3 and notes a/b and 7.1; Only the first 17 pages of the original text are available
- PDF page references
- 1、7、9、12、13
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.35 ~ 0.42 |
| Si | 1.5 ~ 1.8 |
| Mn | 0.5 ~ 0.8 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.6 (lower limit not stated) |
| Sn | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
DIN EN10089:2003-04 official English original, adopting standard EN10089:2002; Table 3 heat analysis wt%. ; Cu+10Sn≤.60%; Cu≤.60/Sn≤.06 are only single-item envelopes derived from the linkage formula under the condition that each element is non-negative; they are not independent limits from the original table and the linkage formula must be satisfied simultaneously. ; Table 3 Note a: unspecified elements shall not be intentionally added without the purchaser's consent (except additions needed to finish steelmaking); blanks shall not be filled as zero. ; Note b: when hardenability is specified, C may deviate slightly but not exceed ±.01, others shall comply with Table 4 except for P/S; Default composition has not been automatically relaxed. ; This document contains only the first 17 pages; Table 3 is complete and verifiable; Hardenability Tables 7/8 and other missing pages need to be supplemented separately; the completeness of the entire standard is not claimed. ; Hot-rolled spring steels intended for quenching and tempering; composition or annealed condition alone does not establish cold-heading suitability or actual supply..
Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
- Element coefficient
- Cu
- 1
- Sn
- 10
- Upper limit
- 0.6
- Requirement
- Cu + 10Sn ≤ 0.60 wt%
Verification notes
Official original Table 3: all 19 rows and footnotes visually checked.Jominy end-quench hardenability (conditional requirements)
EN 10089:2002 · BS EN 10089:2002 · Tables 7/8, 7.1.2–7.1.4 and Table 10 · PDF pages 6, 9, 17, 18, 20, 21
- Footnote a of Table 7/Table 8 refers to Figure 1; The scatter bands for +H and +HH shall be maintained separately; lower limits shall not be interchanged.
- Applicable only to conditions where the corresponding +H or +HH hardenability symbols are actually used for ordering; Specific delivery condition and dimension range shall still be confirmed according to the order and Table 1 of the standard.
- When ordering based on core hardness requirements per 7.1.3, the end-quench data in Table 7/Table 8 are for reference only and cannot serve as an acceptance guarantee for the same order item.
- HRC is the hardness at the specified distance of the end-quench test specimen, not the overall hardness of the finished product, nor does it prove cold-heading suitability or part performance.
- A horizontal line in the original table indicates that the lower limit for that distance is not specified and shall remain blank; Shall not be treated as 0; no interpolation, extrapolation, or conformity determination shall be performed for distances not listed.
- The shown quenching temperature is the standard end-quench test condition and cannot be used as a production heat treatment process parameter or recommendation.
- Testing shall be according to EN ISO642 as cited in Table 10 (source standard specifies ISO642:1999); Test units shall be divided by heat, with 1 sample per unit and 1 test per sample; sampling for disputes shall otherwise follow Table 10.
- This record is for DIN EN10089:2003-04 adopting EN10089:2002; Hardenability data is explicitly read from the original table of BS EN10089:2002; it is not claimed that missing pages of the DIN original document have been verified or completed.
+H normal hardenability band (7.1.2)
End-quench test condition temperature 880 ± 5 °C; This is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.
| Distance from quenched end (mm) | Lower limit (HRC) | Upper limit (HRC) |
|---|---|---|
| 1.5 | 54 | 61 |
| 3 | 48 | 58 |
| 5 | 38 | 51 |
| 7 | 31 | 44 |
| 9 | 27 | 40 |
| 11 | 24 | 37 |
| 13 | 21 | 34 |
| 15 | 19 | 32 |
| 20 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 29 |
| 25 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 27 |
| 30 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 26 |
| 35 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 25 |
| 40 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 25 |
| 45 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 25 |
| 50 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 24 |
+HH restricted hardenability band (7.1.4)
End-quench test condition temperature 880 ± 5 °C; This is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.
| Distance from quenched end (mm) | Lower limit (HRC) | Upper limit (HRC) |
|---|---|---|
| 1.5 | 56 | 61 |
| 3 | 51 | 58 |
| 5 | 42 | 51 |
| 7 | 35 | 44 |
| 9 | 31 | 40 |
| 11 | 28 | 37 |
| 13 | 25 | 34 |
| 15 | 23 | 32 |
| 20 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 29 |
| 25 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 27 |
| 30 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 26 |
| 35 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 25 |
| 40 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 25 |
| 45 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 25 |
| 50 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 24 |
38Si7 · EN 10089-2002
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Spring steels
- Subcategory
- Spring steels
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- BS EN 10089:2002 (EN 10089:2002)
- Table / clause
- 7.1/Table 3, notes a/b
- PDF page references
- 3、9、13、14
- Unit
- Mass fraction (wt%)
- Analysis type
- Heat analysis
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.35 ~ 0.42 |
| Si | 1.5 ~ 1.8 |
| Mn | 0.5 ~ 0.8 |
| P | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.025 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cu | ≤ 0.6 (lower limit not stated) |
| Sn | ≤ 0.06 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Complete BS EN 10089:2002 original Table 3 heat analysis mass fraction wt%; Applies to hot-rolled steels for quenched-and-tempered springs; this does not by itself establish suitability for cold heading.. Cu+10Sn≤0.60wt%; Separate listings of Cu ≤0.60 and Sn ≤0.06 are only envelopes derived from a linked formula under the premise of non-negative values; both cannot be used at their upper limits simultaneously. Table 3 Note a: Elements not listed shall not be intentionally added without the purchaser's consent (except additions needed to finish steelmaking); blanks shall not be filled as zero. Table 3 Note b: When hardenability is specified, C may deviate slightly according to restricted conditions; Table 3 compositions are not automatically relaxed by default.
Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
- Element coefficient
- Cu
- 1
- Sn
- 10
- Upper limit
- 0.6
- Requirement
- Cu + 10Sn ≤ 0.60 wt%
Verification notes
All 19 grades and footnotes in original EN10089:2002, Table 3 have been checked; The original record omitted the coupled Cu+10Sn constraint.Jominy end-quench hardenability (conditional requirements)
EN 10089:2002 · BS EN 10089:2002 · Tables 7/8, 7.1.2–7.1.4 and Table 10 · PDF pages 6, 9, 17, 18, 20, 21
- Footnote a of Table 7/Table 8 refers to Figure 1; The scatter bands for +H and +HH shall be maintained separately; lower limits shall not be interchanged.
- Applicable only to conditions where the corresponding +H or +HH hardenability symbols are actually used for ordering; Specific delivery condition and dimension range shall still be confirmed according to the order and Table 1 of the standard.
- When ordering based on core hardness requirements per 7.1.3, the end-quench data in Table 7/Table 8 are for reference only and cannot serve as an acceptance guarantee for the same order item.
- HRC is the hardness at the specified distance of the end-quench test specimen, not the overall hardness of the finished product, nor does it prove cold-heading suitability or part performance.
- A horizontal line in the original table indicates that the lower limit for that distance is not specified and shall remain blank; Shall not be treated as 0; no interpolation, extrapolation, or conformity determination shall be performed for distances not listed.
- The shown quenching temperature is the standard end-quench test condition and cannot be used as a production heat treatment process parameter or recommendation.
- Testing shall be according to EN ISO642 as cited in Table 10 (source standard specifies ISO642:1999); Test units shall be divided by heat, with 1 sample per unit and 1 test per sample; sampling for disputes shall otherwise follow Table 10.
+H normal hardenability band (7.1.2)
End-quench test condition temperature 880 ± 5 °C; This is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.
| Distance from quenched end (mm) | Lower limit (HRC) | Upper limit (HRC) |
|---|---|---|
| 1.5 | 54 | 61 |
| 3 | 48 | 58 |
| 5 | 38 | 51 |
| 7 | 31 | 44 |
| 9 | 27 | 40 |
| 11 | 24 | 37 |
| 13 | 21 | 34 |
| 15 | 19 | 32 |
| 20 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 29 |
| 25 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 27 |
| 30 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 26 |
| 35 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 25 |
| 40 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 25 |
| 45 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 25 |
| 50 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 24 |
+HH restricted hardenability band (7.1.4)
End-quench test condition temperature 880 ± 5 °C; This is not a production heat-treatment recommendation.
| Distance from quenched end (mm) | Lower limit (HRC) | Upper limit (HRC) |
|---|---|---|
| 1.5 | 56 | 61 |
| 3 | 51 | 58 |
| 5 | 42 | 51 |
| 7 | 35 | 44 |
| 9 | 31 | 40 |
| 11 | 28 | 37 |
| 13 | 25 | 34 |
| 15 | 23 | 32 |
| 20 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 29 |
| 25 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 27 |
| 30 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 26 |
| 35 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 25 |
| 40 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 25 |
| 45 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 25 |
| 50 | Unspecified; do not treat as 0 | 24 |
38Si7 · Ovako Product Catalogue CO-117 ENG 24:07 (2024)
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Spring steels
- Subcategory
- Spring steels
- Material form
- Bars, tubes, rings and precomponents
- Composition basis
- Manufacturer typical/nominal values, not guaranteed ranges
- Original record status
- Manufacturer source verified
- Document edition
- CO-117 ENG 24:07 ©Ovako 2024
- Document title
- Ovako Product Catalogue
- PDF page references
- 42
- Unit
- Interpreted as mass fraction (%) using other documents from the same manufacturer; the unit is not explicitly stated in this table
- Analysis type
- Typical composition analysis
- Manufacturer
- Ovako
Carbon-equivalent reference
Manufacturer typical single values are composition references only; no range estimate is made. They are neither standard guarantees nor measured heat results; Formula applicability requires review against the intended use and process.
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | Typical/nominal value 0.38 (not a guaranteed range) |
| Si | Typical/nominal value 1.6 (not a guaranteed range) |
| Mn | Typical/nominal value 0.7 (not a guaranteed range) |
Applicability and limitations
Ovako 2024 product catalogue PDF, page 42. Manufacturer Typical analysis typical values are composition references only. Units are not explicitly stated in the original header and are interpreted as mass fraction % from the manufacturer's documentation. These are neither standard-guaranteed values nor measured heat-analysis results. They are excluded from limit-based reverse lookup and carbon-equivalent calculations. Blank entries, and Other given only as an element name, are not assigned 0. Manufacturer code: MS416.
Conditional requirement
- Footnote
- Units
- Source conditions
- The original table header does not state units explicitly; interpreted as mass fraction % using the manufacturer’s official chemistry information. This table does not itself print wt%.
- Footnote
- Typical analysis
- Source conditions
- All values are manufacturer’s typical single values, not limits or measured heat analysis; not used for limit-based reverse search or standard-range carbon equivalent.
- Footnote
- Grade designation
- Source conditions
- An asterisk after the original grade indicates a non-official EN standard designation, named only according to EN10027. This does not complete verification of the cited standard originals or editions.
Verification notes
All 170 rows of the 2021 original table were visually checked. Values in corresponding 2024 cells are unchanged; recognition differences were reviewed separately. Rows with conflicting values under the same code are excluded; values are not mixed across sections.Source notes
Silicon alloyed38Si7 · ISO 683-14
Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference
- Material category
- Spring steels
- Subcategory
- Spring steels
- Material form
- Reference record
- Verification status
- Reference data; original source not verified
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.35 ~ 0.42 |
| Mn | 0.5 ~ 0.8 |
| Si | 1.5 ~ 1.8 |
Applicability and limitations
A match in the materials database does not establish suitability for cold heading or guarantee finished-product strength. Confirmation must consider wire condition, deformation, heat treatment and tests on actual parts.