347
15 source records. Standards, editions and conditions are presented separately; matching grade names do not establish interchangeability.
Refer to each source for mass fractions and analysis type. Missing values are not treated as 0. Manufacturer typical values, standard guarantees and measured heat results must remain separate. Use the material selector for calculations and condition selection.
Open condition selection, comparison and carbon-equivalent tools for 347 →347 · ASTM A313/A313M-2018
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Austenitic stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Historical-edition reference
- Standard edition
- ASTM A313/A313M-2003
- Table / clause
- Table 1, footnotes A–B; clauses 1.1, 5, 6
- PDF page references
- 1、2
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 2 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 17 ~ 19 |
| Ni | 9 ~ 13 |
| NbTa | Nb+Ta≥10×C |
Applicability and limitations
2003 edition covering round stainless steel spring wire; mass fraction wt%.; Table 1 Footnote B: Values without a listed range are upper limits; blanks are unspecified and shall not be filled as zero. Table 1 UNS S34700; Mechanical properties for categories such as A/B, or for cold-drawn and subsequently aged conditions, cannot be inferred from the composition table.. 2205 is not listed in this edition; do not add it based on similar grade designations.; Original texts of the 2018 and 2025 reaffirmations have not been verified.. Spring wire application does not automatically equal suitability for cold heading; Do not automatically add products to the supply offering.. Cb in the original table refers to Nb; Combined Nb+Ta content ≥10×measured C; this cannot be split into individual lower limits for Nb and Ta.
Combined limits
- Elements requiring measured values from the same heat
- NbTa
- Combined-element limits
- Requirement
- Nb+Ta≥10C
- Element coefficient
- Nb and Ta
- 1
- C
- -10
- Lower limit
- 0
Verification notes
The current chemical composition is based on original 2003; Original 2018 and reaffirmed 2025 have not been verified; equivalence between editions is not assumed.347 · ASTM A313/A313M-2018
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Austenitic stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Historical-edition reference
- Standard edition
- ASTM A313/A313M-2003
- Table / clause
- Table 1, footnotes A–B; clauses 1.1, 5, 6
- PDF page references
- 1、2
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 2 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 17 ~ 19 |
| Ni | 9 ~ 13 |
| NbTa | Nb+Ta≥10×C |
Applicability and limitations
2003 edition covering round stainless steel spring wire; mass fraction wt%.; Table 1 Footnote B: Values without a listed range are upper limits; blanks are unspecified and shall not be filled as zero. Table 1 UNS S34700; Mechanical properties for categories such as A/B, or for cold-drawn and subsequently aged conditions, cannot be inferred from the composition table.. 2205 is not listed in this edition; do not add it based on similar grade designations.; Original texts of the 2018 and 2025 reaffirmations have not been verified.. Spring wire application does not automatically equal suitability for cold heading; Do not automatically add products to the supply offering.. Cb in the original table refers to Nb; Combined Nb+Ta content ≥10×measured C; this cannot be split into individual lower limits for Nb and Ta.
Combined limits
- Elements requiring measured values from the same heat
- NbTa
- Combined-element limits
- Requirement
- Nb+Ta≥10C
- Element coefficient
- Nb and Ta
- 1
- C
- -10
- Lower limit
- 0
Verification notes
The current chemical composition is based on original 2003; Original 2018 and reaffirmed 2025 have not been verified; equivalence between editions is not assumed.347 · SAE J405-1998
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Austenitic stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- SAE J405 JUN1998
- Table / clause
- Table 1, page 2 / page 5, notes 1–7
- PDF page references
- 1、3、5
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 2.0 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.75 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 17.0 ~ 19.0 |
| Ni | 9.0 ~ 13.0 |
| Nb | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Based on Table 1 of the original SAE J405 JUN1998; mass fraction wt%. Note 1: a value without a stated range or lower bound is a maximum; dashes mean unspecified and are not replaced with zero. Note 5: Cb and Nb refer to the same element. Verify alloy elements against the applicable UNS row and additional conditions. Note 4: carbon analysis is generally reported to 0.01%, or to 0.001% for low-carbon types. This is reporting precision and does not relax composition limits. Type names in original Table 1 may include common names or a ASTM naming footnote. Search aliases use only explicit same-row relationships; interchangeability across standards is not inferred. 1998 is the actual composition source. The requested newer edition has not been verified, and agreement between editions is not assumed. Nb≥0+10×(C), and ≤1; check jointly using measured composition from the same heat, not independent combinations of elemental maxima.
Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
- Requirement
- Nb≥0+10×(C), and ≤1
- Element coefficient
- Nb
- 1
- C
- -10
- Lower limit
- 0
Verification notes
Composition and table notes were checked using the UNS correspondence in the original 1998 text.347 · SAE J405-2018
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Austenitic stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Historical-edition reference
- Standard edition
- SAE J405 JUN1998
- Table / clause
- Table 1, page 2 / page 5, notes 1–7
- PDF page references
- 1、3、5
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 2.0 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.75 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 17.0 ~ 19.0 |
| Ni | 9.0 ~ 13.0 |
| Nb | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Based on Table 1 of the original SAE J405 JUN1998; mass fraction wt%. Note 1: a value without a stated range or lower bound is a maximum; dashes mean unspecified and are not replaced with zero. Note 5: Cb and Nb refer to the same element. Verify alloy elements against the applicable UNS row and additional conditions. Note 4: carbon analysis is generally reported to 0.01%, or to 0.001% for low-carbon types. This is reporting precision and does not relax composition limits. Type names in original Table 1 may include common names or a ASTM naming footnote. Search aliases use only explicit same-row relationships; interchangeability across standards is not inferred. 1998 is the actual composition source. The requested newer edition has not been verified, and agreement between editions is not assumed. Nb≥0+10×(C), and ≤1; check jointly using measured composition from the same heat, not independent combinations of elemental maxima.
Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
- Requirement
- Nb≥0+10×(C), and ≤1
- Element coefficient
- Nb
- 1
- C
- -10
- Lower limit
- 0
Verification notes
The current composition is based on the 1998 original. The specified newer edition has not been checked; equivalence between editions is not assumed.347 · ASTM A313/A313M-2003
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Original record status
- Original standard verified
- Standard edition
- ASTM A313/A313M-2003
- Table / clause
- Table 1, footnotes A–B; clauses 1.1, 5, 6
- PDF page references
- 1、2
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 2 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 17 ~ 19 |
| Ni | 9 ~ 13 |
| NbTa | Nb+Ta≥10×C |
Applicability and limitations
2003 edition covering round stainless steel spring wire; mass fraction wt%.; Table 1 Footnote B: Values without a listed range are upper limits; blanks are unspecified and shall not be filled as zero. Table 1 UNS S34700; Mechanical properties for categories such as A/B, or for cold-drawn and subsequently aged conditions, cannot be inferred from the composition table.. 2205 is not listed in this edition; do not add it based on similar grade designations.; Original texts of the 2018 and 2025 reaffirmations have not been verified.. Spring wire application does not automatically equal suitability for cold heading; Do not automatically add products to the supply offering.. Cb in the original table refers to Nb; Combined Nb+Ta content ≥10×measured C; this cannot be split into individual lower limits for Nb and Ta.
Combined limits
- Elements requiring measured values from the same heat
- NbTa
- Combined-element limits
- Requirement
- Nb+Ta≥10C
- Element coefficient
- Nb and Ta
- 1
- C
- -10
- Lower limit
- 0
Verification notes
Original 2003, Table 1 and footnotes have been checked; Original 2018/2025 remains unavailable.347 · ASTM A358/A358M-2024
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Austenitic stainless steel
- Material form
- Welded-pipe reference
- Original record status
- Historically referenced table verified
- Standard edition
- ASTM A240/A240M-2014
- Table / clause
- Table 1 and footnotes A–O
- PDF page references
- 1、3、6
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 2.0 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.75 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 17.0 ~ 19.0 |
| Ni | 9.0 ~ 13.0 |
| Nb | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
The chemical composition currently uses only the verified base-material ranges in the original ASTM A240/A240M—2014; The applicable composition-standard edition and full requirements for A358—2024 have not been verified; compliance with a newer edition cannot be confirmed on this basis. Clause 6.1.1 of A358—2024 references A240/A240M base material; Clause 7.2 specifies separate requirements for welding filler metal; No weld-metal or mixed whole-tube composition is currently provided. Class 1 are welding and radiographic examination classes, not separate chemical-composition grades; This record does not establish capability to supply welded tube; a linked wire-rod product does not establish direct supply of A358 welded tube. Table 1 gives heat-analysis mass percentages; A single value without a stated range or minimum is a maximum; unspecified elements are not entered as zero. Cb and Nb are the same element; Where both a formula and a fixed limit apply, the stricter limit is used. This is a plate, sheet and strip standard; cold-heading wire applications and actual supply require separate verification. Clause 4.1 also requires compliance with the applicable provisions of ASTM A480/A480M; This record displays the heat composition in Table 1; it does not establish verification of A480 or all product acceptance requirements. Other elements in the original table: Cb 10 × C min, 1.00 max; See the limits below for the specific coupled requirements.
Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
- Element coefficient
- Nb
- 1
- C
- -10
- Lower limit
- 0
- Upper limit
- Not stated
- Requirement
- Nb≥10×C
- Elements requiring measured values from the same heat
Verification notes
Historical base-material reference: ASTM A240/A240M—2014; Weld metal and the applicable A358—2024 edition have not been verified347 · Walsin Lihwa official website catalog (steel billets and bars; file named 2024, original edition not indicated)
Chemical composition source verified; this does not verify every standard clause, actual supply or measured heat results
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Stainless steel
- Material form
- Bars
- Original record status
- Manufacturer source verified
- Document edition
- Official website document 2024_Walsin_Catalog_YT-JY-1.pdf; Publication date and edition number not specified on inner pages
- Document title
- Available Stainless Steel Grades & Chemical Composition — For Stainless Steel Billet & Bar
- Table / clause
- Steel grades and chemical composition table
- PDF page references
- 7
- Unit
- Percentages as stated in the original table; refer to the source for the specific basis
- Analysis type
- Analysis type not stated
- Manufacturer
- Walsin Lihwa
Carbon-equivalent reference
Estimate from manufacturer-published ranges, not a standard guarantee or measured heat result; formula applicability requires review against the application and process.
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1.0 (lower limit not stated) |
| Mn | ≤ 2.0 (lower limit not stated) |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | 9.0 ~ 13.0 |
| Cr | 17.0 ~ 19.0 |
| Nb | ≤ 1.1 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
Walsin Lihwa official catalogue, PDF physical page 7
printed page 10, row 31; manufacturer's composition table, %, covering billets and bars. Analysis type is not stated. The official filename contains 2024, but no revision number was found inside; this is neither a verified edition of the cross-referenced standards nor a supply guarantee by our company. Condition: Nb=10*C-1.1; the minimum is coupled and the formula is not converted into a fixed numerical value.
Composition conditions
- The original table lists Chemical Composition (%); Heat or product analysis is not identified; the values cannot be treated as guaranteed limits under the corresponding standard.
- The correspondence column gives designation mappings in manufacturer information; No standard year is given, so this is not upgraded to a verified ASTM/GB/JIS/EN/RCC-M standard record.
- Different S, Ni and Ti/Nb conditions for the same grade designation are retained as separate original rows; dashes are not entered as zero.
- Nb=10*C-1.1; the lower bound is coupled and the formula is not converted into a fixed value.
Combined limits
- Combined-element limits
- Element coefficient
- Nb
- 1
- C
- -10.0
- Lower limit
- 0
Verification notes
Composition, conditional rows and linked requirements checked cell by cell against the original image; anomalous row 303 on page 10 excluded.347 · ASME SA-240
Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Austenitic stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Verification status
- Reference data; original source not verified
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 17 ~ 19 |
| Mn | ≤ 2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | 9 ~ 13 |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.75 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
A match in the materials database does not establish suitability for cold heading or guarantee finished-product strength. Confirmation must consider wire condition, deformation, heat treatment and tests on actual parts.
347 · ASTM A 314-2025
Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Austenitic stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Verification status
- Reference data; original source not verified
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 17 ~ 19 |
| Mn | ≤ 2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | 9 ~ 13 |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
A match in the materials database does not establish suitability for cold heading or guarantee finished-product strength. Confirmation must consider wire condition, deformation, heat treatment and tests on actual parts.
347 · ASTM A240/A240M-2020
Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Austenitic stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Verification status
- Reference data; original source not verified
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 17 ~ 19 |
| Mn | ≤ 2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | 9 ~ 13 |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.75 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
A match in the materials database does not establish suitability for cold heading or guarantee finished-product strength. Confirmation must consider wire condition, deformation, heat treatment and tests on actual parts.
347 · ASTM A554-2026
Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Austenitic stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Verification status
- Reference data; original source not verified
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 17 ~ 19 |
| Mn | ≤ 2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | 9 ~ 13 |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 0.75 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
A match in the materials database does not establish suitability for cold heading or guarantee finished-product strength. Confirmation must consider wire condition, deformation, heat treatment and tests on actual parts.
347 · ASTM A959-2004
Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Austenitic stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Verification status
- Reference data; original source not verified
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 17 ~ 19 |
| Mn | ≤ 2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | 9 ~ 12 |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
A match in the materials database does not establish suitability for cold heading or guarantee finished-product strength. Confirmation must consider wire condition, deformation, heat treatment and tests on actual parts.
347 · ASTM A959-2019
Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Austenitic stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Verification status
- Reference data; original source not verified
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 17 ~ 19 |
| Mn | ≤ 2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | 9 ~ 12 |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
A match in the materials database does not establish suitability for cold heading or guarantee finished-product strength. Confirmation must consider wire condition, deformation, heat treatment and tests on actual parts.
347 · SAE J467b-1956
Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Special alloy steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Verification status
- Reference data; original source not verified
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | 0.05 ~ 0.05 |
| Cr | 18.5 ~ 18.5 |
| Mn | 1 ~ 1 |
| Nb | 0.7 ~ 0.7 |
| Ni | 11 ~ 11 |
| Si | 0.4 ~ 0.4 |
Applicability and limitations
A match in the materials database does not establish suitability for cold heading or guarantee finished-product strength. Confirmation must consider wire condition, deformation, heat treatment and tests on actual parts.
347 · CNS 3477-2016
Original-source verification is incomplete; this is not a formal standard reference
- Material category
- Stainless steel
- Subcategory
- Austenitic stainless steel
- Material form
- Reference record
- Verification status
- Reference data; original source not verified
Carbon-equivalent reference
Composition
| Element | Composition requirement |
|---|---|
| C | ≤ 0.08 (lower limit not stated) |
| Cr | 17 ~ 19 |
| Mn | ≤ 2 (lower limit not stated) |
| Ni | 9 ~ 13 |
| P | ≤ 0.045 (lower limit not stated) |
| S | ≤ 0.03 (lower limit not stated) |
| Si | ≤ 1 (lower limit not stated) |
Applicability and limitations
A match in the materials database does not establish suitability for cold heading or guarantee finished-product strength. Confirmation must consider wire condition, deformation, heat treatment and tests on actual parts.